We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Tukan
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$379
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$605
US$587
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$495
US$425
BlueBay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$849
US$366
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,342
US$868
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)
US$195
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$675
US$353
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,474
US$1,080
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
245
410
363
169
221
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
410
363
169
221
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslegends sports barla ciebakool beachall inclusive planair canada vacationsrecommend elthe main hotelbedroom suitetowel artrestaurants and barsceiling fanyogurtavetulipanesceibacallecanadian
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Its a perfect location... but.. We had a standard room, horrible bathroom, shower that needs to be renovated, tiles and fixtures are almost falling down, the shower curtain need to be longer as it is now you end up with a very wet floor. After 2 minutes the hot water turns cold. Cleening and towels is ready in the afternoon about 4.30, several times we had to look for the cleaning lady to get new towels ( they had already taken the old ones). Bed is hard like a rock, no blanket in the room only a thin bedcover. No phone. No fridge. Tv-remote is glued to the bedside table. Breakfast vas good for two days but then it changed?! Had toast for five days. Sunbeds at Kool beachclub is in a restricted area where you lay on top of eachother. We payed for our sunbeds instead... very good beachclub with a small pool. The people that work at el tukan are very friendly and do a good job and the location is perfect! So you need to think about whats important to you. Oh and bring earplugs the AC sounds like a tractor.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mashi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments, Tukan Hotel is our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.

Hoping to receive it again in one of our hotels.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We loved our room. It faced the courtyard, the view a lovely tropical abundance of exotic plants. Our room was very clean and fresh. The Ceiba restaurant was directly across the street where we often could sit outside to enjoy our meals. We found the staff very friendly,we were friendly and they were very hospitable.We selected inclusive for the Ceiba and the beach bar. We always walked to the beach which was only 10 minutes away from the hotel.The beach area for El Tukan is very small,cordoned off with rope but we always found chairs in the morning.
But people that came later on had to sit on the sand, without chairs and umbrellas. The location of the hotel is fabulous for being right on Fifth Avenue. Very busy and modern,great bars,restaurants, shopping or just taking in the sights. We found a great salsa bar for dancing and watching the locals dance,La Bodeguita del Media on Fifth ave. If you love Cuban music it's a great bar to visit. Watch out for very aggressive shop keepers and constantly being asked if you want a massage on the beach. The shopkeepers ask exorbitant prices for goods so it's good to know prices and not get lured in! And don't go for a time share seminar! We did and got a free ferry trip to and fro to Cozumel and the rental of an old moped with out of date helmets.If you can handle the duress of hard sell go by all means but we were pretty stressed out from their bombardment! We ended up just getting up and saying we were leaving because someone new would sit down with us and try the next "sell". So as not to leave this as a negative we had an enormous amount of fun visiting Playa del Carmen and Cozumel and highly recommend El Tukan.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadette805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.

Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stay at this hotel 2 weeks in mar. 2 days before we arrive, we ask for a room with a special location. When we arrive we got just what we want.
Breakfast is realy good and a lot of choises. The Only con, is lack of sunbeds around the pool, only 11 sunbeds at the pool. Jacussi is colder than the pool.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JetteBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.

Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel is located at the best part of 5th ave! Right near a shopping mall. 2 blocks away from the best nightclubs and bars. It has a partnership with Kool beach club (5 blocks away), which is very convenient. It doesn't offer breakfast, but there's an all you can eat buffet right in front for only US$ 9,00 (breakfast) >> La Ceiba. Since there are meny trees, the pool is most of the day under shadow. The rooms are clean and spacious, but they can be a bit noisy at night (didin't affect my sleep though). There is no elevator to the upper rooms (1st floor). I had a nice stay >> would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carollauzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.
Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I traveled with friends and my boyfriend, when we arrived we were told we had to pay extra for having 4 people in a 2 bedroom suite (although I already talked about it with their "reservations" desk by phone). I asked for no stairs room, because I'm recovering from a spinal procedure, why not give us a 3rd floor/no elevator room. The room didn't had even a phone to call the front desk and didn't had hot water during our entire stay (4 days), and a couple of days my friends had to went down because we didn't have even towels in the bathroom.
Staying here was the worst part of Playa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ErikaAzenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments,
We are very sorry your experience with us.
We can ensure that the foundation of our company is to give satisfaction and total quality to our customers.
Unfortunately we have no report of the details written on their part.
We hope your experience will be allowed to return back to the hotel to improve printing.

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews