We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly....they just dont get it”
Review of Hotel El Tukan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel El Tukan
Ranked #150 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
ottawa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Sadly....they just dont get it”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel 4 years in a row. At first we loved it, then with each visit it became worse. finally on our last stay they sent us to a hotel we never booked. Reading the reviews they still do this...and there has been no improvement. Seems to be the same complaints followed by the same response...'please come back, try again' I have to ask management this...if your management ruins even one vacation for a family, why would they return? reading the reviews i think this hotel is just getting worse. I hope that someday it gets sold and renovated. The location is great! and the courtyard is so tropical...a big pass on the rest.

Room Tip: just hope they let you stay where you booked!!! and dont send you somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrsbeasely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments,

We are very sorry your experience with us.

We can ensure that the foundation of our company is to give satisfaction and total quality to our customers.

Unfortunately we have no report of the details written on their part.

We hope your experience will be allowed to return back to the hotel to improve printing.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    376
    338
    147
    192
See reviews for
279
527
68
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you understand what you want, this is decent enough choice. We used it as base to go out and about on excursions and its basic, but it worked fine.

The rooms are very basic, but clean enough and the staff were friendly. Having to pay extra for use of the safe is annoying but not a deal breaker. The breakfast was pretty good, I certainly wouldn't go all-incl here, there's great cheap options for food off the main strip in PdC (see my other reviews!)

Our room didn't have a great view (guessing others overlooking pool are better), and a weird smell which was humidity related and possibly not the hotels fault. Didn't seem nosy, despite closeness to the main street. I dont think many people bother with the pool here.

But the location is great, right on the main strip, and close enough to the beach. The access to the beach club is ok, but its crowded little area and you would need to be up early, you can pay a few dollars for a better position on the beach elsewhere.

You get what you pay for, and you are paying for functional accommodation in a busy location.

Room Tip: Pool view I think would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.

Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Its a perfect location... but.. We had a standard room, horrible bathroom, shower that needs to be renovated, tiles and fixtures are almost falling down, the shower curtain need to be longer as it is now you end up with a very wet floor. After 2 minutes the hot water turns cold. Cleening and towels is ready in the afternoon about 4.30, several times we had to look for the cleaning lady to get new towels ( they had already taken the old ones). Bed is hard like a rock, no blanket in the room only a thin bedcover. No phone. No fridge. Tv-remote is glued to the bedside table. Breakfast vas good for two days but then it changed?! Had toast for five days. Sunbeds at Kool beachclub is in a restricted area where you lay on top of eachother. We payed for our sunbeds instead... very good beachclub with a small pool. The people that work at el tukan are very friendly and do a good job and the location is perfect! So you need to think about whats important to you. Oh and bring earplugs the AC sounds like a tractor.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mashi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments, Tukan Hotel is our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.

Hoping to receive it again in one of our hotels.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We loved our room. It faced the courtyard, the view a lovely tropical abundance of exotic plants. Our room was very clean and fresh. The Ceiba restaurant was directly across the street where we often could sit outside to enjoy our meals. We found the staff very friendly,we were friendly and they were very hospitable.We selected inclusive for the Ceiba and the beach bar. We always walked to the beach which was only 10 minutes away from the hotel.The beach area for El Tukan is very small,cordoned off with rope but we always found chairs in the morning.
But people that came later on had to sit on the sand, without chairs and umbrellas. The location of the hotel is fabulous for being right on Fifth Avenue. Very busy and modern,great bars,restaurants, shopping or just taking in the sights. We found a great salsa bar for dancing and watching the locals dance,La Bodeguita del Media on Fifth ave. If you love Cuban music it's a great bar to visit. Watch out for very aggressive shop keepers and constantly being asked if you want a massage on the beach. The shopkeepers ask exorbitant prices for goods so it's good to know prices and not get lured in! And don't go for a time share seminar! We did and got a free ferry trip to and fro to Cozumel and the rental of an old moped with out of date helmets.If you can handle the duress of hard sell go by all means but we were pretty stressed out from their bombardment! We ended up just getting up and saying we were leaving because someone new would sit down with us and try the next "sell". So as not to leave this as a negative we had an enormous amount of fun visiting Playa del Carmen and Cozumel and highly recommend El Tukan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.

Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stay at this hotel 2 weeks in mar. 2 days before we arrive, we ask for a room with a special location. When we arrive we got just what we want.
Breakfast is realy good and a lot of choises. The Only con, is lack of sunbeds around the pool, only 11 sunbeds at the pool. Jacussi is colder than the pool.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JetteBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.

Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel is located at the best part of 5th ave! Right near a shopping mall. 2 blocks away from the best nightclubs and bars. It has a partnership with Kool beach club (5 blocks away), which is very convenient. It doesn't offer breakfast, but there's an all you can eat buffet right in front for only US$ 9,00 (breakfast) >> La Ceiba. Since there are meny trees, the pool is most of the day under shadow. The rooms are clean and spacious, but they can be a bit noisy at night (didin't affect my sleep though). There is no elevator to the upper rooms (1st floor). I had a nice stay >> would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carollauzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.
Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I traveled with friends and my boyfriend, when we arrived we were told we had to pay extra for having 4 people in a 2 bedroom suite (although I already talked about it with their "reservations" desk by phone). I asked for no stairs room, because I'm recovering from a spinal procedure, why not give us a 3rd floor/no elevator room. The room didn't had even a phone to call the front desk and didn't had hot water during our entire stay (4 days), and a couple of days my friends had to went down because we didn't have even towels in the bathroom.
Staying here was the worst part of Playa.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ErikaAzenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments,
We are very sorry your experience with us.
We can ensure that the foundation of our company is to give satisfaction and total quality to our customers.
Unfortunately we have no report of the details written on their part.
We hope your experience will be allowed to return back to the hotel to improve printing.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Nina Hotel
Nina Hotel
#135 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#123 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#107 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tukan

Property: Hotel El Tukan
Address: 5a Avenida Norte, Entre 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Tukan 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Tukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tukan Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Tukan Condotel Hotel
El Tukan Condotel Suites Beach Club
Hotel El Tukan Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing