We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable accommodation”
Review of Hotel El Tukan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Tukan
Ranked #147 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great spot right off of happening 5th Ave...reception area is inviting and comfortable and wifi immediately available for use. Staff were all super friendly and inviting as well. Pool area has nice loungers and lots of sun. We stayed in a standard room (poolside) and it was adequate...nothing new or fancy but had good storage areas and a safe. The wall air conditioner was loud but kept the room cool. The concierge was friendly and readily available for bookings. As far as "value for money", we got a great deal through hotels.com (70% off) for our standard room which is regular priced at $117, otherwise you are paying a LOT for the location! Overall, our 1 night stay was good but would have felt quite overpriced for the room we had. Great people.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairiedrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 27 August 2016
Dear prairied

We appreciate your time to write your experience in the hotel tukan, your comments and opinions that you share help us to improve and give good service to each of our guests.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we hope you'll come back once more and enjoy our services.

Sincerely yours
tukan hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    376
    336
    145
    188
See reviews for
274
524
68
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was my first time in Playa del Carmen and it was one of the best experience that I had in life (June 3 - June 9, 2014) . My overall rating for the hotel might be confusing. First, the hotel is placed in a privileged location. It is right on 5ta avenida and there is always lots of people walking. I went there with friends and we went to every club possible during our visit. Clubs are REALLY close to the hotel so if you are in a party mood it is really convenient.
Now, the room that we got was really outdated; TV was really old, furniture was old and I don't know if the AC was working or the humidity and heat over there is really intense, bathroom also outdated, I mean, there wasn't a phone in the room! needless to say but the TV remote control was screwed to the nightstand, which for me, is kind of odd. Anyways, probably we got one the oldest rooms in the hotel BUT the service is really nice, the pool is really small and gets crowded specially afternoon. SERVICE, SERVICE, SERVICE! I can not stress more this quality from the staff.
The pictures that this hotel have from their rooms might be from newer rooms, so, if you are looking for a 5 star hotel, this is NOT your first choice or just make sure before you book that your room is updated. If you are going with the mentality and mood or going out and just use the hotel to sleep, then, this is your FIRST choice. Also, there are a lot of choices to eat around the hotel and in 5ta avenida. If I go again to Playa del Carmen, I will definitely choose this hotel again!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is updated if you are concerned about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unic_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

Gracias por sus comentarios:

En el Grupo Tukan estamos dedicados a brindar la máxima calidad y satisfacción a nuestros clientes, ofreciéndoles el mejor servicio posible.

Así mismo le comento que puede entrar directamente a nuestra pagina web, ahí podrá encontrar para reservar habitación deluxe y a su vez saber acerca de los beneficios y servicios con los que el Hotel Tukan cuenta y se ponga en contacto con nosotros personalmente.

En espera de su pronto regreso a uno de nuestros hoteles.

Saludos,

Gerencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have been in this place for two times. Excelent location (only one or two block from 5 avenue, depend the room which you reserved). The prices is cheap (only I buy the breakfast and room). You don't need rent a car in this hotel or pay taxi (if you arrive for bus, only walk to north in the 5 avenue to arrive. It will take around 10 or 15 minutes.). The room are fine with air condition. Wifi is not good, but it doesn't matter because you are in vacation.

Room Tip: Don't buy expensive vacation package, only buy room+breakfast (playa del carme is hard to find s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.

Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

5 of us spent a day there, all put into different room 1 to 2 blocks away from the hotel main compound which means you have to pull your luggage across the streets. Rooms all come with smell of moisture , cold shower only (although the staff to send someone to fix it nothing happened), air-con remote controller only works with on/off and no effect with any other buttons and towels that you cannot call them white towels at all. Receptionist is very focused on their work but you just don't call them friendly, apparently they don't enjoy the work. If you like the location, and the party noise comes with it, and you are so drunk that you don't care, otherwise if you have a choice, choose some otHer hotels. Looking at the previous comments and replies, I think the hotel management will reply something like this (they have no report of what everyone said)
quote
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments,
We are very sorry your experience with us.We can ensure that the foundation of our company is to give satisfaction and total quality to our customers.Unfortunately we have no report of the details written on their part.We hope your experience will be allowed to return back to the hotel to improve printing.
Regards
Management
Unquote

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room in the hotel compund
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmtsuigolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 22 August 2016
Dear cmtsuigolf,

I very much regret the bad experience you had with us.

We would like to inform that many things have changed in the hotel, from the services, facilities to the staff. There have been many improvements thanks to the feedback we've received from customers, guests and friends to have greater satisfaction to you our guests.

I extend an invitation for you to stay with us again and is treated as it deserves.

Best regards,
Tukan Hotels and Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Montpellier, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Dirty hotel, really bad service, "all inclusive" is a lie, rude personal at the front desk, there's only one restaurant with deficient food, pool is not where all the rooms are, no beach club. Do you need any other reasons to avoid this hotel??

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mojollnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments,

We are very sorry your experience with us.

We can ensure that the foundation of our company is to give satisfaction and total quality to our customers.

Unfortunately we have no report of the details written on their part.

We hope your experience will be allowed to return back to the hotel to improve printing.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Although I booked a twin room, we were given a 1 double room, a bit awkward when you are on holiday with one of your best friends. They offered an upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment at a very reasonable price, which was reimbursed immediately by Virgin Holidays, whom I booked with. I was a quite wary prior to arriving due to mixed reviews of this hotel, however apart from the bedroom mix-up I was pleasantly surprised. Bedrooms including bathroom were clean and adequate. Clean bath towels provided daily. Although we were orignally booked on a room only basis, we soon paid upgrade for Breakfast only - wow - great breakfast selection ...I am now hooked on watermelon juice!!!! Hotel is very central on 5th Avenue, shops and restaurants all on the doorstep and pedestrianised. The El Tukan has a private beach which is a 10 min walk away - bliss!! The only negative part of hotel is that there is not enough sunbeds around the pool.
Book day tours with one of the local travel agents on 5th Ave...we used Easy Tours and saved 50% then if we booked via the tour operator. Make sure you visit Mayan heritage: Chichen Itza, Tulum and Coba.. Also get bus or taxi to Akumal and snorkel with the turtles in the 2nd largest coral reef in the world - simply amazing!!!! I don't normally go back to a place twice, but I will be back here again!!!! Please tip where service is due, however be forewarned it is based on the American tipping system between 10%-20% and it is retail therapy heaven!! Finally, practice some basic Spanish before you go, the locals respect you more! Adios :-)

Room Tip: Please note, there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.

Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

During spring break the rates go really high and it's not worth it. Service is awful, we asked for a towel 4 times and they came until the 5th. This because we payed for three people in a two bedroom and they only gave us two towels. The wifi signal sucks, it never connected to our room, we only had it when we were at the lobby. The hotel beach is extremely far away from the hotel. The TV's are really old and the remote controls are attached to the night stands and you can't move it. It smells bad in the room and the water sink. We payed more than $1,500 for 6 nights so it wasn't that cheap for such a cheap service. Please don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments,

We are very sorry your experience with us.

We can ensure that the foundation of our company is to give satisfaction and total quality to our customers.

Unfortunately we have no report of the details written on their part.

We hope your experience will be allowed to return back to the hotel to improve printing.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Nina Hotel
Nina Hotel
#136 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#122 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#66 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#94 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tukan

Property: Hotel El Tukan
Address: 5a Avenida Norte, Entre 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Tukan 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Tukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tukan Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Tukan Condotel Hotel
El Tukan Condotel Suites Beach Club
Hotel El Tukan Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing