We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and pretty hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Ranked #20 of 173 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean and pretty hotel, convenient location”
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We visited during the low season and were able to walk in and get a great rate. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It must have been remodeled recently because things are in excellent condition.

The hotel provides FREE use of PC w/ Internet in pleasant airy lobby. Hotel also provides beach towells and a 1/2 price coupon for Mamitas Beach Club just a few blocks away, where you can rent an umbrella and lounge chairs on the beach for a couple of dollars and have access to nice bathrooms/showers plus bar and casual restaurant. We safely and easily parked our rental car on the side street, just outside the hotel, for free. Nice (free) book exchange in lobby.

The location was perfect for us. One block from the quiet end of 5th Avenue, and just a few blocks to the beach. There is busy street noise but I think it is mostly during the day. We slept with the air conditioner on and weren't in the room much during the day, so it was never a problem for us. (My husband is very noise/light/scent sensitive and he didn't complain. We were on the ground floor which perhaps makes a difference.)

The small pool is pretty cute, but we didn't ever use it. (The beach is so much better.)

A really good and unique breakfast place is located nearby. Don't miss it... Cueva del Chango (Cave of the Monkey) on Calle 38.

  • Liked — Location, price/value, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Busy street
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank boomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    152
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
55
156
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

This hotel was perfect for three young travelers looking to stay somewhere clean, convenient and somewhat cheap. The owners are extremely friendly, the decor is beautiful -- bright yellow walls and paintings all over the place, the rooms are clean and have nice balconies, and the pool in the middle is fantastic. It's also very affordable -- we paid $35 each for a triple room. Guests get discounts to a nearby cafe for breakfast and for lounge chairs on the beach. And for those who want to stay in the center of town but don't want the noise, it's a great location, just a block from the main street and quiet. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2007

My husband and I stayed for three nights after coming to the Riviera Maya for a wedding. We stayed at an all inclusive for the first four nights and then switched to this hotel. However, even being pampered at the other hotel, we love the local places much more!

The hotel was overall a great value. We got a great last minute deal. Our room by the pool was nice and quiet and it seemed like we were the only ones there.

The bed was large and firm--very comfortable. The room was always clean and the service was exteremely helpful and pleasant at all times. They helped us book a dive tour. We didn't eat or use the beach club, so I can't comment on that.

The few things I would have appreciated was an alarm clock in the room. We had 2 early morning events and a flight to catch so we were always worried about whether the wake up calls would actually come. They did, of course, but a clock in the room would have been nice.

They provide a mini fridge with drinks, but you have to pay. It'd be appreciated if they gave each room a bottle or two a day. If you want, there's a mini super a block away where you can get cheaper water.

The pool was nice and clean, but small. They had free internet access, but the computer hadn't been updated in awhile so I couldn't access any of my email accounts or bank online due to security.

The patios were great for reading and relaxing! The location is great because it's a block off 5th Ave and right on the end by all the restaurants. So, there's not the noise of the 5th Ave nightlife, but it's still easily accessible. I'm a light sleeper and had no problems.

I would also suggest that whatever chemicals they clean the rooms with be changed only because they smelled very strongly and bothered us at first.

Overall a great stay and just what we needed. Plus, it was a great value. There were just a few things that could be easily tweaked to make it a fantastic place.

  • Liked — Employees were very friendly!
  • Disliked — No clock and strong chemical smell
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank MBroyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2007

A little late writing my review, I came back after a 10 day stay in Playa at the Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya. This was the second time I stayed at this hotel. It is a small, intimate hotel with charm and serenity. We stayed in the King Suite this year. Everything about the suite was perfect. Great water pressure in the shower, clean rooms with excellent hospitality, a beautiful patio that overloks the pool. There is some noise of the traffic, but certainly nothing to complain about. After 10 am next to the pool, there is a lot of construction noise. The best thing to do is to go to the beach and not use the ppol during weekdays, as the noise by the pool is etrocious. The staff are friendly and very interested in seeing that you the guest has a terrific stay there. This hotel is just about the perfect location for walking anywhere in Playa. The main avenue for touristy shopping, eating and haning out is behind the hotel, so you don't hear any "partying" through the late night hours. You are within walking distance of everything, and getting a taxi in front of the hotel is very easy. I would suggest bringing your own washcloths, because they do not have them. The towels are elegantly laundered and folded. If you forget the washclothes, you can always go to the Walmart, which is about a mile walk.

  • Liked — The service and hospitality
  • Disliked — a bit pricey, but certainly worth it
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mush73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2007

I stayed for about 4 days in a ground-floor room next to the pool. Altho the room was a little small, it was very comfortable and clean. It overlooked the pool and had a nice atmosphere. The hotel overall was bright, clean, and welcoming. The location is at the far end (from the bus station), but only a 20-minute walk or so. The immediate area has a lot of nice hotels, condos, restaurants, etc. The beach in this northern area is much better than in the main part of Playa. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here very much.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Mebaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

This hotel was perfect for us. I can't say enough about the staff. I lost the key to my room safe while snorkeling somewhere. Totally my fault. The staff was so nice about it. It took a full six hours to drill open the safe, and they acted like it was no problem at all.

The location is great, close to Mamita's beach club which is the place to go. The hotel gives passes to get an umbrella and chairs at a discount on the beach. The hotel also gives you beach towels.

The cleaning/maintenance staff always seems to be at work tidying and primping the place which is very clean.

Only drawback is that there is a bit of street noise from 10th Avenue. You can only really hear it from the pool area.

We would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, service
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank redridgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2007

clean reasonably priced accomodation, friendly and helpful staff, located 10 mins short walk from the beach in a less busy part on PDC, enjoyed our stay

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank weezergeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#106 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#66 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#150 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#89 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#121 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya

Property: Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Address: Av. 10 Norte esq. Calle 30 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Caribe Maya Hotel
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing