We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean, and good energy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Ranked #17 of 169 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean, and good energy”
Reviewed 1 January 2008

My wife and I stayed for five days and nights and left on New Year's Eve 2007. Spotless, well maintained, very friendly staff, warm and inviting place to stay. Except for some 8 am hammering from condo construction next door, no booming techno, all night parties or loud trafic. Air conditioner, shady pool, and overhead fan kept us cool. The rooms were kept immaculately, and the towels folded into origami swans and other shapes. Bring your own washcloths, though. Luis numero uno and Luis numero dos staffed the front desk and were a hoot to tease and play with. Each morning, we received a ticket to free continental breakfast at a sweet little Italian/Mexican joint two blocks away, and a 50% discount to the closest beach club (ten minute walk). Get to the beach early to score a lounge. It as high season so we paid about $115 total (with tax) but we kept remarking how lucky we were to find this place relative to the larger, noisier places to the south. We would definately return if Playa was our destination of choice.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Portlander_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    154
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
57
158
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We stayed at Riviera Caribe Maya in september of 2007. The hotel is beautiful, impeccably kept, with friendly and attentive staff. The rooms were spacious and clean, well-insulated from noise and generally quite pleasant. There was the construction of a condo building in the space adjacent to th hotel (which also neighbours the hotel Prisma Caribe), and the construction noise lasted from 9am to about 7-8 pm. Most of the time this was not a problem: we were at the ruins or the beach, but the inevitable dust from construction sometimes drifting down on the building of the hotel was not so pleasant. The housekeeping staff did an exemplary job, but it's impossible to keep out all signs of construction when the project is in progress. Not the hotel's fault, but probably not ideal for honeymooners until construction ends (maybe another 3-6 months tops). The pool was spacious, 3 people could swim in it at the same time, and we liked the little ledge to lounge in on one side at the pool when the day is too hot.
Our breakfast was not included because we reserved through Expedia, but when making direct reservations with the hotel, the breakfast is included, and is offered at a nearby restaurant where they make an excellent mocha or capuccino, offered along with orange juice, reasonable toast, butter and jam. ($7 extra for us per day).
They also gave us complimentary beach/lounge towels and had a deal with one beach-front hotel for half off towels and umbrellas at the beach. We did not take advantage of the latter, as we were in the water most of the time anyway.
Luis and George were the bes desk managers, very helpful and friendly and even helped us with planning a snorkeling trip (we went with a package offered by a local firm Aventuras Mayas, I think, and we did a cenote, a small lagoon and a sea inlet in the same day, lunch and scenic drive included, for 80$ for both. Beautiful!
We would happily stay there again, and we loved our 2-week stay!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank anab2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We visited during the low season and were able to walk in and get a great rate. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It must have been remodeled recently because things are in excellent condition.

The hotel provides FREE use of PC w/ Internet in pleasant airy lobby. Hotel also provides beach towells and a 1/2 price coupon for Mamitas Beach Club just a few blocks away, where you can rent an umbrella and lounge chairs on the beach for a couple of dollars and have access to nice bathrooms/showers plus bar and casual restaurant. We safely and easily parked our rental car on the side street, just outside the hotel, for free. Nice (free) book exchange in lobby.

The location was perfect for us. One block from the quiet end of 5th Avenue, and just a few blocks to the beach. There is busy street noise but I think it is mostly during the day. We slept with the air conditioner on and weren't in the room much during the day, so it was never a problem for us. (My husband is very noise/light/scent sensitive and he didn't complain. We were on the ground floor which perhaps makes a difference.)

The small pool is pretty cute, but we didn't ever use it. (The beach is so much better.)

A really good and unique breakfast place is located nearby. Don't miss it... Cueva del Chango (Cave of the Monkey) on Calle 38.

  • Liked — Location, price/value, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Busy street
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank boomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

This hotel was perfect for three young travelers looking to stay somewhere clean, convenient and somewhat cheap. The owners are extremely friendly, the decor is beautiful -- bright yellow walls and paintings all over the place, the rooms are clean and have nice balconies, and the pool in the middle is fantastic. It's also very affordable -- we paid $35 each for a triple room. Guests get discounts to a nearby cafe for breakfast and for lounge chairs on the beach. And for those who want to stay in the center of town but don't want the noise, it's a great location, just a block from the main street and quiet. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landstuhl, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2007

My husband and I stayed for three nights after coming to the Riviera Maya for a wedding. We stayed at an all inclusive for the first four nights and then switched to this hotel. However, even being pampered at the other hotel, we love the local places much more!

The hotel was overall a great value. We got a great last minute deal. Our room by the pool was nice and quiet and it seemed like we were the only ones there.

The bed was large and firm--very comfortable. The room was always clean and the service was exteremely helpful and pleasant at all times. They helped us book a dive tour. We didn't eat or use the beach club, so I can't comment on that.

The few things I would have appreciated was an alarm clock in the room. We had 2 early morning events and a flight to catch so we were always worried about whether the wake up calls would actually come. They did, of course, but a clock in the room would have been nice.

They provide a mini fridge with drinks, but you have to pay. It'd be appreciated if they gave each room a bottle or two a day. If you want, there's a mini super a block away where you can get cheaper water.

The pool was nice and clean, but small. They had free internet access, but the computer hadn't been updated in awhile so I couldn't access any of my email accounts or bank online due to security.

The patios were great for reading and relaxing! The location is great because it's a block off 5th Ave and right on the end by all the restaurants. So, there's not the noise of the 5th Ave nightlife, but it's still easily accessible. I'm a light sleeper and had no problems.

I would also suggest that whatever chemicals they clean the rooms with be changed only because they smelled very strongly and bothered us at first.

Overall a great stay and just what we needed. Plus, it was a great value. There were just a few things that could be easily tweaked to make it a fantastic place.

  • Liked — Employees were very friendly!
  • Disliked — No clock and strong chemical smell
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank MBroyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2007

A little late writing my review, I came back after a 10 day stay in Playa at the Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya. This was the second time I stayed at this hotel. It is a small, intimate hotel with charm and serenity. We stayed in the King Suite this year. Everything about the suite was perfect. Great water pressure in the shower, clean rooms with excellent hospitality, a beautiful patio that overloks the pool. There is some noise of the traffic, but certainly nothing to complain about. After 10 am next to the pool, there is a lot of construction noise. The best thing to do is to go to the beach and not use the ppol during weekdays, as the noise by the pool is etrocious. The staff are friendly and very interested in seeing that you the guest has a terrific stay there. This hotel is just about the perfect location for walking anywhere in Playa. The main avenue for touristy shopping, eating and haning out is behind the hotel, so you don't hear any "partying" through the late night hours. You are within walking distance of everything, and getting a taxi in front of the hotel is very easy. I would suggest bringing your own washcloths, because they do not have them. The towels are elegantly laundered and folded. If you forget the washclothes, you can always go to the Walmart, which is about a mile walk.

  • Liked — The service and hospitality
  • Disliked — a bit pricey, but certainly worth it
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mush73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2007

I stayed for about 4 days in a ground-floor room next to the pool. Altho the room was a little small, it was very comfortable and clean. It overlooked the pool and had a nice atmosphere. The hotel overall was bright, clean, and welcoming. The location is at the far end (from the bus station), but only a 20-minute walk or so. The immediate area has a lot of nice hotels, condos, restaurants, etc. The beach in this northern area is much better than in the main part of Playa. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here very much.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Mebaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
#152 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#109 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya

Property: Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Address: Av. 10 Norte esq. Calle 30 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Caribe Maya Hotel
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing