We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Ranked #28 of 185 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2008

We arrived Sunday evening and were greated by Alejandro, he took us to our room and helped with our bags. Our room was on the first floor and being an older couple with dive bags this is great. We stepped out on our patio and saw the wonderful pool area. The pool is kidney shaped and has an area for young children and deeper end with a large raft for adults and older children.

We always had a clean room and the showers were cleaned daily.

We had free passes to the beach club, but since we are divers we were not in need of them.

The breakfast is small, however if you want a larger breakfast they will take a percentage off of your bill.

We had read the reviews and were ready for the hard beds (the reason is because unlike America they do not use bed springs.

The other nice thing about this hotel is that it is only one block from fifth avenue and has a great number of restaurants in close proximity to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sealark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2008

We chose Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya based on TripAdvisor reviews (it was our second choice since Luna Blue was full), and overall we were pleased with our choice. But we had a few problems along the way.

The hotel is small, lovely, and clean--at least as visually appealing as the pictures on the web site suggest. And btw, almost all the rooms have balconies, and even those that don't have windows overlooking the pool in the courtyard, which is very pretty, and surrounded by nice lounge chairs. The one aesthetic shortcoming is the art, which is pretty bad. I know that's a small detail, but visually, the hotel is so nice otherwise, that the bad paintings definitely stand out.

Here are a few problems you might want to know about:

1. If you are considering staying here within the next couple of months, beware of the fact that the property immediately next door is UNDER CONSTRUCTION. At the time of our stay (Feb. 2008) the major structural work appeared to be nearly complete, but who knows how long the finish work on the inside will take. Unfortunately, our room was literally inches (through the wall) from the construction noise, which was kind of a drag. However, the hotel handled this well: we were moved to a different room ASAP (after one night). This was also an "upgrade" to a room with a king size bed for no additional charge. And btw, other than the size of the bed itself, the room was identical to the room we'd been in with a queen-size bed. After we moved, we couldn't hear any noise from our room. I think construction noise might only be a problem in the three rooms closest to the building next door. Still, thought it was worth knowing about. Of course, construction is happening all over the place in booming Playa, so you might find this almost anywhere you stay.

2. The queen-size bed in our original room had the hardest mattress I've ever slept on. Not quite as hard as a rock, but close. The king size bed in the room we moved to later was fine.

3. The entire hotel had no running water whatsoever for about an hour the first morning of our stay. (Possibly related to construction next door?)

4. For some reason, several lights in the front part of our room failed to work on the second morning of our stay. (Probably a circuit breaker.) This was fixed quickly after we notified the front desk.

And here are a few positives:

1. One great perk that I don't remember being mentioned: there's a laptop with free Internet access in the lounge area that guests are welcome to use to check email, etc. Rarely a wait to use it.

2. The hotel provides fresh beach towels (in addition to the regular bath towels in your room) daily. Just ask for them at the front desk.

3. The half-price discount at Mamitas Beach Club is definitely a good thing. You can rent comfortable lounge chairs for the day for $3 each. (I think that was the price after the discount, but I can't remember now.) Definitely worth it. Then you get waiter service for drinks (and passable food) all day. If you want a chair under a palapa-style umbrella, you might want to send someone out to save them by 8 or 9 a.m. I saw several people arrive early just to hang their beach towels from an umbrella to "reserve" it. Even though they didn't come back for a couple of hours, and even though every other umbrella was taken, everyone seemed to honor that that umbrella had been claimed.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatTexas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. It was super clean, the hotel is really cute, the location was excellent and the staff were really helpful and friendly. You have access to a beach club that is only two blocks away and 5th Ave is just around the corner. It was quiete, except for the construction next door but we were up and ready to get moving by then anyway! Excellent price!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

My wife and I stayed for five days and nights and left on New Year's Eve 2007. Spotless, well maintained, very friendly staff, warm and inviting place to stay. Except for some 8 am hammering from condo construction next door, no booming techno, all night parties or loud trafic. Air conditioner, shady pool, and overhead fan kept us cool. The rooms were kept immaculately, and the towels folded into origami swans and other shapes. Bring your own washcloths, though. Luis numero uno and Luis numero dos staffed the front desk and were a hoot to tease and play with. Each morning, we received a ticket to free continental breakfast at a sweet little Italian/Mexican joint two blocks away, and a 50% discount to the closest beach club (ten minute walk). Get to the beach early to score a lounge. It as high season so we paid about $115 total (with tax) but we kept remarking how lucky we were to find this place relative to the larger, noisier places to the south. We would definately return if Playa was our destination of choice.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Portlander_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We stayed at Riviera Caribe Maya in september of 2007. The hotel is beautiful, impeccably kept, with friendly and attentive staff. The rooms were spacious and clean, well-insulated from noise and generally quite pleasant. There was the construction of a condo building in the space adjacent to th hotel (which also neighbours the hotel Prisma Caribe), and the construction noise lasted from 9am to about 7-8 pm. Most of the time this was not a problem: we were at the ruins or the beach, but the inevitable dust from construction sometimes drifting down on the building of the hotel was not so pleasant. The housekeeping staff did an exemplary job, but it's impossible to keep out all signs of construction when the project is in progress. Not the hotel's fault, but probably not ideal for honeymooners until construction ends (maybe another 3-6 months tops). The pool was spacious, 3 people could swim in it at the same time, and we liked the little ledge to lounge in on one side at the pool when the day is too hot.
Our breakfast was not included because we reserved through Expedia, but when making direct reservations with the hotel, the breakfast is included, and is offered at a nearby restaurant where they make an excellent mocha or capuccino, offered along with orange juice, reasonable toast, butter and jam. ($7 extra for us per day).
They also gave us complimentary beach/lounge towels and had a deal with one beach-front hotel for half off towels and umbrellas at the beach. We did not take advantage of the latter, as we were in the water most of the time anyway.
Luis and George were the bes desk managers, very helpful and friendly and even helped us with planning a snorkeling trip (we went with a package offered by a local firm Aventuras Mayas, I think, and we did a cenote, a small lagoon and a sea inlet in the same day, lunch and scenic drive included, for 80$ for both. Beautiful!
We would happily stay there again, and we loved our 2-week stay!

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank anab2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We visited during the low season and were able to walk in and get a great rate. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It must have been remodeled recently because things are in excellent condition.

The hotel provides FREE use of PC w/ Internet in pleasant airy lobby. Hotel also provides beach towells and a 1/2 price coupon for Mamitas Beach Club just a few blocks away, where you can rent an umbrella and lounge chairs on the beach for a couple of dollars and have access to nice bathrooms/showers plus bar and casual restaurant. We safely and easily parked our rental car on the side street, just outside the hotel, for free. Nice (free) book exchange in lobby.

The location was perfect for us. One block from the quiet end of 5th Avenue, and just a few blocks to the beach. There is busy street noise but I think it is mostly during the day. We slept with the air conditioner on and weren't in the room much during the day, so it was never a problem for us. (My husband is very noise/light/scent sensitive and he didn't complain. We were on the ground floor which perhaps makes a difference.)

The small pool is pretty cute, but we didn't ever use it. (The beach is so much better.)

A really good and unique breakfast place is located nearby. Don't miss it... Cueva del Chango (Cave of the Monkey) on Calle 38.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank boomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

This hotel was perfect for three young travelers looking to stay somewhere clean, convenient and somewhat cheap. The owners are extremely friendly, the decor is beautiful -- bright yellow walls and paintings all over the place, the rooms are clean and have nice balconies, and the pool in the middle is fantastic. It's also very affordable -- we paid $35 each for a triple room. Guests get discounts to a nearby cafe for breakfast and for lounge chairs on the beach. And for those who want to stay in the center of town but don't want the noise, it's a great location, just a block from the main street and quiet. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank traveler917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
318 reviews
0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#63 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Margarita Boho Chic Hotel
Quinta Margarita Boho Chic Hotel
#3 of 185 in Playa del Carmen
141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Bella Vida
Casa Bella Vida
#19 of 185 in Playa del Carmen
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya

Address: Av. 10 Norte esq. Calle 30 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £34 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Caribe Maya Hotel
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing