We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convienent budget option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Ranked #17 of 173 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and convienent budget option”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Sept 2013 - spent a week in room 203 with no major complaints. The AC worked fine, the terrace overlooking the pool was lovely, and it was ideally located near the less-touristy end of the main tourist street. I read many reviews about the mattresses being too hard (I am very sensitive to that), but the bed in our room was just fine. You can check out free beach towels from the front desk. Other reviews mentioned that the pool closed at 10pm, but we swam in it later than that almost every night we were there, and no one said anything.

Some minor complaints: the lock on the paper-thin door was rather flimsy, and there was no deadbolt. It would not take much to break into the room. The safe in the closet did not have a lock on it. The restaurant attached to the hotel did not appear to have any established business hours. Sometimes it was open, most of the time it was not, and there was no rhyme or reason to it. The hotel does not have a parking lot, so we had to find street parking. We were always able to find a spot nearby, but depending on the time a year, finding street parking could be a problem. If you absolutely need wifi, then this is not the hotel for you, because the wifi is only available in the lobby, and even then the signal was usually very weak. (this didn't bother us, but it might bother others) The hotel's web site shows pictures of a second, rooftop pool, which we were not able to find. Then again, we never asked anyone about it either. It wasn't as close to the beach as I would have liked.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, quirks and all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    154
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
58
158
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 days. The hotel was clean and had everything you would hope for from a BB. Affordable and not over the top, strategically placed near the main street but far enough from the noise. Great restaurants and coffee shops just a block away. It was perfect for our stay in Playa.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Location of the hotel from the beach is not bad (four blocks away), the rooms are really big and the price its ok.
The problem comes if you need Internet, the wifi signal its only available in the first floor and not far from the lobby. They don't even have a good router for customer connections , they use the one the ISP company gives when they make the contract.

Pros>
+Good Price
+Good Location
+Nice and Quiet

Cons>
-NO WIFI
-No elevator
-No restaurant
-1 USD extra if you need security box
-Mattresses like rock, you will not be able to sleep.
-Heard about some discount for playa mamitas beach club, but when we arrive they never mentioned.
-No good attitude of the receptionist.

They could do better.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the first floor if you need internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Israel542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampico, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Far from the beach, rooms not that good, poor administration, service it's ok. We stayed 2 nights, no elevator and with have 2 Little girls, room was in second floor it was dificult to go up and down stairs every time with both kids,

Room Tip: Be sure to read any email you receive from them. and as there is no close to the beach any room will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel before going on our round trip. It is true, that everything in Playa del Carmen is on walking distance, but sadly this is the only good thing we can say about the hotel:
We had booked with breakfast included - there was none in the hotel but we had to walk to a coffee shop where we got coffee and a roll for our vouchers. Real breakfast was to be payed extra!
The room was humid and smelled molded. The bathroom looked like it would need some paint and refurbushing. So did the rooms. Internet only in the lobby and even there rarely available. In front of the rooms towards the pool deck there is a tiny seating area. Nobody ever sat there or was in the pool - it feels like sitting right on a street with heavy traffic. There is no wall between pool area and the traffic of highly frequented avenida 10.
We would not go back to hotel Riviera Caribe, nor can we recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuMa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Third time staying here, we cannot find anything bad about this hotel. Family friendly, quiet, super nice staff. Clean anda cute rooms, great value. Located 40 steps from la 5ta ave. (counted the steps myself). And just 5-10 minutes down to the beach, depending on how fast or slow you walk. Nice pool, grounds kept super clean, 50% discount for mamitas loungers and umbrellas, we used the coupons everyday, instead of paying 30 pesos for a lounger (all day) we paid 15 pesos, thats about 1.30 dlls, for the whole day. Big clean beach towels. love love love, would not stay anywhere else. Thanks so much! see you next year!!!!

Room Tip: choose rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aineetiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

we were quite happy with our stay at riviera caribe maya in playa del carmen...being on 10th rather than 5th and being at the further end of the strip 30th street we were away from the hustle and bustle...the strip seems more laid back towards that end...and the price was great!
it does not offer meals but with the money we saved we had lovely meals out and stocked the mini-fridge with yogurt, granola bars, fruit, etc.
the hotel was very clean and well maintained and the front desk had the same rotation of staff so it was quite personal. the attention to detail is nice with couches, pillows and a library in the common areas. we were restocked with honey shampoo and coconut lotion each day too.
beds are firm but comfortable, big pillows, many towels, a/c and fan, and wi fi in common areas. my boyfriend disliked that but i was happy as it kept us from being plugged in the whole trip.
the garden courtyard with the pool was lovely like a little oasis.
it was a 30 second walk to 5th avenue, a 10 minute walk to the Mega grocery store, and about an 8 minute walk to the beach...well located.
the only thing that could be improved on is that when you sit at the pool you can see and hear the cars whiz past on 10th ave. they could benefit from building a wall to help eliminate some of the traffic noise in order to be a really tranquil pool area.

we quite enjoyed our time at this lovely hotel...we would stay again.
thank you to everyone there who made our stay special.

Room Tip: we payed a bit less and got a room without a boucany or pool deck...but ours was actually a bigger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eco_girl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
#153 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#120 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#108 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya

Property: Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Address: Av. 10 Norte esq. Calle 30 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Caribe Maya Hotel
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing