We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in paradise”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #64 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lots of reviews out there so I will keep it quick. Rooms.. Average at best. Clean but nothing to fancy. Beds were horrible and most rooms had no view. Towels had to be requested if you wanted more, Internet was 15 bucks a day and local calls had a fee. They had free yfi in the lobby but limited to 90 minutes once a day. Hotel. Nice, clean and well maintained. Gym was good but crowed on weekends. Pools were great and the beach beautiful. Location. Awesome and right on the beach. 10 dollar cab ride or 30 min walk from down town. Food/drinks. Not great. Bottom shelf liquor and one beer (dos suckies). Food was ok but obviously made in quantizes. Staff. WONDERFUL. The Mexicans made you feel welcomed and offered to do anything for you. All in all. Good vacation but not a fan of all inclusive as I felt like I had to eat and drink there every day.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,010 of 6,020 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

just spent our first trip to mexico at the riu . fantastic holiday , dreamliner flights were the best ever , cancun airport was as busy as i thought it would be., so booked premium lounge for return journey , for a few extra quid was a good choice ,as food and refreshments were in with the price .the hotel staff were fantastic and Benito and Flaberto where great entertainers and we propped the bar up with them on several nights ,tried every shot an cocktail on the menu i think, the pools were lovely the beach breathtaking , can highly recommend the deep tissue massage at the spa , The food was great and plenty of choice for everyone an im quite fussy.worth every minute of our 11 an half hour flight.rooms were fine , do not be put off by some pictures and comments there fine . the part about being able to see through the shower door is true but hang a towel over solves the problem and they are changed every day.i was bitten by a few mossies .but they sell bands in reception there good.all in all best holiday ever , cant wait to go back,

Room Tip: we were in 5211 right overlooking the pool , good location , if you dont mind noise from the enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent our honeymoon at the Riu Yucantan from 27th jan - 10 feb and we had the most fabulous time. We read the reviews before we went and honestly some people wouldnt be happy if you gave them the stars !! If i really wanted to moan the only thing i could say is that i only saw one monkey in the grounds and that was on the second day, and that has got nothing to do with the hotel !!

So lets start with our review. Check in was so easy and quick and we were given a refreshingly cold fruit juice whilst doing so . We were in block 1 right next to the main building so no walking distance at all to the restaurant !! Walking to the beach and main pool was a pleasant stroll down the main tree lined pathway (where the monkeys live , or at the time we were there dont live !) taking no more than a few minutes. The evening theatre is also down this pathway.

Our room was clean , bright and welcoming. as honeymooners we had a gift of a fruit plate which was very thoughtful. Massive bed as usual in the carribean, the bathroom had a shower cubicle and seperate loo, only strange thing was that the bathroom was not a seperate room , it had a glass brick partition but was part of the bedroom as such, but still no problem. lots of wardrobe space and fridge filled with water, sodas and beer. the optics were checked , but if you are a big drinker you might empty them before they were checked again but if thats the case reception will sort it out pronto .

the food , well honestly i have read so many reviews of repetative food , but what do you expect, you have repetative food at home!! no one has different food every day of every week or every year, ......... so wise up this a hotel , it has many many choices , i defy you not to find something you like . evening dinner , salads to die for, prawns, seafood, soups, pasta, rice, every meat you can think of, carvery , vegetables , and puddings so many to mention !! on the carvery , beef, chicken, pork, lamb yes lamb , and duck yes duck . superb food and breakfast , cereals, yoghurts , fried , poached , omlette stations , cakes , breads , fruit , juices

the waiters and watiresses are lovely , always a smile , makes all the difference to see a smile..

lunch was served in the large beach/pool restaurant and yet again so much choice, pizza, chips , burgers (for those who just cant face eating something different ) salads, fahitas, chicken , so much i cant name it all . ice cream was available all day too .

al acarte mexican, steak , italian, , oriental , didnt eat in the italian not for any reason other than forgot to but the others were really good . our favourite was the steakhouse .

the pool , there were 2 pools one up by reception smaller and quiet and surrounded by sunbeds and behind them hammocks. didnt spend anytime there as we prefer the beach but it looked lovely

main pool, surrounded by sunbeds and parasols, easy access to the bar and the restaurant, never had to queue for drinks for long and i would say the hotel was pretty much full. swim up bar and pool beds , spent a day here but it was a little too crowded .

the beach superb , goes for miles , you can walk to playa del carmen if you want to , they said it takes about 35 min but we walked it along the road it was easier on the feet and took the same time , just go to main entrance of the hotel turn right and keep walking, its a pleasant walk lots to see on route . the beach itself has water sports and a lifeguard, there is a pretty strong undercurrent and we had yellow flags until the last day when they green flagged it. maybe the winter currents are stronger than the summer . anyway its a nice beach lots of sunbeds . steve did a parasail cost him about £40 but he said it was well worth it .

Trips we went to Chichen Itza with Tomson and i would recommend their tour. a very early start 05.40 but believe me you dont want to be there at midday its baking , we were the first tour group to arrive and we left there at 11 and by then we were glad to go !! they take you to a cenote where if you want you can swim and lunch is there aswell and then a stop off at a town and a stroll round the square before returning to the hotel around 5pm , its a long day but worth it . we also did the silver dolphin swim and that was excellant , only four of us in our group and 3 dolphins and over an hour in the water. photos are expensive though . 12 photos $100 or $176 gets you all the photos and the dvd so we took this option.

Tulum we took the local bus to here it was great,, took an hour to get there from the bus station in playa del carmen or you can get the collectivo which is cheaper and gives you a taste of the real mexico travel as you share the little van with locals and workers , even so it was a good experience and we opted for these most of the time and its nice to be able to spend time without being on a tour .

the hotel has lots of wildlife, the monkeys are a bit thin on the ground, we saw one in all the time we were there , little disappointed there werent more, funny little big guinee pig type called serekee so sweet , and one lizzard , most likely there are more but i saw one and one was enough !!

one tip , drink lots of water , seriously , i had heat stroke and it was horrid , i spent a day of my holiday in a darkened room , feeling terrible, i didnt have any sunburn at all but i walked around with no hat and my hair up and the sun on the back of my neck, and for that i paid dearly have never had it before and never want it again .

so to sum up , we had the best honeymoon we could have wished for, the hotel, the staff , the trips , the reps (jess, lee and alice from thomson , you are ace ). we say go to mexico and go the Riu Yucantan its beautiful and if we return to mexico we would most definately return to this hotel

Room Tip: block 1 near to restaurants , no noise at all from being so close
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank binkynsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We travelled on 13 Feb from Birmingham, and after an 11.1/4hr trip, in order to avoid the Valentines Day storm over the Atlantic, we arrived to lengthy queues at Cancun immigration, and chaotic screening of suitcases. We had an enjoyable holiday and would return to Mexico, but on balance, not to the Riu Yucutan.

Positives:
* idyllic location
* excellent service from all staff
* very good buffet with something for everyone
* 'chill out' pool, from where you could have lunch at the Italian restaurant, as long as you are
not showing too much flesh, which is much preferred to the overcrowded beach
restaurant
* wide range of excursions
* comfortable room (although slightly musty smell)
* scrupulously clean grounds and beach, with some wildlife

Negatives:
* pools closest to the beach were very noisy
* even when sober, groups of loud and brash Canadian/American guests who were even louder
when intoxicated!!
* too many people at lunchtime in the beach restaurant 'The Margarita', as a result of guests
from the Tequila hotel having access to the beach and the Yucatan facilities. We thought we
would have a change of scenery one morning and sit by the pool at the Tequila but there were
no sunbeds available
* on a personal note, on entering the Reception it was very 'pink' and contemporary resembling
a gay club; would have preferred a more authentic appearance
* mosquitos!!!!!!!!

The entertainment was a bit hit and miss, there were some good acts during the first week but the second week was poor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Before departing we read a few negative reviews on Trip Advisor, and although we know that some people just like to moan and we had stayed at a Riu hotel before, they do stick in the back of your mind. If you are looking at this before departing, and are a reasonable person, don't worry!

We flew from Manchester with Thompson. This was probably the worst part of the holday. As we both work and live in Cornwall, we needed a flight as near to the weekend as possible, so we booked a Monday flight so as not to have to take too much holiday for travelling to and from. The only day that a Dreamliner does not fly is a Monday! So it was a 767. I wasn't too worried as I had previously flown to the US, many years ago, and there was plenty of room and it was relatively comfortable. Not so anymore. This plane was something I would expect to fly for four hours to Tenerife on. Not 11+ hours to Mexico. I am practically elf-sized and I had no room to move. I dread to think how bigger people fared. The seats are really uncomfortable for a long flight and you have almost no chance of sleeping in them, especially in the aisle seat as the arm rest is thin, hard plastic and if you do manage to rest on it you will get hit everytime somebody walks past as the aisle is so narrow. The staff on board were wonderful though and really tried to make you as comfortable as possible (still not very, but the effort was appreciated) it's just a shame those higher up in the company are obviously trying to make you as uncomfortable as possible to get you to shell out more for a premium seat.

Cancun airport was busy, in fairness our flight and the Gatwick flight came in within about an hour of each other and an American flight too, so queues at immigration were very long. They were going through as quickly as possible though. As is standard at any airport, avoid people offering to take your bags, they will expect money, carry it yourself. After an hour on the coach with a great guide who was really helpful and informative, we reached the hotel. Check in was super quick and efficient, and friendly to boot. Bags were taken to the room for us and we gave a small tip - a few pounds for which the bell boy was extremely grateful.

The room was fine for our needs. The beds are absolutely massive, two small doubles pushed together, there's a flatscreen tv on the wall which we never used, optics containing tequila, gin, vodka and rum, and a mini fridge which contained water, beer, 7up, pepsi, and orangeade. This is topped up every two days should you need it. You can only see into the shower if you are in the bathroom area as there is a half glass block wall obscuring vision from the bed area, not a problem for us anyway, but for those moaning about it, seriously all you need do is hang a towel over the door, problem solved! There are four plug sockets in the room and they are the US/Mexico three pin variety, although US/Mexico 2 pin plugs will work in them. Remember if you are coming from the UK that the voltage is lower, most things will still work but will take longer. The room safe is located in the wardrobe and is a digital one. We picked a code which was not an obvious one like our birthdays or something stupid like that. As I read reviews here mentioning thefts from the safe I was a bit nervous about it. Our safe was completely secure. I checked after every day and not a thing in there had moved. No money missing, nothing. Nor did we hear anybody in the hotel mention a problem with it. There is a slight smell of damp. It's everywhere, Mexico is really humid and you are surrounded by trees, there's nothing the hotel can do about it. They clean constantly, the smell is quite slight and after a day you don't really notice it. Nowhere in the room or even the whole hotel did I notice any patch of mould. Keep the patio door shut and the aircon on at a reasonable temperature, ie: not that of a fridge, and it will minimise the smell inside the room, as well as keep the mosquitos out. The only tiny gripes about the room; tea and coffee making facilities would be helpful, Riu don't seem to do that though so we brought a travel kettle with us, and a light on the balcony would be nice for the evenings.

We walked around Playacar, which is the small gated community that the hotels are in, and had a look around the other Rius. Playacar has maybe 10 shops including a Starbucks, some touristy shops and a pharmacy, which is enough to get you by, and the prices aren't much different to the town of Playa Del Carmen. The other Rius were nice in their own way, but we felt we made the right choice. I would recommend walking around them though and you can get a drink or food in them with your armband if your wish. You cannot go into the Riu Palaces though. Security will stop you at the door. Apparently you can sneak in via the beach, but we didn't bother. The Tequila is a more colonial style with a water feature in the lobby and some interesting statues and things in the grounds, the Playacar was smaller and had beautifully manicured gardens and colourful buildings.

We did the walk around Playa Del Carmen with the Thomson reps, which I would highly recommend. The Thomson reps here are the best I've ever encountered. Nothing is too much trouble and they seem to genuinely care and want to help you have a great holiday. They know a lot about the area too and were really informative. We learned quite a bit on that walk and took Jamie's recommendation to try a coffee shop called Ah Cacao rather than Starbucks and were glad we did because it so much nicer! While we were walking he got a mariachi band to play for us, and by the beach we saw some traditional dancing and they organised taxis for us there and back (it's about 70 - 100 pesos or £4 - 5) but you can share with others if there are only two of you to pay a bit less. Playa Del Carmen is about 2 miles away from the hotel and you can walk along the beach which takes about 20 - 30 minutes, ambling speed. We often got a taxi, which wait by the doctors just outside the hotel, and then walked back at sunset when it was cooler. You do get called at from the streets to come into shops, but no worse than in most tourist destinations. A simple "No thanks" and keep walking. As with anywhere, keep your wits about you. We did hear one guy shouting at us that we'd dropped our wallets, I waited until we walked far enough away that he couldn't see and checked, we hadn't. Take a sweatband or something to cover your Riu band as that does make you a bit of a target for people trying it on. But really it isn't too bad, I've been far worse places in Europe for that.

Back to the hotel, we spent most of our time at the quiet, chill out pool near the lobby. This has hammocks, sun beds and a simple rectangular pool which is about chest depth throughout, and it is surrounded by sunbeds and has a small bar next to it. The other pool was bigger and had a swim up bar, and we used it a couple of times, but it is largely dominated by extremely loud, drunk, Americans (no offense intended, we met some lovely Americans who also avoided that pool, that is just the main nationality we heard there)! So we appreciated that there was somewhere quiter to go and relax away from that! The beach has tons of sunbeds on it, and the pools have loads too, however people reserving sunbeds ruin it for everyone. We got up to watch the sunrise a few times (6:10am) and people were there laying out towels. Obviously, by 10am you'll struggle to get one, by 11 all the spare ones that the guys will put out for you when all the others are taken will be gone. This actually isn't because there aren't enough, but because we saw an awful lot of people who would get up and take their own towel, and the Riu towel that they give you to use, putting one by the beach and one by the pool or just one in the shade and one in the sun. Then disappearing for hours on end, leaving them both. Very inconsiderate, but I don't really know how you could stop people doing this without starting an argument.

Tipping is the culture in Mexico, which is difficult for us Brits to really appreciate. In the hotel, they don't expect it all the time but in Playa Del Carmen they do. Take your alcohol hand gel and use that instead of washing your hands in toilets in Playa Del Carmen or they'll expect a tip for turning the tap on for you and handing you a paper towel (which are hidden), seriously! The staff in the hotel are lovely, and constantly working really hard. We know they get paid very little, so we gave a few that served us regularly 50 pesos (about £2), after that our drinks were never empty again! If they saw your glass getting low they'd be there! Quite dangerous! But as I say, you don't have to, they were serving us before that and perfectly nice and friendly. We did tip them again before we left as they really did make the holiday. J Cruz, Israel, Beatriz and Noemi are so much fun in the bar by the evening entertainment, better than the entertainment usually! We were there over Valentine's Day and the hotel goes all out for that sort of thing, decorations everywhere, ice sculptures everywhere and fruit carvings which are there everyday multiply exponentially. A bit of fun, and it's nice that they do it.

The food is usually served in the main restaurant by the lobby for breakfast and dinner. I do not understand people saying they couldn't find anything to eat. There are four massive cooking stations where they will cook things in front of you and pop it onto plate warmers ready to take. Then there is an entire aisle of salad. Half an aisle of fruit, half an aisle of cheese, half an aisle of bread and an aisle of desserts. At breakfast alone you can have your pick of breads, cereals, pastries, fruit, salad, omlettes, french toast, various pancakes, various eggs, bacon, beans, hash browns, smoothies, milkshakes, juices, doughnuts...and more that I probably never got to because my plate was too full! Lunch is at the pool bar, which gets really busy, because of the guests from the Tequila that come to the beach at the Yucatan use it too. I do wish they opened another restaurant for lunch too as it was often uncomfortably packed, and quite loud. The staff do their best but it's just too many people. There are four a la cartes, including a italian that you don't have to book and an Asian, Mexican and Steakhouse that you do have to book in the morning. We loved the Asian and the Mexican but didn't really fancy the menu of the others, which are displayed outside. Most of the food is buffet style. Just go and take what you want. Please don't be that idiot that we saw demanding that the staff wait on you hand and foot, they are busy looking after more people than just you, If you want that sort of service, go pay for it in a hotel four times the price. I couldn't believe the amount of people I saw doing this or moaning that they had to get up and suit themselves.

The entertainment starts late at 9:45, and is hit and miss depending on your tastes, but this is because they are trying to cater for everyone of every nationality. We enjoyed the dance show and the Mayan show, and couldn't stick the Karoake! But that's our taste, a lot of people seemed to love the karoake, even if they really shouldn't ;) There is a kids show on til 9 and after that a band which is surprisingly good before the main show.

We did three excursions, Xcaret, Chitchen Itza and Delphinus. We loved every minute of all three. I wish we could have done more but they are quite expensive, and you run out of time! I think Xcaret is mis-marketed to the British as they say it's a theme park. It's not what we think of as a theme park! It's a zoological, biological type park, There are flamingos, jaguars, pumas, parrots, a mayan villiage, riuns, cemetery, chapels, underwater caves to snorkel, a rotating tower to see the area, horse shows, beaches, and in the evening a fantastic show in an open air theatre from Mayan dancing and ball games with fire, through to a dance celebration of Mexico as it is today. With the plus tickets through Thomson you get one free meal and drinks in any of the restaurants and free snorkel and locker hire. You have to make your own way there but in a taxi it only costs about £7.

The Chitchen Itza was early! 5:20am pick up to be exact. Thomson have exclusivity to the site first thing so it's worth it, and it takes about two and half hours to get there. The guide we had was hilarious and really passionate and knowledgable. You get drinks and snacks on the bus. On the way back we went to a cenote for a swim and for lunch. This was an experience as the water is freezing, they say 21 degrees but I reckon nearer to 16. There are blind catfish in the water and it is about 100 metres deep. Lunch was basic, but appreciated by that point. And on the way back to the hotel we stopped briefly in a colonial Spanish town for a stretch and a quick wander. We got back at about 5pm after a really full and fantastic day. We purchased one of the Mayan calendars that they passed the form around on the bus for, which we think are great but heard some people moaning about the 'hard sell'. It wasn't, they passed it round, if you don't want it don't have it. They also take a picture of you at the Chitchen Itza and put it on a bottle of liqueur. We didn't want this, we passed it back. No drama. And certainly no reason to whine constantly, like some people seemed to think. The Chitchen Itza gets really busy by 11, which is about when we were leaving, so the early start was worth it and we got some great pictures.

Delphinus was one of the highlights of my life so far! It's usually a group of six but there were only us and one other English lady there (I think they separate into language groups to avoid having to say everything in multiple tongues all the way through) so there was just the three of us, you get an hour and because we were a small group we got through everything quickly and they took us to one side and showed us how they care for the dolphins and explained about their behavior which was interesting. The trainers really love and care for them and it's lovely to see. The photographers are actually pretty good and constantly snapping away, even in the midday sun they did a good job. If you are pale book early or late as you can't wear sunscreen in with the dolphins. They brief you first and then introduce you to the dolphins in the water before you do things like the foot push and get to play with them. The photos are expensive. 39 dollars for a 10x8" print. We got the usb package between the two of us, which was $198 dollars and included 68 photos and a dvd. Through Thomson you get a free t-shirt, and when you are there you get a voucher for $40 cashback when you book another trip through your operator, so we took this to the rep and she gave us the money back. Expensive? Sure, but I'd do it again tomorrow if I could.

We had a brilliant holiday, one of our best ever, and we'd definitely come back. The staff make this hotel, and I hope management at Riu read these reviews and reward them for it.

Sorry for the long review, but I hope it answers as many questions as possible, as it contains things I'd have found useful before going. If you are going soon, don't worry about the negative reviews, and remember that we are jealous of you and would love to be going to the Riu Yucatan right now!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank phoenixoncemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We travelled from Manchester on the Dreamliner which was fantastic with my husband and 2 children age 9 & 6. Arriving at Cancun airport was chaos!! Their was at least 40 min wait at immigration to get your passport stamped. My daughter was really tired after the flight so my husband had her in his arms, turned out the best thing ever as an immigration officer was calling all parents with young children out of the line and straight through. Next customs called us over to the desk and ordered us to open all our cases and bags, she went through them making a right mess and never apologised. Watch out for the "helpful" men inside the airport, they asked us what hotel we were staying in then tried to take the cases off us to take them to the coach for you, they obviously won't hand them back until you have given them the tip they want. We were warned before leaving the aircraft so knew what to expect & needless to say we kept hold of our cases.
Transfer was smooth & easy like the check-in even though their were 53 of us checking in. We were given room 9111, having read a lot of reviews on here I was expecting a damp smell in the room - yes it absolutely stank of damp. Other than the smell the room was good. Other reviews said leave the patio door open for a bit each day, I only opened it once to hang a towel out and the Mosquitos flew in like they were waiting for you.
We never used the safe as it wasn't even screwed into anything, we locked our valuable's in the case. Be warned though every day when housekeeping had been in they left the patio door unlocked.
The beach and sea were fantastic, best we have ever been to. Pools were good even if they did look a little dirty at times. Bar and entertainment staff are fantastic, they all work so hard. Also the waiting staff in the main restaurant are great.
We ate in all the different restaurant's and found them all good. The steakhouse was very good, we ate in the Asain and 3 of us were ill for the next 2 days so were careful after that what we ate.
Did the trip to swim with the dolphins, we booked through one of the guys in the town in the booths. Had to pay cash up front but no problems at all, cheaper than Thomson as well. Husband and son booked fishing trip through they guy who walks round the pool from the beach, paid £50 for 4 hours and said it was a waste of money.
The entertainment was hit and miss, mainly dance shows which didn't start until 9.30pm, the kids entertainment is at 8pm for half an hour then nothing in between. The best show we saw was by the riu' staff on valentines night - absolutely fantastic.
To sum it up I think Mexico is a long way to travel (10 hours) for something that you could get for half the price or less a lot nearer to home. Even though we had a good holiday and enjoyed ourselves we will not return again.

Stayed: February 2014
4  Thank Doublebeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Food on the buffet was one of the best places we have ate at. Rooms ok, a/c was not as cool as we like at night. Very few ocean view rooms. Beds ok. Not to many activities at the hotel. Many of the chairs full by 9am with towels, they could use more chairs on the beach.

Room Tip: closer to the road is quieter than the ones near the ocean. Music and entertainment at night until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnesotavisitor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,215 reviews
0.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#54 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
8,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#35 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#47 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#50 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
6,809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#58 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £170 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing