We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it. Would definitely return!”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #63 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed Feb 28th-Mar7th '14.
We originally booked the RIU Tequila but upon arrival they offered us a free upgrade to the Yucatan! Immediately put us in taxi's and the hotel paid for them to take us to Yucation (literally a 5min walk lol)
Check-in was instant not a single person waiting. Johnathan at the front desk was hilarious and very informative. We would always make jokes with him when walking by the lobby.

I booked room 9205 by myself and my friends who were a couple stayed in ajoining room 9206. Very clean, fridge stocked, nice big flat-screen TV with many English channels was a plus. Beds nobody had issues sleeping. Although mosquitoes were in the room after a rainstorm it got very humid and we got bit a few times.

The resort is very clean as well. Staff are always working non-stop from the landscapers all the way up to managers. I don't think i saw a single person standing around and they were all very friendly.

The food ohh man did we ever gain some weight coming back it's probably the best selection of any resort I've ever been to(check my reviews I've been to many resorts). Honestly the Buffet was my favorite restaurant every night it was changed. We tried all of them and Shanghai(asian) was definitely our favorite the PeKing duck was the best. Least favorite is definitely the steakhouse. I recommend skipping this one entirely vegetables/sides were cold and meat was not the greatest cuts.

Pools were great! Quiet one was definitely our fav the chairs are upgraded and you get a canvas roof you can open to expose sunlight above you which is amazing. The bar there Ibiza was also good. Beach was cleaned everyday I noticed and chairs were hard to find just takes a while. The first day we got bit by sand fleas so I highly recommend packing insect repellent! I used Muskol Deep Woods and never got bit after wearing that.

My fav bar was definitely the Lobby. Nancy and Ricardo run a pretty tight shop and never leave you waiting long for a drink or shot. We joked around, had a lot of fun and hung out here everyday! They also carry good liquor brands such as Smirnoff, Beefeater, Johnny Walker and Dos Equis beer on tap.

I highly recommend this resort to older crowds, couples and families. As a single traveler I did meet a few people from all over the world but this is definitely a typical Riviera Maya Resort. Don't expect RIU Caribe or other Cancun hotspots for partying. Although I'm sure now during March break it's a different story so I've been told from Resort staff.

Room Tip: Bring bug repellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monopoly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,923 - 1,929 of 5,876 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

My friend and I visited this hotel at the end of February 2014. We had a great and relaxing week. ALL staff at this hotel were happy, friendly and eager to please. This hotel has been refurbished but in terms of the rooms this just means that the furniture has been painted white. Nevertheless it was very comfortable but as we were two friends sharing, the open plan shower was a little embarrassing. Even if I was with my partner, I am not sure I would like the arrangement. The beds were comfortable and the balcony large but we didn't use it as the vegetation came right up to it and it felt oppressive. There are really no views from any rooms. We really missed not having a kettle for morning tea or coffee in the room. It is a long walk to the nearest cuppa in the morning. We had room 4219 which was a short hop from the beachside pool. The entertainment stops by 11:30 so although we were close to the theatre noise was not an issue. The standard of cleanliness was reasonably good although one day towels were not refurbished, another the bin wasn't emptied and another the tissues etc were nott replaced. However a phone call to reception soon resolved these minor issues.

We had a major problem with mosquitos which despite every spray brand under the sun and a room plug in, still got the better of us. Even the mosquito band brought from the Thomson rep really wasn't much help. The beach was beautifully kept and clean. The water is shallow for quite some way out. Sunbeds on the beach were a slight issue first thing but you could go down there later in the day for the last rays. The large pool area by the beach always had some sunbeds but we found this quite noisy. It would be nice if they varied the music a little bit and geared it to the time of day. Something relaxing for a little while after lunch would be nice. However we discovered the quiet pool by reception very relaxing, with nice facilities and the best coffee machine on resort.

This is the largest hotel we have ever stayed in and we found the main restaurant more like a canteen in the evenings. It can be a long way to your table with your hot food. The foods was of a good standard and lots of choice. Lunch is served in the beachside restaurant and this was a complete nightmare. This facility is shared at lunchtime with residents from Riu Tequila who don't have their own beach. Some days it was impossible to get a table and if you did you had to share. THIS IS NOT FIVE STAR SERVICE In addition the food was not very good. Like school dinners. Even the drinks were self serve. We discovered we could eat at the Italian Restaurant in the reception and did that for our last few days. There is a cold buffet with salads, pizzas, breads fruit and cheese. You could also order from the menu. Although limited in choice the waiters were delightful and the restaurant air conditioned and calm. A stark contrast to the main lunchtime restaurant.

Drinks were plentiful. Every cocktail you could dream of. The wine is not very palatable unfortunately. We came to the conclusion that there was not much alcohol in any of the drinks, particularly the cocktails. We were not convinced that even the Smirnoff was actually what it said on the bottle. The upside is we only saw one drunk on the whole holiday. One irritation was that not all the bars were open all the time and it took a little while to work this one out. I read on previous reviews that people recommend you take insulated cups and think this is a good idea.

We would not recommend you bother with the a la carte restaurants. Again good staff, but not wonderful food.

The entertainment crew were just wonderful. Really enthusiastic, not to mention a couple of charming young men! They were all happy and friendly and great dancers. We particularly enjoyed the Michael Jackson night!

Most five star hotels I have stayed in offer free wifi. At the Yucatan you are limited to 90 CONTINUOUS minutes in the lobby or pay a fee for wifi in your room. This meant that each day your time was restricted based on what time you logged on the previous day. Very inconvenient.

By the way avoid sitting under the thatched umbrellas at the pool. This is where the mosquitos like to party!

Overall I would say we would visit this hotel again but would hope they could sort out the issue of free for all at lunchtime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. There aren't any lifts but I think it is better in regard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from the Riu Yucatan and have had a wonderful holiday. The hotel is right on a beautiful beach and the hotel pools are brilliant, clean and lovely and warm. We could always find a sun bed round one of the pools or on the beach, although the best spots were reserved with towels etc. very early in the morning. The food is varied and very good and there is no restriction on the number of times the speciality restaurants can be used.
it is quite easy to walk to 5th Avenue either along the beach or by the road, there you will find bars and shops and lots of night life. A taxi only costs about £5 if you find the walk too much. We went to Coco Bongos which is worth a visit but makes for a very late night.
The only down side to this resort is the damp smell in the rooms, due to the humidity, but if you are not happy with your room the staff are very obliging and will do their best to find one to your satisfaction. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Higher floors are lighter, we were in 1506 which was a very nice room that block is good and central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonnylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Went to Riu Yucatan in January the hotel was first class! Amenities were great, Beach was impressive but get down there early to get a sunbed. Food was the best we have had in the carribean truly amazing every night, speciality restaurants very nice with steak house being our favourite, staff very pleasant and drinks choice very good. All together a great holiday, cannot recommend to highly.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lots of reviews out there so I will keep it quick. Rooms.. Average at best. Clean but nothing to fancy. Beds were horrible and most rooms had no view. Towels had to be requested if you wanted more, Internet was 15 bucks a day and local calls had a fee. They had free yfi in the lobby but limited to 90 minutes once a day. Hotel. Nice, clean and well maintained. Gym was good but crowed on weekends. Pools were great and the beach beautiful. Location. Awesome and right on the beach. 10 dollar cab ride or 30 min walk from down town. Food/drinks. Not great. Bottom shelf liquor and one beer (dos suckies). Food was ok but obviously made in quantizes. Staff. WONDERFUL. The Mexicans made you feel welcomed and offered to do anything for you. All in all. Good vacation but not a fan of all inclusive as I felt like I had to eat and drink there every day.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

just spent our first trip to mexico at the riu . fantastic holiday , dreamliner flights were the best ever , cancun airport was as busy as i thought it would be., so booked premium lounge for return journey , for a few extra quid was a good choice ,as food and refreshments were in with the price .the hotel staff were fantastic and Benito and Flaberto where great entertainers and we propped the bar up with them on several nights ,tried every shot an cocktail on the menu i think, the pools were lovely the beach breathtaking , can highly recommend the deep tissue massage at the spa , The food was great and plenty of choice for everyone an im quite fussy.worth every minute of our 11 an half hour flight.rooms were fine , do not be put off by some pictures and comments there fine . the part about being able to see through the shower door is true but hang a towel over solves the problem and they are changed every day.i was bitten by a few mossies .but they sell bands in reception there good.all in all best holiday ever , cant wait to go back,

Room Tip: we were in 5211 right overlooking the pool , good location , if you dont mind noise from the enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent our honeymoon at the Riu Yucantan from 27th jan - 10 feb and we had the most fabulous time. We read the reviews before we went and honestly some people wouldnt be happy if you gave them the stars !! If i really wanted to moan the only thing i could say is that i only saw one monkey in the grounds and that was on the second day, and that has got nothing to do with the hotel !!

So lets start with our review. Check in was so easy and quick and we were given a refreshingly cold fruit juice whilst doing so . We were in block 1 right next to the main building so no walking distance at all to the restaurant !! Walking to the beach and main pool was a pleasant stroll down the main tree lined pathway (where the monkeys live , or at the time we were there dont live !) taking no more than a few minutes. The evening theatre is also down this pathway.

Our room was clean , bright and welcoming. as honeymooners we had a gift of a fruit plate which was very thoughtful. Massive bed as usual in the carribean, the bathroom had a shower cubicle and seperate loo, only strange thing was that the bathroom was not a seperate room , it had a glass brick partition but was part of the bedroom as such, but still no problem. lots of wardrobe space and fridge filled with water, sodas and beer. the optics were checked , but if you are a big drinker you might empty them before they were checked again but if thats the case reception will sort it out pronto .

the food , well honestly i have read so many reviews of repetative food , but what do you expect, you have repetative food at home!! no one has different food every day of every week or every year, ......... so wise up this a hotel , it has many many choices , i defy you not to find something you like . evening dinner , salads to die for, prawns, seafood, soups, pasta, rice, every meat you can think of, carvery , vegetables , and puddings so many to mention !! on the carvery , beef, chicken, pork, lamb yes lamb , and duck yes duck . superb food and breakfast , cereals, yoghurts , fried , poached , omlette stations , cakes , breads , fruit , juices

the waiters and watiresses are lovely , always a smile , makes all the difference to see a smile..

lunch was served in the large beach/pool restaurant and yet again so much choice, pizza, chips , burgers (for those who just cant face eating something different ) salads, fahitas, chicken , so much i cant name it all . ice cream was available all day too .

al acarte mexican, steak , italian, , oriental , didnt eat in the italian not for any reason other than forgot to but the others were really good . our favourite was the steakhouse .

the pool , there were 2 pools one up by reception smaller and quiet and surrounded by sunbeds and behind them hammocks. didnt spend anytime there as we prefer the beach but it looked lovely

main pool, surrounded by sunbeds and parasols, easy access to the bar and the restaurant, never had to queue for drinks for long and i would say the hotel was pretty much full. swim up bar and pool beds , spent a day here but it was a little too crowded .

the beach superb , goes for miles , you can walk to playa del carmen if you want to , they said it takes about 35 min but we walked it along the road it was easier on the feet and took the same time , just go to main entrance of the hotel turn right and keep walking, its a pleasant walk lots to see on route . the beach itself has water sports and a lifeguard, there is a pretty strong undercurrent and we had yellow flags until the last day when they green flagged it. maybe the winter currents are stronger than the summer . anyway its a nice beach lots of sunbeds . steve did a parasail cost him about £40 but he said it was well worth it .

Trips we went to Chichen Itza with Tomson and i would recommend their tour. a very early start 05.40 but believe me you dont want to be there at midday its baking , we were the first tour group to arrive and we left there at 11 and by then we were glad to go !! they take you to a cenote where if you want you can swim and lunch is there aswell and then a stop off at a town and a stroll round the square before returning to the hotel around 5pm , its a long day but worth it . we also did the silver dolphin swim and that was excellant , only four of us in our group and 3 dolphins and over an hour in the water. photos are expensive though . 12 photos $100 or $176 gets you all the photos and the dvd so we took this option.

Tulum we took the local bus to here it was great,, took an hour to get there from the bus station in playa del carmen or you can get the collectivo which is cheaper and gives you a taste of the real mexico travel as you share the little van with locals and workers , even so it was a good experience and we opted for these most of the time and its nice to be able to spend time without being on a tour .

the hotel has lots of wildlife, the monkeys are a bit thin on the ground, we saw one in all the time we were there , little disappointed there werent more, funny little big guinee pig type called serekee so sweet , and one lizzard , most likely there are more but i saw one and one was enough !!

one tip , drink lots of water , seriously , i had heat stroke and it was horrid , i spent a day of my holiday in a darkened room , feeling terrible, i didnt have any sunburn at all but i walked around with no hat and my hair up and the sun on the back of my neck, and for that i paid dearly have never had it before and never want it again .

so to sum up , we had the best honeymoon we could have wished for, the hotel, the staff , the trips , the reps (jess, lee and alice from thomson , you are ace ). we say go to mexico and go the Riu Yucantan its beautiful and if we return to mexico we would most definately return to this hotel

Room Tip: block 1 near to restaurants , no noise at all from being so close
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank binkynsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
13.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#55 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £151 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing