We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Nearby Hotels
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$436
US$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$450
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$689
US$671
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$497
US$463
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$387
US$344
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$710
US$383
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,076
US$1,004
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,033
US$553
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$477
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,210)
Filter reviews
6,210 results
Traveller rating
2,964
2,083
790
237
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,964
2,083
790
237
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsibiza poolhowler monkeysmain restaurantthomson repsgreat holidayquiet poolasian restaurantevery other dayswim up barcaptain hookplenty of sunbedsentertainment teamshower doorevening entertainmentpalm treesmain poolmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,507 - 3,512 of 6,210 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel same time last year and its great to see the beach back, they have worked hard to get it back. All the staff work hard and are very friendly, the food is good you can always find something to eat. The entertainment team are excellenty!!. The hotel wants a bit of updating and the sewage smell in some of the rooms and parts of the grounds need to be sorted out, otherwise this will spoil this hotel I would only recommend this hotel once this as been updated

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed at the RIU Yucatan Playacar on Jan 23-28, 2009. Many good words were spoken by previous reviewers and I will repeat them here. The trip was great! Temperature was in the low to mid 80's, mostly sunny with rain only about half a day. Comparing prices, we got the best deal directly from the hotel web site for the hotel and the flight. Free ground transportation (about a 50 minute ride from the airport) is included. Check in and check out were less than a minute! We were in the 8200 block, maybe the furthest from the beach but it was an easy walk, less than 2 minutes. Clean, quiet, no smells/bugs, the A/C worked great, stocked bar/fridge, large firm bed, free safe to keep your valuables. Different towel sculptures on the bed greeted us each day. The hotel grounds are kept impecable with some of the hardest working employees I've ever seen at an all-inclusive. You'll easily spot Agouti (http://www.sandiegozoo.org/animalbytes/t-agouti.html) scattered around the property along with monkeys up in the trees and Iguana on the grounds.

The buffet food (breakfast and dinner) was some of the best and had the greatest variety of any all-inclusives we've stayed at in the past. The lunch menu could use a few more selections. We tried all three specialty restaurants (Steakhouse, Asian and Mexican). All were very good, but the Steakhouse was our favorite. My steak was better than most I get in the States. Reservations for the specialty restaurants are taken at the entrance to the main buffet starting at 7am. No problem with the drinks either - plenty of liquor and the beer is cold. The watermelon carvings and ice sculptures adorning the food selections were fantastic!

A leisurely walk to Playa del Carmen to the north took about 45 minutes. Along the way you'll see some small Mayan ruins (and no doubt some Iguana). Lots of activity in Playa del Carmen, with plenty of shops and restaurants. Here you can take a short ferry ride over to the island of Cozumel.

The Entertainment group at the hotel were hard working and made sure nobody was bored. They performed skits from "Grease" and "Mama Mia". One night the hotel brought in a large Mariachi band whose performance was outstanding! Lots of activities if you didn't come to "veg out": beach volleyball, Bocci ball, bingo, karaoke, dance lessons, air rifle competition, spanish lessons, etc. Hobie cats (small catamarans) and kayaks (one and two person) are free for use. With the breezes you'll often find, sailing was really fun! There were always plenty of beach chairs available, but chairs in choice locations around the pool were reserved early.

Negatives (and I'm being really picky here): the pool water was cool but you got used to it. (The Caribbean water was noticeably warmer.) The "sand whales" as other reviewers have mentioned, are somewhat unsightly but understandably needed to stop the beach erosion. They did provide entertainment in their own right, though, as I saw folks sliding down them into the water. And they do provide some structure for the fish to hide. Snorkeling right by the shore was not as good as I had hoped but snorkeling/scuba trips are available right at the beach.

RIU - you run a great operation here! You should be proud of your Yucatan Playacar employees! We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank upacrk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Riu Yucatan was awesome from Monkeys in the trees to huge Iguanas all over the place. I was really scared at first cause Ive heard so many horror stories about mexico It was awesome, The guys hounding you at the airport was the only pain in the butt that we incountered.
Like some have mentioned the breakfasts and dinners were amazing but the lunches were pretty lame, besides the darn birds flying around in the food building and stealing food off of peoples plates and the garbage kinda freaked me out. But the beach was awesome (Seen some topless girls) UMMM haha,
If you wanted to sit by the pool you had to get up early and place your towel ona chair or forget it your not sitting by the poolside.

Only really bad part was we used Sunquest Vacations and they were hopeless and our rep at the hotel was unknowledable and sent us on crappy tours that were nothing to write home about.(waste of Money)

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Christophersadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

My best friend and I just returned from a wonderful girls week at RIU Yucatan. We meet so many wonderful people. Everyone had fun together, talked, joked, & laughed. We would meet for dinner, or a dip in the pool, or just see each other passing by and wave. It was the best time.

This resort was amazing, everyone that worked there made everything perfect. They were happy, friendly, helpful people. We wanted for nothing but a longer to stay. The rooms were great and always clean, plenty of space. The whole resort was clean, there was always someone working on the lawns, trees, cleaning the pool. They supplied umbrellas at the front desk when it rained. The bartenders were amazing to watch and they were always kept busy. They work 15 hours a day 6 days a week and I don’t think anyone from the US would still be smiling and entertaining people after that many hours. These employees were always happy.
We had the use of all four other RIU resorts in the area. We had people come to the Yucatan and say that it was the best out of all of them. Way better, more friendly, than the Playacar & the Tequila, better beaches than the Palace. We went to the Tequila and the people there were not as friendly and were even rude.

There were always activities around the pool, inside the lobby, the evening entertainment was wonderful. The fire dancers were simply amazing. They would entertain the children as well.
We could not find anything to complain about for the entire week. Except the smell from the water in the toilets, but that is the only thing.

Apple Vacations was great. They picked us up at the airport upon arrival and were there at exactly the pick-up time for departure (even though it was 3 AM). We very much hoped they would forget us and we could stay longer.

Now to save for next time, and we will certainly stay at the RIU Yucatan no question in our minds. Excellenta!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dmiller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We stayed at the Yucatan from Jan 22 - 27 2009. We had previously stayed at Riu Playacar a few years before so we knew what to expect from the nearby Yucatan.

Pros:
The beach is very large with a good mix of shady and sunny spots. The sand is very nice and the water is beautiful. There are plenty of the large sandbags to protect the shore but they are done well. If you walk down the beach a way you will see resorts where they have not done the sandbagging and the beaches are terribly eroded.

The pool area is fairly large and it is nice to have two pool bars. There are some prime pool chairs where you can be at the pool but overlooking the ocean - very nice!

Room was very clean - beds were comfortable. Had to request a blanket but got it right away. TV and A/C and mini-fridge all worked well.

Buffet had a very large variety of food that was always hot and fresh.

Loved the automatic coffee/espresso machines at all the drink locations around the resort.

Very international mix of guests makes for good people watching and fun conversation. (if topless sunbathing and naked toddlers offend you - beware)

Cons:

Our room was very outdated. The mirror in the bathroom was eroding and had dark spots on it. The drapes were faded and garish. We were on the ground floor and the hallway noise was very loud. The toilets flushing on upper floors sounded like they were in our room. Shower was very dark - needs a light in the stall.

Pool entertainment during the daytime was too loud! You could hear it quite loudly on the beach even.

Buffet area was way too crowded. Tables were also very close together. When we were there they were not doing dinner seatings and so perhaps that made it more crowded.

Hated being clapped for by the staff when entering the dining room - strange.

No cocktails with dinner - just mediocre beer and wine.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank suzo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews