We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation”
Review of Blue Parrot Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Parrot Suites
Ranked #190 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is Our first time in playa de Carmen and we had a wonderfull vacation. The blue parot is in the hart of playa. 5th ave is on the right, the beach is on the left and the clubs are two blocks away.Close enough to walk and far enough so you dont hear the noise. The place is well maintain beautiful pool and the rooms are clean and specious. We all had great time and we will come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobOzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Tired old facility. Did not have what was on web site - no airport shuttle, not on the beach, the beach that was closest had all the local boats anchored just off the shore so you could not swim there safely, swimming pool that was dirty, NO PARKING, nothing in mini bar, one of doors to our room did not lock, ceiling fans did not turn on, NO Elevator, winding metal staircase which is very narrow and difficult to get luggage up (we were on third floor) could only paid in cash. Definitely not suited for a family holiday.
The only good thing is that is was walking distance to downtown commercial area. At night the music from the bars was extremely loud even though they were empty!

Room Tip: This place might be ok if you rent as condo, however getting anything up the stairs is difficult bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was my third stay at the blue parrot. We arrived on a late flight and our transport was there, as promised. Upon arriving at the hotel to check in, we had to wait 45 minutes for someone to arrive at reception to check us in and get us our room. The room was clean and well appointed. We had a rooftop room, but the gate to our rooftop was locked for Hal of our stay. Since we had a nice patio area outside of our room, we thought that was it. The table outside of our room and the one on the rooftop palapa were dirty, so we used one of the towels to clean it. Upon checking out, I was charged $12 to replace the towel! Firstly, a bit of bleach would've cleaned it just fine and secondly, if the staff had cleaned the table in the first place, I wouldn't have had to use the hand towel!
We felt safe with the security guard posted, but the overnight security guard was a bit creepy and took a real liking to my friend. He asked her out, offered us a ride to the airport and asked her for a puff off her cigarette. Not asking for a cigarette, but a puff from hers! Yuck!
The phones didn't actually work and on several occasions, we had a hard time and a long wait to get anyone in reception.
My suggestions for this once lovely hotel?? Increase the water pressure, have someone available at reception, and have the cleaning staff clean the outdoor surfaces. Since they already have our credit card info, a beach towel for each occupant would be lovely. If they steal it, charge them. The wifi was spotty at best; we wound up using El Taj wifi since it was more reliable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location is great. Rooms very spacious and lovely terraces with fantastic views and it is really well located but the kitchens are very old fashion and doors should be changed too as they are very poor quality. But overall, we really liked it and would stay again.
We really enjoyed the use of sunbeds in Mosquito beach resort.
Staff are helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paua3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent a week on a 3rd floor one bedroom "suite" at the Blue Parrot Suites. The Suites are actually down the street from the Blue Parrot Beach Club, so there is some walking involved to get to their beach club and bar, not a far walk but not right out the door either. I would like to mention that we had 35 winding outdoor steps to our unit, they were very slick when it rained and no hand rail. I would not advise any elder or anyone with a toddler to rent a unit on the top floor, be sure and get a bottom floor only. We had a wonderful upstairs private cabana where we could sunbathe in private and we could see a distant view of the ocean. This cabana was up another 15 stairs, so after climbing 50 steps round and round it could be a challenge for some. The rooms are very outdated, however we moved furniture around to make the room suitable for us. The rate was very reasonable for the unit and the pool is very small and 3' deep at all areas of it, but it is nice to jump in and cool off. Not many people at all at the pool. We did not hear any late night noises at all. It is def very close to the action within walking distance. I would stay at the Blue Parrot again, all the staff was very nice, and our room did not lock well at all but we never had one single problem of theft or concern someone had been in our room. We felt very safe while we were there, and they do have a security guard on duty right outside the gate at all times. If you don't have small children or elder I would recommend the 3rd floor suites as they do have private playapas well worth the hike up the stairs.

Room Tip: 3rd floor if you don't have any toddlers or an elder guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inkwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This hotel was fair. My expectations were not particularly high, as it was a last-minute deal and the price was half of what other hotels were charging. But at $125/night, it should be clean and functioning. Only about half the light bulbs/fixtures worked. The TV remotes did not work. The screens on windows did not work, so there was no option but to remain in AC (which, fortunately, did work). The shower did have hot water. The room was fairly clean, but definitely not spotless. Staff was somewhat helpful. Pool was nice, but unswimmable after 8pm because they put chemicals in it at night. The best thing about the hotel was Mauricio, who was very helpful at the front desk. I liked the fact that they give you beach towels, but I don't like the fact that you have to leave an ID to get one. I mean, they already have all your CC info...The beach this hotel accesses is not the nicest. I went down and up the beach in either direction to find a swimmable beachfront. I did feel safe here as a solo traveler. The hotel was quiet, until the weekend rolled around and with it about 10 young Mexican guys who partyed loudly. The front desk was responsive when I complained, though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This was the second time I stayed in the top condo at the Blue Parrot Suites and I couldn't have been happier! The feeling of privacy, ocean views and rocking in the hammocks on top of the world was truly a slice of heaven. A beautiful escape from bustling 5th Ave just minutes away. I felt like I had stepped into another world! On mornings when I would wake up early, I would bring my lap top with a fantastic yoga workout up to the palapa and watch the sunrise over the Carribean! What an exotic treat...throw on my bathing suite and head for the complimentary breakfast at the ocean front restaurant minutes away! What a way to start the day! Returning to the room after a hard day of sun bathing and reading at the beach, the beautiful cool air-conditioned room complete with kitchen and a cold cerveza, was the perfect completion to a nurturing day! Also the best ceviche in town is just two doors from the entrance to the suites! The rooms were appointed in classy casual decor. I will return again and again to this intimate yet inspiring and expansive location when ever I visit Playa Del Carmen! Gotta love those Blue Parrots!

Room Tip: The 3rd level Suite was fantastic, private and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windhorse55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel All Riviera
Hotel All Riviera
#194 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#189 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#150 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
#68 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#171 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#103 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Suites

Address: Calle 12 Norte | Calle 14 Norte /Playa y 1ra Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £59 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Parrot Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Palms is a condominium located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, has 15 units for 2-8 people. Fully furnished and equipped, basic amenities like cable, wifi, a / c cleaning included. Community Pool. Just one block from the famous 5th Avenue and a few steps from the marvelous beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot Hotel And Beach
Blue Parrot Resort And Beach
Blue Parrot Suites Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing