We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #44 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Pearland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spring break paradise!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just returned from 6 nights here......our first trip to Playa del Carmen. I read a lot of tripadvisor reviews prior to the trip, and I would have to say that I agree with most of them. This was our first "all inclusive" experience, and overall it was great! The property is beautiful, and the service spectacular! Rooms are ok, but then again we did not spend that much time in our room anyway. Breakfast buffet was great, but lunch & dinner were mediocre in my opinion. Ala carte restaurants were much better......specifically the Japanese, Italian and Steakhouse. We were a little disappointed that the bars - none of them had anything to offer for spiced rum. We are Capt Morgan drinkers, and there was no brand of spiced rum available even in the lobby bar where premiums are served. Other than that the drinks were certainly plentiful! and we tried several new ones. I personally like the Mojitos and Dirty Monkey. Ricardo, who helped us booking our excursions was awesome! We did the dolphin experience at Delphinus, Xplor and Tulum. Delphinus and Xplor were both exceptional and not to be missed if you have kids (we had our 12yr old son with us). We never made it to any of the shows or the disco while we were there, but there are certainly plenty of activiites going on at all times to keep everyone happy. From yoga in the mornings, to zumba and volleyball on the beach, bingo by the pool, ceramic painting, archery, ping pong........you name it! Our son has already asked if we can go back again for spring break next year! We will see. My hubby & I would like to go down there alone sometime too and just lay on the beach or by the pool the whole time! All in all it was a fabulous vacation and we would certainly stay at the Iberostar again!

Room Tip: I took the advice of many before me and requested buildings 20-24 and we got a ground floor room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,844
    1,410
    351
    108
    57
See reviews for
1,989
1,674
62
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I would like to thank the staff at the Iberostar Quetzal for making our stay a pleasurable one. Special thanks to Bartolo who took care of us at the breakfast table. The entertainment staff were also pleasent and full of energy. It was nice to have fresh fruit on a daily basis. The beach was excellent and what I liked about the place was that it was always windy which made going into the ocean a lot of fun. It also was good for the hot sun to keep you confertable throughout the day.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the beach then I recommend that you get a room near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The grounds are beautiful, set in a jungle around an inaccessible cave. Lots of wildlife to look at. Fantastic pool, nice beach. Restaurants are good (for an all-inclusive). I have stayed here twice. The first time in a regular room, the second in a Jr Suite. Now, it is not a suite, just beachfront. Beds are typical of Mexico- hard as a rock. Service was good.

Room Tip: Jr suite is worth the upgrade- beachfront! But not really a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Staci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Over the years we have visited this and other Iberostar resorts a couple of times; as well as a few other all inclusive resorts; so we have sufficient information to draw some comparisons and conclusions. As time goes by - the staff turns over, the menu changes somewhat, the amenities get tweaked, but one thing remains constant - the value for money is above average; and commitment to quality service is unwavering. They always manage to hire the friendliest people, willing to make your vacation as pleasant as they can. Just to give you one example: when our child was little - she could not wait to go to the Kids Club every morning. Again - even though the ladies in charge may have been different every year, their dedication to the kids and ability to engage them was always at a very high level. And this applies across the board. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kisaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

February 24, 2012
HELLO IBEROSTAR TUCAN QUETZAL,

I am writing to let you know i was at your hotel from January 31, 2012 to February 14,2012,I had the greatest vacations of my life, and it was not my first time in Riviera Maya, but this hotel is the best .

First thing that i want to talk about is, the star friends team who is the best specially one who is name is Yohel , he is the assistant of the manager of the star friends team, he is a very special person who have a nice personality, he talk with all the guests in a different language, French, English and Spanish. Every time that he meets peoples he is always available and talked with them.

He is always smiling , he always invite the guess to participate in the different activities during the day and even the night at Showtime he is always there inviting guests for dancing before and after the show or even just talk with them`. He is always in a good mood. That star friends Yohel who came from Iberostar Varadero Cuba and working to your resort in Riviera Maya deserves to be recognized for his good work.

We see it, he is very dedicated to his work and he loves it, and we the guests we appreciate,it very much. I have never seen a person so dedicated as him in all my years of travel that i have done.

He is the best of the best star friends,,,Yohel keep your nice smile and good work, thank you and hope you will pass the message to him personally.

The Iberostar Tucan Quetzal is a very nice resort, with all the forest, the animals, the great staff who are they are so nice, doing their jobs with always the smile and their kindness. I will come back there for sure and I will recommend your resort you can count on it.

Francine Gravel
I was in building 25, room number 2505..

Room Tip: Ask for biuilding 24-25-26 you are in the middle from buffet, lobby and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gougounes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments about The Iberostar Tucan. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests. Please be assured that I will will especially compliment Yoel for his effort.

Thank you very much for mentioning our staff attentiveness and friendliness which is one of the principles of Iberostar.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was only our second stay in all-inclusive (if you don't count cruises). The grounds are amazing with jungle in the middle, a waterfall right next to the main buffet, flamingoes, peacocks (pavo royal), iguanas, turtle, Tucan, parrots. We saw wild monkeys twice during our 5 day stay and a coatimundi. It was like having a zoo right in the hotel.
We enjoyed the food. The main buffet was a bit better (more choices) than the food near the beach, but because of the view we ate at the pool restaurant, too. I loved the mariachi band in the Mexican restaurant. I don't understand people who eat hot dogs and burgers when in Mexico, but if you need them they are there. I preferred trying new things like cactus salad and palm hearts or breakfast taco (corn tortilla with refried beans, cheese and an egg sunny side up on top). minibar was well stocked with beer, soda and water, no snacks though.
Our room was close to the pool/beach, but after all the food we ate I wouldn't care where the room is, you need to walk off all those calories! We walked into town instead of taking the taxi.
Staff was friendly and you could always find someone if you needed help.
The beach is soft and gets cleaned up every night. The pool is gorgeous and big. I was a bit disappointed that you couldn't swim at night.
The conference facilities were nice with plenty of staff as well. We had a conference reception ON the beach which looked like a wedding reception. I was wow'ed. After sunset with lights and hor d'oeuvres. Very nice.
The drinks are better in the lobby than at the beach, but then again the beach is better than the lobby....
One weird thing was that they charged for internet access. These days everyone offers free Wifi. And even the paid internet was only accessible in the lobby, not the rooms. For a hotel that has conference facilities, this sure makes it hard to do some work.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Our room in building 23 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tulip503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager, Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Iberostar Quetzal for your holidays in Mexico. We appreciate that you took the time to give us a feedback about our hotel and the services.

Thank you for mentioning some of our main strengths our location – our welcoming and affectionate staff. We turn our attention to our employees to make every guest feel at home and enjoy his stay. I am particularly pleased to hear such positive comments and I will be sure to pass it on to our team.

If you are planning to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Quality manager, Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel 26.02.12-04.03.12. This hotel is amazing in so many ways. The grounds are beautiful and its lovely to see all the animals in the mini jungle, you can clearly see the animals are well cared for. The staff here can not do enough for you, they are so polite and friendly and they work very hard to ensure you enjoy your stay.The food is very good and in the buffet restaurant there is soo much choice even the fussiest of eaters have plenty of choice. The best a la carte restaurant for us was the Italian. The food was very good but our waiter was amazing, we had a member of our party who has several food allergies so he arranged for some thing special to be made. Our check in/out went smoothly. The maids work very hard and do an excellent job although they come way to early which was a bit annoying, on our last day they came at 07.50 and check outs not until 12. im sure a word with reception would solve this. The only other small negative is there is a really bad DJ in the onsite nightclub which is a shame as its really convenient if you like a bit of nightlife. On each night we were in there the music stopped several times, he clealy didnt know what he was doing and the music would to and fro from hard house to grease music and then spanish. The same guy would then dish out towels by the pool. I think the hotel should employ a proper experienced DJ. Other than that our holiday was the best ever and i would definately stay here again, i have never experienced customer service this good.
if anyone wants to ask any questions im happy to help

Thankyou for an amazing holiday Iberostar.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at Iberostar Quetzal in Mexico. Our team does our best to provide the comforts of home to all our guests.

Thank you for pointing out the great location and more importantly the hotel setting and sorroundings and most importantly - the staff. I am delighted to hear that each person you came in to contact with were pleasent and helpful.

Please feel free to contact us for your next reservation! We will all be very pleased to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#85 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#98 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Property: Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing