We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #44 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel is worth trying at least once. I spent my honeymoon here and my husband and I enjoyed every moment. The food is ok overall. It is what you expect from a buffet. The beaches are beautiful. The pools are great although there are never enough chairs. We would get there as early as we could to get a chair. My husband and I took turns waking up early the last few days and went to back sleep in the cabanas just so we could take advantage of that. Most days they were taken over by childrens floats and towels that were left overnight to reserve for the next day. The pool bar is great. The rooms were well kept and maintained. The grounds are beautiful. My favorite part was all of the animals that you can find living on the resort. It was like staying at a zoo. Some of my favorite pictures were of the wildlife. The vendors weren't too pushy and we got some good deals on handmade jewelry that was beautiful. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach if you plan on spending a lot of time there. Or you could enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kds1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,801 of 4,970 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had never been to Mexico before and didn't know what to expect. I was traveling with a friend who had been there many times and stayed at many different resorts. When we arrived, we were both blown away.

First off, it's gorgeous. The hotel is set in a jungle-like setting so you feel as though you're deep in the jungle while you're strolling to your room from the pool. The greenery is gorgeous and unique, so it feels like you're in "real" Mexico, and not just a touristy resort.

Second, they pretty much think of everything. Everything is set up for your convenience, from the numerous swimming pools they have (one for kids, one with a swim-up bar, one for sports, and the huge main one for everyone), to the bars everywhere, the numerous restaurants, the entertainment, the little shops with all the necessities.

Third, everyone who works there is super nice. At first I was worried that they were just nice because it's company policy or something, and that they were being forced to smile, but no! Everyone seemed genuinely friendly. I had friendly chit-chat with many of the staff, they remembered my name and drink orders, and it really felt as though they were content to work there (as opposed to some other places where staff feel bitter to be working in hospitality).

I need to mention the sea. Oh sweet, sweet Mary. The sea is the most beautiful sea I have ever laid eyes on. The water is several different and equally gorgeous shades of blue, depending on the depth of the water. It's not deep on the shore and remains fairly shallow for a considerable stretch, which is great for safety. If you want to go deeper, you always can, but most people didn't. The sand is white and very fine and the beach is kept quite clean. The first day we were there, it was very windy (though hot) and the waves were pretty strong, so we stuck to the pool. But the rest of the week the water was calm enough to swim in and it was amazing. At one point, the water was 26 degrees Celsius. I'll remember that next time I try to dip a toe into the Pacific.

Scuba instructors offer lessons and trips out to sea. There are a few people selling things on the beach, but they don't come by very often and there were about 2-3 of them. They don't bother you, just walk by holding their wares and will come by if you flag them down. Staff walk by and offer massages and spa treatments.

The rooms were large and well-equipped. There were the usual toiletries and some more unusual stuff like a comb, shower cap, shoe polish, sew kit, etc. Very thoughtful on their part.

There were a few things that could have been improved: the beds, for one. When people said that the beds were hard, I scoffed because I sleep on a firm mattress and thought that I would be ok. No, the beds were like sleeping on soft rock. They were so hard that even though I slept on a pillow, my ears still felt the hardness. Anyway, I didn't request a foam mattress top or anything so that was my fault.

Another thing that could have been better was the noise level. First of all, you wake up to the sounds of the many animals that roam the jungle area. That's great, I guess I enjoyed them too much to mind the noise. But one morning, a little before 7 am, I woke up to the sound of cleaning staff talking really loudly (nearly yelling) to each other on the radio outside my door. My friend, who was already heading to the beach, told them to keep it down, but when she came back a few minutes later for the sunblock she forgot, they were still doing it. I was naturally awoken by their loudness and really shocked about that kind of behavior from an otherwise such a fine resort. There were also some late nights when the younger visitors were coming back to their rooms, drunk, and waking people up with their noise. I think this happens everywhere, but it would be great to maybe have some signs or something reminding people coming back that other people are probably sleeping between certain hours.

Finally, the food was pretty average. The best restaurant of those we tried was the steakhouse. That was really flavorful and nice. The others, however, and the buffet, were often pretty bland. Nonetheless, we found the items that were constantly delicious and just ate those.

Some miscellaneous observations: there were a ton of Europeans, Chileans, Argentinians, etc. It was nice to be surrounded by a diverse group. There were fewer "spring break goers" than I expected. Overall, most people kept it pretty classy. The hotel organized a ton of events for people on the beach and at night to keep them entertained, so I thought that was a really great touch. Finally, I may have fallen in love with some of the handsome gentlemen in their employ. Alas, maybe next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tns777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This Resort is excellent. We stayed 7 nights over Spring Break. We are a family consisting of grandparents, parents and two teenagers. We all loved this Resort. It has something to suit all age groups. Lots of activities to keep whomever wants to participate in them very busy indeed. The buffet served up excellent breakfasts, that was always plentiful. The Italian Restaurant was super good. The waiters were always attentive, professional and remembered which one of us took our coffee black, with or without sugar, etc. The walkways through the jungle was spectacular, with flamingos, monkeys and other creatures scurrying about. Edgar, in the bicycles took us biking around the area and pointed out areas of interest. The evening entertainment, starting with audience participation was funny, and the professional dancers and singers were friendly and happy to give salsa tips to anyone willing to try. The zumba, yoga and aqua aerobic instructor was a huge crowd pleaser every day. Yoel needs a pat on the back from Iberostar for making everyone feel as if they are special guests at his home, always smiling and very approachable. We look forward to our next holiday at this Resort.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 1100 - 1200 are close to the beach and pools, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carita_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just returned from this hotel, by far and away the best location, hotel and staff we have ever encountered. My girlfriend was reluctant to travel to Mexico but after a day didn't want to leave and is already planning our return. The location is fantastic, located in a gated community feeling safe, directly onto the beach and within easy reach of local amenities. There is a Starbucks at the close by Plaza which will let you use as much Wi Fi as you like just for buying a cup of coffee, and in particular nearby 5th Avenue with all the shops, restaurants and bars. The beach is stunning, by far the best beach we have ever seen. There is a massive array of water sports to do including free snorkelling and a taster at scuba diving. The hotel rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard, there is a good minibar, tv and a decent sized bathroom. There is free room service something usually not part of an all inclusive package in our experience. The staff are fantastic, they can't do enough for you, clearly work really hard (in particular the entertainment staff who have something for everyone no matter what age from around 1000 until 1630 each day before the shows during the evening). Our room was at the very front of the hotel and this is no more than 5 minutes steady walk to the pool and beach area. The only time it took us longer was walking through the 'jungle area' where the monkeys, tortoises, peacocks, agoutis, lizards and other animals walk around the complex. The quality of the food is very good, there is a large variety at the buffet and the steak and caribbean restaurants based around the pool in the evening are particularly good. If you tip a few dollars to the staff they are so appreciative and without doubt deserve it. We had an 8 hour delay fying back to the UK but the hotel were quite happy for you to remain and continue using all the facilities other than the room which we had to vacate at midday but there is a small bathroom available to guests who have checked out with showering facilities. There is a vast array of tours on offer in particular to the Mayan ruins and also a jeep safari which allows you to see the nearby Sian Khan conservation biosphere where you can see dolphins, turtles etc in the wild before a meal including locally caught fish and lobster which we found a particularly good day. All in all the best holiday we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SimonDesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Beautiful grounds with lots of amazing animals to see. Shows at night were good, Disco was a lot of fun. This property is close to the downtown Playa area - just minutes away from shopping and night life. Buffet is good, about the same as any other all inclusive, you will not go hungry! Specialty restaurants are awesome!! While we were there (June 2011) it was not crowded at all. The beach is great! Staff was very nice, but not as friendly as some other resorts we've visited in the area. Loved this place, although not as much as others, would go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPSP90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our wedding destination. Iberostar Quetzel/Tucan made our family and friend vacation a 5 star. All our guests commented on how beautiful the grounds were; jungle, animals, flowers, beach, bridges, lobby and numerous food/beverage venues. We were able to cater to all vacation types: those wanting to read on the beach, those wanting to explore the town of Playa Del Carmen, those wanting to lay by the pool, those wanting to go on excursions, those who want to party and those wanting to go to Cozumel. You can't tell me "there is nothing to do". Thank you to all the hotel staff for letting us visit your beautiful piece of paradise and making our wedding vacation unforgettable.

Stayed: March 2012
5  Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at Iberostar Paraiso Quetzal. Our team does our best to provide the comforts of home to all our guests.

Thank you for pointing out the great location and more importantly the hotel setting and sorroundings and most importantly - the staff. I am delighted to hear that each person you came in to contact with were pleasent and helpful.

Please feel free to contact us for your next reservation! We will all be very pleased to welcome you back to create new memories.

Kind regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have stayed at a few all inclusive resorts, most of them being on the pricey side. This hotel was amazing for the price we paid. We stayed there 6 nights and 7 days. The weather was perfect for the entire week. It rained for 5 minutes one day then cleared right up. The food was plentiful and delicious. It was nice to go on Spring break in Mexico and not have to deal with loud drunk people. I was very suprised with the amount of activities that were available on a daily basis, and also the night time entertainment was very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Request rooms in the 20-23 block. Closer to the beach and not in the heart of the jungle where they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KBer41522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at Iberostar Quetzall. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team who were very proud to hear your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the future. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance when you plan your next stay.

Warmest regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#51 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,755 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,222 reviews
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,161 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £157 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing