We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Tucan Quetzal was more than we expected!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #45 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Front desk staff: Mid-way through our stay we ended up getting really noisy neighbors..staff at the desk graciously moved us to a diff room (no questions asked) gracias!
Room: very clean and spacious. Couple of things were not working the best, such as the remote or the fridge (wasn't cold enough) but these were very minute!
Room service: the girls were great, they made up the room when needed and were always accommodating!
Food: quality of food was amazing, especially for being all inclusive. We felt there was a lot of variety. Mind you, I am not that picky and I enjoy eating any kind I ethnic foods.
Staff overall: everyone was so friendly and hardworking. The work ethic at this resort was incredible. You can tell they all really enjoy what they do and appreciate all guests.
Pools and beach: beautiful...there was always a chair(s) available at the pool or beach. We didn't feel like we had to go down early to reserve a spot at all.
Grounds: the resort itself is Gogeous, it's like a rainforest/zoo between the lobby and the pool area. So great to see te animals and great for kids too! Playa del Carmen is about a 40min walk from the resort. My husband and I jogged once and it took about 20 mins one way. It's super safe to walk around. Just note that you will be asked A LOT to take a look at their little shops Bc they are trying to make a living so if you can take time to look and haggle with them.
Gym: the gym is quite small but equipment is pretty up to date. I love the treadmills, definitely club quality. We worked out daily when we stayed, we found the gym was open earlier than they say, it said they opened at 7am but I went one at 6:30am and it was open. It can get really busy so go early if you want a decent workout.
A la carté restaurants: we loved the Japanese a la carté!!!!! We went 2x in a row because the show and food was so tasty! Italian wasn't that good unfortunately. Hacienda was amazing and the steakhouse was pretty good too!

Overall, we reccommend this resort to anyone who doesn't have high expectations or is looking for a luxury type experience. We loved it because we are both out doors type people and we live simple. We want to say thank you to all the staff that made our vacation pleasurable. We also want to say Enrique (waiter at Italian a la carté and buffet) was so nice and easy to talk to. He should be recognized for his hard work ethics. I hope someone tells him this! We hope to come back to visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
6  Thank Llaxamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Llaxamana,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal as the destination for your vacations as well as for taking the time to post your comments.

We would like to express how happy we are to read that you enjoyed a memorable stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our facilities, service and the beauty of our grounds which are motivating for all the staff members.

In addition your feedback about the a la carte restaurants is very important to us and will be kept in mind in order to keep working to satisfy all our guests. Furthermore, we will let Enrique know that you mentioned him on your review. He will be more than happy to know that you appreciated his work.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,360 - 1,366 of 4,926 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is located about 65 minutes from the Cancun airport. Because the shuttle takes other travelers staying at different hotels, expect more like 90 minutes to get there.

The first impression of the hotel is very positive, the Quetzal and Tucal hotels are on the same propriety and share restaurants and animation auditorium. The rooms are located in three stories high buildings with thatched roofs; there are 20 buildings in total, and each building has about 40 rooms. Ours was close to the pool, at 5 minutes walk from the main restaurant, and was spacious and clean, enough for 4 people. The staff cleans daily the walkways (marble tiles) and the place was fumigated weekly to control the mosquito population. Between the building is a natural patch of jungle with palm trees and plants, along with walking paths, where peacocks, iguana, flamingos, monkeys, turtles and other creatures roam along. This is a nice feature and the decor is not 'man-made', it respects the environment. The trees are lit at night. The only place where 'concrete trees' are used is under the various bridges, to hide the metal structure. It took us a few days to see everything and the beauty of site was beyond our expectation.

The beach is very clean, plenty of little palm umbrellas and chairs. The hotel is located in Playacar, which is a gated community, so pretty much everyone on the beach is a tourist and you do not get bothered or risk to lose your beach bags. The pool site has also plenty of seating, a bar, two restaurants, an wet-bar aside (adults only). From the beach to 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen is 30 minutes walk, or you can take a taxi for $7US at the reception (one way). There is a calendar of activities, and the animation team (called STAR friends) do an excellent job of getting the participation of the crowd and get the activities running. There were exceptional people in the animation team: Ary, Kenia and Andres to name a few. Those three remembered our names after only one day of meeting us, greeted us and were always up-beat. It is impressive to keep this attitude, considering they are on-site almost 14 hours per day, 6 days a week. Same goes with the restaurant service, where Ramiro and Nataniel were top notch servers and lighten up our breakfast.

At night, the 'Animacion Excellente' continues, Joel is the MC and he will get the most reserved and tired crowd on their feet and shouting, a testimony of how good he is. We will come back again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
6  Thank Andre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your holidays and for taking the time to post your review. The fact that you totally enjoyed your holidays makes us more than happy.
All your comments will be shared with our management and all people whom you highlighted will be informed.

We try to provide every single guest memorable and unique vacations, so the beauty of our nature and animals is an important part of the experience of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your next visit.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just came back from Iberostar Quetzal (Nov 5th to Nov 12th). We had an absolutely wonderful vacation. My boyfriend and I love animals, and there were always plenty at the resort, running around or showing up on our balcony. Firstly, Iberostar Quetzal and Iberostar Tucan are really the same resort, just two different sections. The beach, restaurants, staff, and entertainment are all shared.

Pros: The beach is incredible. The water temperature must have been 30 degrees Celsius! I don't enjoy getting in cold water, but this was wonderful, even in the evening after a few hours of volleyball on the beach, jumping in the water at 5pm was heavenly!!! I would say this is the best beach that I've been at, at an all-inclusive resort. If salty water is not your thing, the pool is equally amazing! Big enough to swim at and never over-crowded. I really liked that the "adult pool" with the swim up bar was separate. Also, very pretty with a cute little waterfall and stools in the water.

The tennis courts were well taken care of and always free! Maybe early November is still a bit off season, but we love playing tennis and were lucky enough to have a few hours of tennis in the evening with well lit courts all to ourselves!

The Japanese restaurant and the Steakhouse were great! The Japanese restaurant is teppanyaki style so you get a whole show with the experience. Surprisingly the Italian and Mexican one were a bit of a miss. I would expect the Mexican restaurant to be up to par since we were in Mexico after all!!!

Cons: Do not expect your mini-fridge to be stocked with Coronas. I really wished it was. I think that would definitely be a huge plus in my book!

Sadly, we could not find freshly squeezed juice anywhere on the resort. Most resorts have some on the beach, where they make it right in front of you.

Also, it would be great if windsurfing was available as advertised, but every time we asked it was "in repair" ... It seems that they would prefer to sell scuba diving or snorkeling packages instead. The scuba diving people are quite pushy. No thanks. I've done it before, stop asking me every single day!

Overall great vacation! The resort staff work very hard. You can lie down on the beach, have drinks brought to you every 10 minutes without a care in the world. We never had to wait long at the restaurants, bars, or beach area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ThatSimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff and Management, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal as your holiday destination!

We are so glad to read that you rate our beautiful Caribbean beach as the best beach that you have been at an all-inclusive resort! Furthermore your nice words about our facilities, service and restaurant Steakhouse as well as the Japanese restaurant make us very proud.

However, we are sorry to read that our Mexican and Italian restaurants could not meet your expectations. Your comment regarding of our juice will be forwarded it to our F&B manager for his consideration.

We hope you can visit us again soon; we look forward to welcome all of you back.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our 2nd stay fabulous customer service, food, accommodation and overall experience. We had a fab ocean view room on the beach near all the day time activities and pool etc.

Weather was mixed raining quite a few days apparently from tropical storm sonia. The only shortfall was the lack of enough umbrellas to go round with some rooms being allocated more than one so had to improvise when visiting main restaurant as all rooms are dotted around forest feel grounds.

Recommend a visit if you are looking for an easy going relaxing holiday with all water sports and Puerto del Carmen on your doorstep.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Buttee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Buttee,

Thank you so much for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal during your last holidays. We appreciate the time which you have taken in order to create this review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and that enjoyed our service, facilities and food.

On the other hand, we are sorry to read that you did not experience the best weather conditions and that you were missing umbrellas. We provide each room with one umbrella. However, we will forward your comment to our Management and Housekeeping department in order to double check and take this into consideration.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We went at that hotel for the beach and we were very pleased with it. The sand is white and very fine. TWe went at that hotel for the beach and we were very pleased with it. The sand is white and very fine. The beach run for miles. The water color just unbelievable. The food tend to be a bit overcook but not way overcook. The personnel very friendly and helpful when needed.

The only flaw in that trip was the airline. We went with Sunwing. Getting there went fine. We bought excursions from them. The first was to go to coral reef. An hour ride from the hotel. The back bench as no bench... Only the cloth but nothing to hold it. Very uncomfortable. We did not made any complaint for that trip, maybe we should have. The next one was at Riu Secreto, the secret river. Worth while seeing. Well organized, very friendly guide. We loved it. But, on the way there, we waited 30 minutes in front of a shopping mall for nothing, in a van with no a-c. When we got back from the river, every other hotel had there bus waiting except ours. We were 4 waiting in the wood at night time in a foreign country... An employe waited with us and made a few calls for 40 minutes. Then he decide to drive us with the van of the site witch ad no plate for the road ( it was used only in the drive in the woods ). My girl friend got bugs bites and we were stressed waiting at night time in the woods.

The next morning, we went to see Sunwing employe for a refund. She made a call to her boss and then told us that we had the excursion so no point for refund. When I insisted she said that I have to fill a complaint form and she would give it to her boss and would come with an answer the next morning. The next morning an other employe told us that they are not responsible, they are not the one making reservation for transportation. We paid more money to have service from someone we tough we could trust. It is cheaper to by those excursions from the hotel or even better, go to 5th avenue in Playa del Carmel ( 5 minutes drive ). There are many excursions sellers and I think the price is even better.

While we were waiting for her to reach her boss there were 4 persons that came in an asked for the bus for the airport. They were waitings for 1h30 and were scared of missing the plane. She made some more calls and told them to get cab ( a 1h drive ). 2 young men had no money and the Sunwing employe could not do anything to help them. Luckily for them, a couple offer hem a ride in there taxi.He water color just unbeleavable

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luc-Nath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Luc-Nath2,

Thank you for your favorable comments according your recent stay at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We are so happy to know that you had a good time at the resort.
Your nice words about our beach and our friendly and helpful team make us proud.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your girlfriend back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had an excellent time at the Quetzal / Tucan resort, ate and drank way too much but a little indulgence can be a good thing. Pool and beach area were beautiful, with large pool complex with something for everyone (sports pool, kiddie pool, bar pool, etc.) We stayed on Tucan side on third floor with balcony facing the interior jungle, and saw monkeys pretty much every morning (they prefer grapes and bananas - feeding is prohibited but everyone seems to do it). Wifi in the rooms is now available for a premium - that needs to be included. I walked to beach corner near Sandos and used their wifi periodically, why should theirs be free and Iberostar charge dearly? Of course the buffets get someone repetitive, but that should be expected. Just the availability of fruits and fruit juices makes it special. Went to three ala cartes; Japanese, Mexican and Steakhouse, probably like the Mexican the best. Japanese hibachi-style is most entertaining. Mauricio and the rest of animation team are great. I will remember Mauricio's "Where is the energies?" for a long time, and of course he has boundless "energies". Great fun.

Room Tip: We choose halfway between lobbies and beach, the only consideration is the noise from the live shows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zibhammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Zibhammad,

Thank you for your heartwarming review of the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We are extremely proud to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

We appreciate the kind comments you have made of our staff, food and our fauna. Reviews such as yours remind us that our guests do observe the extra effort we make to ensure the comfort of our guests.

Our team looks forward to serving you again and hope that you will not hesitate to return.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Always enjoy this property! The staff is always friendly and willing to help and entertain!
Food is great, beach is clean. The only negative is that they need door closers. Early risers wake everyone else up with the slamming doors.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank Mojo721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing again Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal as your holiday destination. We are happy to know that you had a fantastic time again during your stay.

Your recommendation about the door closer will be forwarded to our management in order to solve this problem. Thank you for this recommendation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your sixth visit to our resort.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
6,716 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,178 reviews
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#61 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,176 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £160 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing