We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #42 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Quebec
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

5th trip in Riviera Maya but 1st in Summer (from June 28th to July 5th).

Previous trips: Puerto Aventuras, Dreams Riviera Cancun, Barcelo Colonial, Iberostar Paraiso Lindo.

Iberostar Quetzal has the best beach that we have seen in Riviera Maya, beautiful sand with no rocks, sea with no rocks, days with waves, other days calm.

Main pool is great but most of it is 5 feet + deep which may be an issue for people around 5 feet tall. But a large enough section is 4 1/2 feet deep.

We preferred the pool in the morning, the water was very hot in the afternoon, we preferred the cool water of the sea.

We always found chairs both at the pool and at the beach. There was always dry towels available.

Service was good in restaurants, theater, lobby bar, ice cream, reception. We did not go often to the bars to get our drinks. Most of the time, waitress were providing good and quick service.

Rooms are small, not a lot of space to walk. Beds were comfortable. Air conditioning was working very well. Shower was large, well working, always with sufficient hot water. Two issues: We were 2 adults and one teenager, we had asked in advance for 2 double beds, we were told that no room was available. We got a portable bed installed. The 2nd issue was the TV. It had sound but no image, after 3 calls at the reception, and one complaint in person, we finally got another TV one day later. But we continue to have cable signal issues for the whole week, we cannot tell why, but we had to unplug and replug the TV many times per day to get the signal and TV image back ! We lived with this because in vacation, we prefer do other things than spending our time trying to solve problems. We were in building 21, 2nd floor, nice location, quiet, close to pool & beach, with partial view on the sea. Room was clean, mini bar was OK.

Food was OK at the main buffet and at other buffets for lunch. We went to Japanese, Italian and Steak restaurants for dinner. There were OK. Disappointing, appetizers and deserts are not a la carte, they are the same as at the buffet. Show given by Japanese cook was very good, but the food was very salty with too much soya sauce in everything.

Drinks were OK.

Ice cream bar on the beach was great. It was great to see all these animals.

WiFi should be free in the lobby.

3 shows were good but 4 others were bad.

We brought insect repellent but never had to use it.

Had no issues with bugs, none in beds and none at the beach.

In order to play pool, you need to reserve a time, and you need to walk from the theater to the reception to get and return the balls and sticks, this is a 5 minute walk, but worst, you may have to wait 15 minutes at the reception before to get served. There must be a better way.

Playing ping-pong near the pool was much easier.

We were asked about 15 times if we wanted to try free scuba diving in the pool, sometimes by the same persons, insisting too much, repeating the same good reasons to try it even though, we were not interested.

Had rain one day, morning and lunch, and one night, the rest of the time, it was very beautiful sunny weather.

Many activities and entertainment.

Overall, we would return. Much more + than -

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lematousth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for sharing your observations and suggestions regarding your stay at our resort.

We highly value your comments regarding our paradisiacal beach and huge pool area with plenty of sun beds. Additionally, we appreciate your praise of the excellent service at our restaurants, theater, lobby bar, ice cream spot, reception and also to our great waitresses at the beach and pool area. We are also very happy to know that you had a comfortable stay and that our cleanliness and amenities satisfied you.

On the other hand, we are sorry that we could not fulfill your room request Our Front Desk Manager does his best to accommodate, however, these requests are upon availability during check-in. We are sorry to read about the television issues. This will be reviewed with our Maintenance Department in order to improve our response time and efficiency, which was not up to our standards on this occasion.

Regarding our cuisine, we offer our apologies if we were not able to exceed your expectations with the Japanese restaurant and our appetizers and desserts. Your feedback will be sent to our Executive Chef to take into account.

In relation to the night shows offered by our entertainment team we will make sure that our Entertainment Manager receives your comments, and also regarding the equipment to play pool or ping-pong.

Last but not least, we apologize for any annoyance from the Diving Center staff and we will make sure they receive your comments so that this does not happen again.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the future at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,684
    1,330
    329
    106
    56
See reviews for
1,838
1,598
58
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I will make this quick and easy.

Good things:
Awesome resort. Tons of animals. Not too big. Great restaurants. Great staff. Beach is nice and big and NO GREASY SALES GUYS! Lobby bars have nice amount of guests so its fun but not too busy. Good for kids...better for adults and young adults (My group was 22-23 year olds and we had a blast.) Overall an amazing week! Pool bar is separate from main pool...but no kids allowed. Very cool design allows for privacy or for social interactions!

Bad things...
Japanese restaurant was waaay too hot and we waited waay to long for food. Bought cigars...told they were $8 usd charged to the room. In actuality they were $80 usd. Some language barriers but that was expected. And last but not least... NO CLOCKS IN THE ROOMS!!! Weird, but still had an amazing time there. Definitely going back next time in in Mexico.

Room Tip: Building 28 is close to lobby bar and buffet, but far from beach and pools. Pick the Quetzal side i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for your vacation experience in Mexico.

We highly value your comments regarding our amazing wildlife and paradisiacal beach.
In regards to our gastronomy, our Executive Chef will be very happy to know that you liked our buffets and a la carte restaurants. Additionally, it is great to know that you had amazing moments at our lobby bars and the pool bar.

On the other hand, we offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience at the Japanese restaurant. Your comments will be forwarded to the Food & Beverage Manager and Chef. We are sorry that we do not have clocks in the rooms. Alternatively, our guests are able to call the operator by dialing 0 to get information about the time or to program a wakeup call.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for another lovely holiday experience.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned form 2 weeks in resort, after a most enjoyable holiday at this hotel.
We use Tripadvisor as a filter to selecting our holiday hotels, and again it proved most helpful in making a correct decision.
Noisy young (American) trainee drinkers aside, the jungle-like setting is pleasant, and proximity to various birds and animals an interesting and unusual experience. All staff, particularly in bars and restaurants, were smiling, helpful and efficient, rooms clean and well serviced, albeit not 'new'.
Enjoyed entertainment in evening, poolside a little manic, but plenty of pool and beach space to chill out. Weather, red hot, use plenty of high factor and don't dwell in the sun would be some small advice. Free WiFi and an air conditioned public area would be an improvement, but not in themselves barriers to enjoyment. Overall a good holiday experience, one which we will repeat in the future, and probably with family once the grandchildren are older. Best wishes to Guadaloupe on the forthcoming birth of her baby daughter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Glynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for a sunny holiday in the beautiful Riviera Maya.

We value your kind comments regarding our tropical jungle and its fauna. Our resort provides a unique experience to our guests and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you for your praise of our entertainment team “Star Friends” and their amazing night shows performance. Furthermore, we appreciate your gentle words about our staff, especially bar and restaurants' staff. We will make sure that Guadalupe receives your best wishes.

Last but not least, we kindly inform you that thanks to our guests suggestions our hotel has introduced Wi Fi signal in all areas of the resort and different packages have been created to make it affordable for our guests. We will forward your suggestion to our Management.
It would be a great pleasure to host you and your family for a second visit at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was mine and my boyfriends first tip to Mexico and this hotel and holiday has made us want to return. We absolutely loved the hotel and the location, Playacar is a great resort with fifth avenue only a 5minute and about a £3 taxi ride away. The hotel is on the ocean with beautiful white sand and with a mini jungle in the middle of the hotel you get see all sorts of wildlife on your way to the beach, pool and dinner. We regularly saw peacocks, lizards, swans, flamingos turtles and even a monkey. The hotel is very clean and the outside areas are very well maintained. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The food was good with the main restaurant serving a wide range of food. There are a la carte restaurants which you can book to go to to be honest we would only recommend the steak and japanese ones. The others were not up to much. If you are wanting to go on any trips and dont want to pay what thomas cook charge (which is excessive) then go out of the hotel and turn right and head towards starbucks there is a hut with a great guy whos name escapes me who does a great deal on trips. Me and my boyfriend booked to swim with dolphins and he did it for $50 cheaper than thomas cook was charging and it was amazing! I wouldnt hesitate to go back great holiday!

Room Tip: if you want to be near the pool and the ocean then you need to ask for one of the lower numbered blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your observations and suggestions regarding your stay at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. We are honored to have welcomed you and your boyfriend on your first visit to Mexico.
We are very pleased with your kind remarks on our paradisiacal beach, tropical jungle and its variety of wildlife, and we thank you for highlighting our cleanliness and constant maintenance carried out. Our amazing staff do their best to offer the quality service that characterizes our resorts and hotels worldwide.

Regarding our cuisine, we are very happy to know that you delighted yourself with our great selection of food at the buffets and also at our Steak House and Japanese restaurant.
We are sorry to read that the other a la carte restaurants were not able to meet your expectations. Our Executive Chef and his team of cooks are in constant search for new recipes and flavors to please the different palates of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for your second visit to Mexico at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Excellent stay, the beach and pools were gorgeous and the food was lovely with a good selection to choose from. The staff could not do enough for you and the rooms and grounds were well kept and the wildlife at the hotel was a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted with your review, thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for your vacation at the beautiful Riviera Maya.
We value your praise of our culinary offerings, amazing pool, beach area, wonderful flora & fauna, and most importantly, our exceptional staff.
Once again, thank you for your great review and we hope to have another opportunity to host you again at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.


Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our fifth vacation to Playacar, but first time to stay at an Iberostar. We absolutely loved it!! It’s a beautiful resort, with good food, great service, lots of fun things to do within the resort and around the Playa del Carmen area. I can now say that the Iberostar Quetzal has moved to the top of our list as favorite all-inclusive resort in Playacar.

More specific info and comments that I have to share about this resort:

QUETZAL vs. TUCAN: for some reason it is set up as two resorts….. the Quetzal rooms are on one side of the resort; the Tucan rooms on the other side are identical. Most of the shared amenities (pool, theatre, etc.) are in the middle. A few of the amenities are located on one side or the other, for example the Mascara night club is on the Quetzal side, and the Fitness Center is on the Tucan side, but they are used by all guests. If you were asking “which side should I choose”, my answer would be “it doesn’t matter; it’s really all the same resort”.

ROOMS: Our room was just fine. A/C worked great. Room contains a coffee maker (we didn’t use), and the mini-fridge was restocked every 2 days with bottled water, soft drinks, and beer. There is no clock or alarm clock in the room!! Instead you are supposed to request wake-up call service, but that always makes me a bit nervous, in particular on departure day. Fortunately I had brought my own travel alarm clock, and we also have alarms on our iPhones. We loved our balcony overlooking the “jungle”, and that the balcony was well-covered so that we could still enjoy it on a rainy day without getting wet. Only two things about the room we didn’t like: (1) bathroom contains sinks, toilet, and shower all in one room. This makes it difficult when you have 3 people trying to get showered and dressed for dinner at the same time. (2) Lack of storage space for personal belongings: there are NO drawers at all, only a closet and 4 shelves within the closet. Even the night stand between the two beds has no drawers. And the closet contained only 10 hangers to share among 3 people. Needless to say, we mostly lived out of our suitcases.

BEDS/ SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS: traveling with my husband and 15-year old daughter, we opted to take the 2 double bed configuration, because we weren’t sure if the built-in sofa bed that we saw in the photos would be big enough for our teenager. As it turns out, the sofa bed would have been OK for her to sleep in, as it’s about the same size as a standard sofa. But we already booked the 2 doubles, so we stayed with that. I thought the double beds would be similar to what we call “full size”, but they seem closer to “queen size”. My husband and I are both 6’ tall (1.8 meters), and fit comfortably in one bed. Beds were firm but still comfortable. Pillows are too firm.

INTERNET: the bad news is no free internet at all. The good news is that, if you purchase internet, you can connect anywhere in the entire resort (yes, even the pool area). The cost is per device, and ranges from $11 USD for one day to a package of 7 days for $40 USD.

FOOD: the food was very good. We didn’t try any of the restaurants because we were happy with the selection at the buffet. There is food available almost around the clock at various places within the resort. Surprisingly the buffet stays open to serve leftover dinner until around 4am (it was nice to grab a bite on the way back to our room, after staying late at Mascara night club).

NATURE/ WILDLIFE: the resort is built around what seems like a tropical rainforest and wildlife sanctuary. So much interesting wildlife…..turtles, flamingos, peacocks, monkeys, and many other little animals. Yes the monkeys do get noisy at times, and not the expected “eek-eek-eek”, it’s more like the roar of King Kong. Can’t believe the loud roar comes from such a little monkey, but they were only noisy for one day out of the entire week, and it was the same day the rain was blowing in.

MOSQUITOS: based on several other reviews, I was concerned there would be a mosquito problem at this resort because of the “jungle”. But I NEVER got bit during our entire week there. My husband said he got a few bites but only on our balcony after dark (mosquitoes always like him better than me anyway).

SMOKING: this resort does an excellent job of maintaining a smoke-free atmosphere, and at the same time having sufficient designated areas for smokers. Of course there is no smoking in any of the rooms, but the balcony is ok. Around the pool, there are various sections in which sand-filled clay pots are placed by the chairs to serve as ashtrays. The bar near reception allows smoking. The Theatre is non-smoking, but there is a separate covered structure alongside the theatre which is a smoking area.

LANGUAGE: all the events and shows are in English, with Spanish as secondary. We enjoyed meeting people from all over the world (many from European countries), and that we can keep in touch afterward thanks to Facebook.

ACTIVITES: we were given a resort Activities Schedule at check in, with a map on the back showing exactly where each activity takes place (if you need another copy, they are on display right next to the towel shack by the pool. I noticed they are available in 5 or 6 different languages). There is something going on almost every hour…….bike tour, aqua gym, darts, air rifle, horseshoes, beach volleyball, water polo, bingo, etc. We like to participate because it adds to the fun, and it’s a good way to meet other guests. A few activities each day are labeled as “tournaments”, and the winners are presented with a certificate at the theatre, just before the evening show. Speaking of the theatre, the evening shows are pretty good. I really enjoyed the pre-show, which involves guest participation.

POOL: The pool is beautiful and spacious, with several different sections of the main pool. There is plenty of seating around the pool, and the BEST chairs I’ve ever seen. The chairs are very sturdy and made of a nice mesh fabric that dries quickly and you don’t stick to the chairs. They adjust at the back, and also at the knee (I’ve never seen this before at a resort!) so they are super comfortable. Most of the chairs are shaded by little thatch covers with built-in side tables. Very nice!
Also there is a separate “sports” pool for water polo, water basketball. And an adult-only pool with swim-up bar is tucked away in a private area that’s like a little tropical paradise.

BICYCLES: the resort offers a free bike tour each day at 10am. I did not take this tour, but instead rented a bicycle from a place located just inside the gate of the Riu Tequila (a few hotels down the street). The cost is $5 USD for a half-day, and they provide a bicycle lock as well. A lovely bicycle path runs along the main drag of Playacar and all the way into the town of Playa del Carmen. There is a sidewalk/path on each side of the street – the narrow side is for pedestrians only and is marked “no bicycles”. The wider path on the other side of the street is marked for “bicycles”.

EXCURSIONS: I am pretty sure the Riviera Maya must have more selection of excursions than any other beach destination in the world. Anything you could want…..history, adventure, nature, water, nightlife. This trip we went to Xplor where we zip- lined through a ring of fire at night! Also we scuba dived in a cenote at Dos Ojos.

SCUBA: the on-site Dive shop is operated by Dressel Divers. They offer a free scuba lesson in the pool each day, also for a cost there is a Discovery Dive for anyone who is not certified but wants to try an ocean dive. We are already certified, and visited the dive shop to get information about a Cenotes dive. The price quoted seemed high, so we walked over to Scuba Caribe who we have used before (located right next door on the beach at the Riu Yucatan). We found the price of Scuba Caribe was about 25% less than Dressel, and also more choices of dive dates and times.

NIGHT CLUB/ DISCO: this is very important to us because we love to dance every night when we’re on vacation. We won’t even consider staying at a resort which has no nightclub/disco….it is a requirement. Mascara is located on the Quetzal side near the front of the resort. It is open from 11pm to 3am. During our week there, there were 4 nights with a good crowd and good music, and the other 3 nights it was dead and the DJ played techno all night.

AIRPORT / TRANSFERS: we used USA Transfers for a total cost of $109 round trip (for 3 people). This is our second time using USA transfers (based on a tip from another Tripadvisor review). The price is good compared to other options at Cancun airport, also we enjoy the courteous drivers, very nice and clean vehicles, and they are super-reliable. I made the reservation online, and then pay the driver in cash upon arrival.

I would not hesitate to recommend this resort for familes, couples, or singles. We will certainly visit this resort again. In fact, I just booked our return trip for November.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Texas-Travelers-777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your family holiday and for your comments and suggestions regarding your stay at our resort.

We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful time at our resort and it is a honor for us to be on the top of your list as a favorite all-inclusive resort.

Thank you for your kind words about our room and its amenities. Also, we are glad to know that you felt your bed was comfortable, and that you enjoyed our jungle, pool area and our new sun beds.

Regarding our food selection, our Executive Chef will be very pleased to know that you enjoyed our buffets during your stay.

In regards to our activities our Entertainment Manager will be very excited to know that you engaged in some of their activities. Our entertainment team “Star Friends” do an outstanding job offering innumerous activities throughout the day and fun night shows.

On the other hand, we are sorry to read that you did not like our bathroom and that you felt there was lack of storage for your belongings. Our guests can always ask our Housekeepers or Public Relations for more hangers or change the pillows to softer ones.

We are very happy to know that you are coming back in November and we are looking forward to providing another memorable family vacation at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have been to Mexico 5 times and have found this the best hotel. The location is perfect, the beach gorgeous and the jungle setting a bonus with monkeys to entertain you whilst walking to the beach or the lobby. What makes this hotel so special is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and they all work so hard and never stop smiling. A special mention to Mauricio, Aria, and Adriana who are so enthusiastic that you just can't help but to join in with the activitie-s and they work soooo hard. Michaela works in the hotel lobby bar and we always loved chatting to her. All the staff on the beach and at the bars and restaurants never keep you waiting and work tirelessly in the heat still smiling. Iberostar management these staff are a credit to you!
The only negative is that there is no free wifi but perhaps this is why we were so relaxed!!
Stay at the Quetzal/Tucan ....you will love it!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor. We stayed near to the reception which is great if you want to be near to the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation in Playa del Carmen.

We are very grateful to know that you found our resort the best for you after visiting Mexico for so many years.

Thank you for your gentle words about our privileged location, paradisiacal beach, great tropical jungle and amazing wildlife.

We highly value your comments about our exceptional staff, especially our entertainment staff Mauricio, Aria, Adriana and Michaela from the lobby bar. Additionally, we would like to thank you for your praise of our staff at the beach and restaurants. Our staff truly provides the high standard of service that features our resort and hotels worldwide and we are very proud to know that once more, our staff exceeded our guests’ expectations.

Once again, we thank you for your great review and it would be a privilege for us to host you and your family back at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#80 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#62 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,114 reviews
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#26 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Property: Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing