We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A SUPERB HOTEL”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #19 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A SUPERB HOTEL”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This Hotel exceeded all our expectations on our first visit to Mexico. Location on a beautiful white sandy beach literally a few minutes walk from the buzzing 5th Avenue . Our 2 weeks here were faultless - the staff here are so friendly whatever their role and will do anything to make your stay a success . The food is the best we have had in any all inclusive hotel , the room was spotless and spacious with balcony overlooking the pool and beach. We were given 2500 dollar resort credit which we used towards trips,spa treatments, chefs dinner and romantic meal and even wine upgrades. A wide mix of nationalities makes for a great atmosphere with a wide range of activities to choose from if you wish, always got 4 sunbeds and never really had to queue for anything. Well done Playacar Palace !!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin1967ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear martin1967ad

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor. All the Playacar Family appreciate your comments

Hope to see you soon

Hasta Pronto!

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,229
    803
    214
    67
    41
See reviews for
1,538
1,857
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was our 2nd stay, and even better than the 1st. The food was fantastic! The staff warm and welcoming! The room was comfy and relaxing! Cant even begin to tell you what a wonderful 8 day stay we had! Cant wait to go back!! Each time it gets better an better!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Tess
a
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We consider all you family like part of ours and we always pamper our family. Next time you came we will have our new Spa and a brand new remodel Oriental Restaurants…

See you soon

Hasta Pronto!

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was a return visit to this resort, and was pleased to see the expansive beach and pool area!!
As usual the staff was friendly, accommodating and provided excellent service. We had a delightful cocktail party with canapes on the beach, followed by a buffet dinner in the ballroom! Group services are a specialty of the Palace Resorts, and this was no exception!! Always enjoy the expansive and delicious 24 hour room service menu!!! Didn't have time to take in the shopping and sights of 5th Avenue, but will certainly return for a longer stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Beverly

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Hope to see you soon and for a longer stay!!!

Hasta Pronto!

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

While I'm sure this is a lovely resort...I have had an impossible time receiving a refund from this place. I made reservations to attend a wedding here that ended up being moved to St. Thomas. I gave my notice well ahead of the 45 days they asked for a cancellation. I was provided with an email to communicate this cancellation. It was a few days before anyone responded. Then they said, ok, it will be about 6-8 weeks for you to receive your refund becuase it is international. After those weeks passed & still did not receive a refund to my credit card, I inquired again. We can't refund your credit card because its been too long. (?) but if you send us your banking information, via a non-secure email, we are happy to refund your bank. No, I'm not sending all my banking account information to you in an email. My friend whose wedding it was received a check 7 weeks after she cancelled. Can you send me a check? Yes, I've checked with my credit manager we can send you a check. I waited 7 weeks to receive this check & nothing! They asked again for me to send my bank account information via email. Again I forwarded the email in which they promised to send a check, which was June 18. Its now August 9 & I'm still out $800! Shame on you Hector Ruben Klassen Villa, Michelle Farinas, Dora Abril Reyes Munoz, Pablo Augusto Keb Canche, Maria del Carmen Ruiz...None of these people have been able to resolve this issue in a timely manner & will hear from me from this day forward EVERYDAY until this is dealt with.

So if you are positive in every way you're going great....if not be forewarned you will have to fight tooth & nail to receive your refund!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank tica1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Tica

I appreciate your comment, from Playacar Palace we share your position and we will help you in every way. We are in contact by e-mail and I already send you some promising good news.

Unfortunately, this complex administrative situation is a circumstances we didn’t know anything about it. The goal of all the staff and the Playacar Palace Family is to create unforgettable moments with their best effort day by day and we wont save effort to do it.

We will keep in touch to get an END together really soon.

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.




David Rubio

Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is our 2nd time back to Playacar Palace and we love it! The first time we stayed, there was an issue with our room (no balcony) so we moved to another with only a partial ocean view. After indicating this on their feedback survey, they made sure that our stay this time was top notch. The room was excellent as well as the service that they provided. We enjoyed all of the activities like the tours, golf, spa and Xcaret as well as a clean beach and pool. The only activity that my son and his friend could have done without is the Wet and Wild since there was only 4 slides and you are there for almost the whole day. The spa services are wonderful and they are in the process of building a spa on the premises. Currently, you need to take a 10 minute shuttle for the Golf and Spa services. We love the location of Playacar Palace since the ferry is right there if you want to take a trip to Cozumel and have dinner at the Cozumel Palace. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation this year and plan to return again.

Room Tip: There are some corner rooms that do not have a balcony so make sure you ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmesce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel has beautiful rooms and the hotel staff are the ultimate best! The Italian Restaurant was also wonderful. the breakfast buffet was just fine. we were there for my sons destination wedding. They took care of everything and it was first class event. Though it was especially a very hot day

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ARMroz1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you on behalf of our entire team for the delicate comment you have posted on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that your visit has given you full satisfaction and hope to see you again in our beautiful hotel.

Hasta Pronto

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We just stayed at this resort for one week with our two boys 11 and 14 years old. There were many families with young children and some couples. However there is not much to do for the younger ones. The pool is small and not very deep ( for us adults)maybe 3 -3 1/2 feet. The pool is not refreshing at all because the water must be at 100degrees !!! What is nice is that the animators around the pool area do not hound you which is a major +++ for those who don't like to participate. The scenery is absolutely stunning because everything faces their gorgeous beach. And gorgeous it truly is !!! The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. The service at this resort is the best I have ever had so far . The waiters and waitresses are always around asking you what they can serve you and your space is always spotless once your done. A1 service throughout this very intimate resort . I was a little disappointed in the fact that there really was no theater where you can go in and watch a show at night however there so called nightly entertainment would be held on the beach which was a nice experience. If you are looking for a resort with a fabulous beach, fabulous service, and some peace and quiet to relax and unwind then this is your place !!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank El M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear El M

Thank you for your time and your review, all the family Playacar appreciate your comments about our service. We are really working hard to create a new night activities program for all our guest to complete our hotel offer.

We really hope to see you back in a near future

Please, feel free to contact me next time you came...

Hasta pronto!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,726 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
12.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing