We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel amazing service!”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #27 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, service is amazing. Great actovities such as volleybal, bingo amd wateraerobics. however the coffee is not great. Furthermore resort credits are not mentioned with what you can get, for example you can get room upgrades, massages, excursions, golf and lots more! However the beds in the regular rooms are quite small for two adults yet upgraded room beds are much bigger! Overall the hotel is great with amazing service!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THEHOTELGURU98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear GuruHotels

Many thanks for sharing this glowing review and a big thank for your excellent recommendation. It is truly such a pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Your kind comments have been relayed to all team members mentioned and to the entire Playacar Family. We look forward to welcoming you back to Playacar Palace in the near future!

Kind Regards,

D. Rubio
Playaca Palace G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,633 - 2,639 of 4,632 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

My family stayed at the resort the last week in March during our Spring Break. It was absolutely beautiful and the service first rate. I would absolutely recommend this resort if you're looking for a truly relaxing smaller resort experience. If I vacation in Mexico again, I would definitely return here. The staff is so accommodating and professional - we all especially loved Marina. She went out of her way to make the week special for us. There were daily poolside activities, very low key. We loved water aerobics (thanks Victor and Cesar!), bingo, and the salsa dancing. My kids appreciated the ping pong and giant Jenga set, and just being able to toss a ball in the pool together. The gym is small, but I appreciated the yoga mats and pilates ball for stretching every morning in the meditation garden.

We ate at the Cafe del Mer buffet and the Italian restaurant each night and stayed away from the Asian thanks to reviews on this site. My kids liked the buffet because of the large selection and self-service (quick in/out). The adults liked the italian restaurant best. Try the beef tenderloin and the bananas foster for a top notch meal.

We used resort credits for wine upgrades, the romantic dinner on the beach, the chef's dinner, and a couples massage. We enjoyed all and didn't mind paying the 11% tax - but appreciated tripadvisor reviewers letting us know about that cost in advance. We took 3 trips during our visit: Extreme snorkeling with Aventuras Mayas, a day at Moon Palace in Cancun, a day at Cozumel Palace. All were very convenient from the resort. Loved the snorkeling. The visits to the other resorts made us appreciate Playacar Palace even more. Cozumel was worth the visit for the ferry ride and the snorkeling right in back of the hotel. We wished we had skipped Moon Palace - huge, crowded, noisy and it was a bit chilly that day as well - it felt like a spring break nightmare.

As mentioned in other reviews, the location of Playacar was wonderful. We only took an early morning walk down 5th avenue, but if you like getting off the resort for shopping, eating or drinking, it couldn't have been more convenient. The ferry to Cozumel was right next door. The beach was perfect and you could walk for a mile with wonderful views of both the ocean and other resorts.

I agree with some other reviewers that the rooms could use some updating, but everything was clean and very comfortable. We had an ocean view and were able to watch two of the evening shows right from our window.

We did sit through the Palace Elite sales presentation which was painful, but got $250 off our snorkeling tour ($50pp in our party).

Thank you to all the staff at the Playacar Palace.

Room Tip: We were in two different rooms during our stay and both were quiet - 1 beachfront, 1 beach and resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Gretchen,

Thank you for your comment son TRIPADVISOR, Marina anda ll of us are very happy about our holidays.

I feel specially proud that you enjoyed the meditation garden, was my special project and feels really good know that our guests like it and use it.

Please, remember that Playacar will always be your warm home away from home, and feel free to contact me for questions or requests at your next visit

Hsta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I picked this hotel because of the location, right on the beach and within walking distance of shopping on 5 th Ave. We flew with Air transat and when we arrived in Cancun we were greeted by an Airtransat rep. He had to scramble to find a shuttle for us to take us to our hotel. On route the shuttle driver asked us if we were going to pay him for the ride. We said no it was all included.
Once we arrived we were welcomed by the staff, did not have to wait. It was around 4:30p.m.
I had my travel agent email and ask for an ocean view upgrade using my $1500 hotel room credits. They said on Monday one would be available. We had a partial ocean view which we decided to stay in as it was really nice and were able to get the afternoon sun whilst lounging on our balcony.
We went down for a buffet supper, which was quite nice. But the best meals we had were in the Italian restaurant, which you do not have to make a reservation for. Domingo was our waiter both times and he was amazing. We used some of our credits for the romantic dinner on the beach, that was really nice, food was good. Another time we had the Chef prepared meal with our credits. That was really fun, food was good too. We did not go to the Japanes restaurant, should have though. The staff were amazing. The beach was fantastic, the pool area was very nice. Very attentive staff supplying us with any drink we wanted. We don't drink alcohol, so whatever else we wanted. Make sure you take a trip Xcaret and stay for the show in the evening. A full day. We did get to talk to one of the reps about membership. They said it would be half an hour but was definately longer. We got what we thought was a good deal on a ,"promotion", once you put the deposit down, you can't get it back, so make sure you want to be a member. We decided to keep the membership and are excited to go back and enjoy another week there, or possible try one of the other palace hotels. I wanted to stay longer. Loved it.

Room Tip: Our partial ocean view was 449. Not a bad room, they were working outside a little farther along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LIDLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear LIDLethbridge

I want to thank you for your kind words on TRIPADVISOR and in person. Was an honor to have you and your entire family at Playacar Palace, your warm home away from home.

Domingo, Massimilino, myself and all the Playacar Family members are waiting for your next visit, and you know you can contact me for questions or request for your next visit as you did it before.

Our best wishes for you and your family from Mexico

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We just spent a wonderful two weeks at the Playacar Palace.

One evening on our way to dinner we noticed staff tidying the chairs on the beach. One of the crew was down on all fours looking to see that the beach umbrellas were aligned in perfectly straight lines. A small thing, perhaps, but it confirmed for us the care and attention to detail of the staff at the Playacar Palace.

We stayed at the Moon Palace last year but overall we preferred the more intimate size and the better beach at the Playacar.

Some of our favorite moments from our vacation included:

Playing in the waves. The beach is wide and sandy with a good swimming area. It is a highly walkable beach and ths became part of our daily routine.

The wonderful beverage service on the beach by the always smiling Perla and Nora who always remembered our favorites and commonly had one in hand shortly after we arrived.

Sushi and Teppanyaki at the Asian restaurant. Victor was a superb waiter and Sergio the head waiter made sure that his guests enjoyed impeccable service.

Mayan coffee and bananas Foster prepared tableside by Pedro in the Italian restaurant.

Couples massages by Bernice and Dayana in the spa. Pure bliss.

The varied food at the main buffet restaurant. It would be a challenge to try one of everything, even in a two week stay. Impressive for a smaler scale resort. Excellent, efficient and smiling service here as well. Israel and Cesario stood out for us but every single server we encountered was professional and committed to delivering top notch service.

The commitment of the Playacar staff to customer service is obvious at every turn. On one of our first days a guest services representative actually visited us on the beach to see whether we had any concerns. We are members and when I mentioned that there was a mismatch between the number of members and spots allotted to them on the beach she set about remedying the issue.

A couple of things could use some tweaking. First of all, it would be wonderful to see management address the issue of the towel game. I realize this is in full swing in many resorts. It works like this: One person from a group is delegated to reserve chairs on the beach or poolside for a number of guests. They place a towel, a flip flop, or a t-shirt on multiple chairs early in the morning. Very early. The bottom line is this: you snooze, you lose. Often many of the individuals for whom the chairs are reserved do not arrive for many hours. We knew of chairs reserved for people who were actually away from the resort for much of for the day. We also saw a number of large families who "towelled" large numbers of chairs at both the beach and the pool. Ideally, guests should be more considerate but perhaps management could work on a solution so everyone can enjoy a spot when they need it without having to get up at daybreak.

We did go on the trip to Tulum organized by the hotel. We were glad that it was an early morning start which got us to Tulum before the crowds and the heat. There was a stop at a Mayan market that could have done without. Our guide gave us a brief rundown on Mayan culture but did not give us as much detail on the archaeologic site at Tulum as other guides. We would have liked a bit more information and less focus on the shopping end of things.

As an FYI there are resort credits but the hotel is now required to charge 11% tax on these that you must pay for. Since the prices of the services are high, the cost of the tax can be considerable.

It was an excellent two weeks and we are looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BettyB3928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Betty

I want to thank you for your review on TRIPADVISOR. The details are the most important in our business and they make the difference. All of us know that and we work hard to control everything, looking for perfection.

I also appreciate your preference with Palace Resorts, Moon Palace and Playacar Palace are the two last resorts I managed having and special feeling about both.

Vistor, Cesareo, Israel, David, probably the person you saw checking the umbrellas to be aligned, and all the Playacar Family members are waiting for your next visit, and you know you can contact me for questions or request for your next visit as you did it before.

Our best wishes for you and your family from Mexico to Halifax

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Just returned from a great stay at the Playacar Palace in Playa del Carmen. Met very nice people staying there (not always the case). The staff was excellent and always looking to get you another drink, carry your food, help with whatever you needed. Shows/activities every night were entertaining (if you wished to participate).

We were able to take advantage of a good portion of the credits. Gustavo and Edwin (along with the other Guest Services support) are wonderful and helpful in getting you signed up, even when dealing with irritating guests (I overheard a few and they always dealt with them politely).

The spa was just renovated and is top notch, including the services. That is worth using the $300 credits you are alotted. If you're not into it, at least take a tour. It's beautiful.

The Italian and Japanese restaurants are very good. Lots of variety at the buffet. The bar pizzas at the pool are amazing....

One irritation was that people do go down and put towels on lounge chairs to reserve them early in the morning (i.e. before 7am if you want to get down there that early). There were enough to go around when including those on the beach, but hate having to sit somewhere when only going down for an hour or two and seeing chairs not used. Very inconsiderate, but it's the same all over.

Dolphin Discovery was a nice activity as was the swimming with Stingrays over in Cozumel. One thing we liked was being able to take the ferry over to their sister hotel there and use their facilities and go snorkeling in front of the pool. Nothing to see in Playa, but enough to be interesting over there in Cozumel.

If you are into diving, the Cenotes are a must. WOW!

Anyway, I have traveled a lot, been around the world and this is the first time I felt compelled to write a review for a hotel. We will look to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Robert W,

Thank you for your comment son TRIPADVISOR, and for taking the time to write your very first review for us, we feel honour.

I will recommend you some awesome cenotes for diving next visit, maybe we can go together!

Please, remember that Playacar will always be your warm home away from home, and feel free to contact me for questions or requests at your next visit

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at the Playacar Palace from March 7-17. Our transfers from the Cancun airport were provided by the hotel and were efficient and quick. At registration they did not have the room we requested (we love room 200) but we were given one just as roomy and nice. We have been to the Playacar Palace 5 times and have never had a bad room. Most all of the rooms look out over the beach and have an expansive view of the water. We did not waste any time getting to the beach. The beach is one of the best I've ever encountered. If you are a beach bum this resort is perfect for you. We never have had a problem getting a lounger and it feels uncrowded. The beach service by Perla is excellent. We lived, ate and drank at the beach most days. We did take the ADO bus to Cancun one morning and then a taxi to the ferry and the ferry to Isla Mujeres. This was easy to do. We rented golf carts at El Sol on Isla Mujeres and spent the day touring the island. We stopped at the Isla Mujeres Palace for lunch and a swim in the pool. Another day we took the ferry located near Playacar Palace over to Cozumel. We walked down to the Cozumel Palace and spent the day at pool. They have snorkeling right off their pool area. Every night we had a wonderful meal at one of the restaurants or at the buffet. After dinner we would walk about a block to 5th Ave. We strolled and shopped on 5th. There is also entertainment at the resort each evening. With the quality of the facility, the beach, the employees, the food, and the location, you will not be disappointed choosing this resort for your vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vlbisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Vlbisme,

Thank you for your comment son TRIPADVISOR.

Please, remember that Playacar will always be your warm home away from home, and feel free to contact me for questions or requests at your next visit

Our best wishes to Springfield

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Beautiful resort, amazing rooms which were kept spotless throughout the week, beautiful beach and pool area, 5-star service!! However, we bought the "all inclusive" and the food was 2 star at its best (and best was the morning buffet). The wine which came with the "all inclusive" was not drinkable (if you like wine). You could buy a bottle of Kendall Jackson for a $50 additional charge...really?? One of the bell-hops went out on the local ecomomy and bought me a couple bottles of Wente for about $15 each...that is why the service was amazing! The food at the "Chefs Plate" was top notch...however, that was an $80 additional fee. So, if you are a "foodie" and like wine and non-watered down margaritas, I would skip the "all inclusive" and eat on the economy (which included a lot of good Mexican food for a reasonable price) and/or pay for the food at the Chef's Plate...!!! The golf course that the resort is associated with was fantastic...$50 for 18 holes, cart and all you can eat and drink on the course. They made food to order and brought it out to you...course was in great shape and very little waiting! All in all, wonderful vacation spot for a reasonable price!

Room Tip: If you pay extra, you can get an amazing suite with a steam shower, private "bed" type cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodieDDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Jbl123

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on TripAdvisor. Daily we give our best effort to create great experiences.


Thank you for your good comments about our staff, The Playacar Family, been pleasant and helpful is our main strength. Our Wine menu includes more than forty different wines from all over the world, including, Spain, Argentina, France, Mexico, Italy…which are consider one of the best wines all over the world. I feel sorry you didn’t enjoy our option and I am sure that our Sommelier could recommend you something you really liked. I invite you to do it at your next visit. I will personally recommend you some great Spanish wines from Rivera de Duero, my home.

The training of our staff is a very important part of days

Please, feel free to contact me for any further comments. Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,881 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
16,640 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
9,290 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
7,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £311 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing