We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #18 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was very impressed by the level of service and quality of the food in this resort. After a very long day of travel, missing luggage, rental car fail and lost taxi, we were warmly greeted at the front desk and you might think - oh, this is just because we have just arrived - but the service and warmth of the staff never faultered once our entire 4 night stay. Truly exceptional.

The staff also helped as much as they could in trying to locate our lost luggage with Air Canada. This was very much appreciated :)

The food also really surprised me - first of all, when getting ready for a day of activities - having the 24 hour room service and/or breakfast menu is AMAZING! We ate at the lunch buffet a few times and it was always different and delicious. Then there were the dinners - the Asian restaurant was so awesome and where it says 'fresh pasta' in the Italian restaurant - it truly is.

I also took advantage of some spa services - the spa is fantastic here - possibly the nicest spa I have ever been to.

Location is great - quite but still only a few steps from all the action!
Night entertainment was very good!
Food - again - excellent!
Service - excellent!
Rooms - very comfy & clean!

I am already planning our next trip back to the Palace resorts (we stay 4 nights in Cozumel Palace as well and it was also a high quality, great stay).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you very much Eileen W for taking the time of sharing your experience with us. It is a pleasure to know that you chose us as hosts of your wedding party and that we were able to exceed your expectations making of this celebration a unique and memorable experience. I was pleased to know that your relaxing vacation with us was highlighted by the courteous attention of our staff, comfort room accommodation & amenities, and enjoyable food in our restaurants. It was a delight to see you enjoyed our evening entertainment and experienced relaxing moments at our spa facilities.

Please, feel free to contact me for your next stay.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,171
    792
    213
    66
    39
See reviews for
1,499
1,833
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Playacar Palace in mid-December, and we have nothing but good things to say about the staff, food, room and services that are available to the guests. I'm actually quite surprised to see some of the negative comments posted below - if you are an easy going person, who is looking for an excellent and relaxing vacation on a beautiful beach, then the Playacar Palace is for you.

The staff throughout the hotel go above and beyond to deliver service with a smile. The restaurants offered a good selection for every meal. We would highly recommend sitting at the teppanyaki table at Momonohana (Tip: if you are willing to wait to have dinner later on in the evening - closer to 9pm - you may have a better chance of getting a spot at the teppanyaki table - we did, and we had no reservations).

We used our resort credits on a couple's massage in the spa (which was excellent!), a manicure, and a romantic dinner on the beach (highly recommend). Yes, you will not be able to use all of your credits at the spa, but that seems reasonable considering the broad range of other activities you can use your credits towards. Be forewarned that you will have to pay the tax on the resort credits you use, but it is well worth it for what you get.

The location is very central, a quick walk from the town of Playa del Carmen. It is arguably the best stretch of the beach - we walked quite a bit in both directions, and we were so glad we stayed where we did.

SOME ADVICE: if you would like to enjoy all that the town of Playa del Carmen has to offer (some excellent restaurants, bars, shopping, etc.) and don't want to be "double paying" for meals and drinks, then consider staying at a boutique hotel in town for a couple of nights during your stay. Well worth it if you're up for exploring!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lndv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you so much for write your review on Tripadvisor.Our location, our activities, our SPA, and the most important our staff, the entire playacar family, are our main difference.

Our goal is to know our guests by name and not by wrist band or room number. We feel proud you enjoyed your service and remember that Playacar will always be your warm home away from home.


Please, feel free to contact me anytime at your next visit in order to make all the arrangements about your room and special details.Our best and warmest wishes to Toronto from the Mexico.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel from Jan 5th to Jan 9th and were treated in such a wonderful and welcoming way by the staff. The food was consistently delicious and fresh and everything tasted flavourful and authentic. From when we got there our bell boy Ulysses gave us wonderful service with a smile every time we saw him and made us feel right at home. Rodrigo, our main bartender knew every drink we threw at him and was a fantastic and engaging person to talk to. The rooms were so clean and inviting and we got a free upgrade to a jacuzzi room when we arrived at no extra cost. I never saw one bug or anything that made me feel uncomfortable and doubting my choice in hotel. The beach was great too being very clean and well maintained.

The only negative I can think of is when our all-inclusive bracelets came off. We were told that we could stay until 8:00pm the day of check out but as soon as we started walking through the hotel with no bracelets we were bombarded with questioning and security telling us that we could not be there. We had booked a best day shuttle the following day to go back to the airport and when we got there in the morning we were treated with a little bit of hostility by the staff because again, no bracelets. I understand the tight ship that must be run to maintain the integrity of an all inclusive hotel but to get hostile over me taking $.20 cents of muffins after I had just spent a mint there seemed sightly over the top.

Overall, the positives far outweigh the negatives and this is a hotel I would love to return to time and time again because of the location and wonderful friendly staff like Ulysses and Rodrigo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Mr. David

I would like to thank you for gave us the opportunity to serve you on your most recent vacation in Playacar Palace.
We really appreciate you have taken the time to share yours comments with us about your experience here.
The security of our guests is principal, and being in such a central location we should be very careful about the people that access to the property without armbands. Please, accept my apologies for that Mr. David

I hope to have you again with us in the near future, and I am at your disposal

Gracias y hasta Pronto
D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We loved the location and generally friendly staff. The food was good.

As other reviewers have pointed out, some aspects felt like a bit of scam. When booking, they offered us free tickets to a show, but on arrival they said that the tickets at this level were no longer available, and to see the show we'd need to "upgrade" for $80 per person. What a bait and switch! Similarly, the resort credits have per item limits. Since we were traveling with young children and most of the trips couldn't accommodate them, we thought we'd be able to use all of the credits for the spa. No go. They have a $300 limit on their use so could not at the end of it, use the resort credits.

The rooms are very dated. And it took 4 phone calls to get the roll out bed for my child (that we'd requested in our booking and re-confirmed twice).

So, in general, while a friendly and nice hotel, I wasn't wowed by it and wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SusyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joinville, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel really surprised me. Wonderful place, impeccable cleanliness, wonderful service from all the staff. We felt very welcome in Playacar. We recommend this hotel for sure. Will definitely come back soon! Congratulations to the whole team!

Room Tip: Ask for a oceanview room above the third floor and away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaps1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Anaps1980

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your comments. The entire Playacar Family feel proud of been part of your holidays and we send you our best wishes.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me to make of your next stay, something even better!

Hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ok, I have stayed at two other Palace resorts in Mexico and had a great experience so I am a little surprised that I'm writing such a terrible review. The biggest issue the resort has is that they must train their staff to say "NO" or some variation of no to every customer's request. For example, if you ask for a large bottle of water they will tell you that they can bring you two small ones…? If you ask for more of the CHI brand lotion to be brought up to your room, they will just tell you "no" it's not in your plan??? When my boyfriend and I checked into our room our king bed had sheets and a comforter on it made for a double, when I called housekeeping they came up and inspected it and told me to wait one minute-one day and 3 phone calls later we never got it fixed. The restaurants would just plain forget to bring our food and when we'd ask them about the rest of our order they would say "relax", we often walked away having only eaten half of what we ordered. We ordered room service, waited an hour and when it didn't come we called down and they had sent it to the wrong room. We told them to forget it and we went down to eat and when we returned the food was up in our room spoiling. One evening we left our safe open and the maid closed and locked it with her own code??? we had to have someone come and open the safe and I swear they took some cash from our wallets. My advice is to stay away from Playacar Palace, if you'd like to stay near downtown Playacar there are a lot of other hotels in the area. We had a great time going into downtown and the ferry is nearby to take you over to Cozumel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Jenna

The entire Playacar Family always do our best everyday when we wake up, as several reviews mentioned, your review on Trip advisor really have an effect on us, and my only intention, is to thank you for your comments and tell you how much we sorry the circumstances you went trough. Guadalupe at Café del Mar, Oscar, our Chef, and also Mara Martinez, our Public Relations Manager, who helps you with the extra person at the chef’s dinner, people who perfectly remind you and your lovely group were really affected when read the comments, and we wanted for you to know that we are sorry for not satisfied your expectations.

As mentioned before, we want to thank you for your remarks, we will work harder to improve them Jenna.

I am at your disposal for any need, and please, do not hesitate to contact me for any need

Thank you for your time, and good luck in your future travels.

D. Rubio
Playacr Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here as part of a wedding party of about 40-50 people over thanksgiving break 2013. The staff is very helpful and we had great service. The property is well kept, the food is actually pretty good (especially the wood fire pizza's by the pool and the buffet). The bars were hit or miss. For the most part, the liquor is average at best BUT you have to know which bartenders have the good stuff. You can get don julio and johnnie walker black label (be nice to them, they'll take care of you).

The location is great, the beach is very nice, and there are plenty of beach/pool activities (ping pong, volleyball, soccer, etc.). Located right near Senor Frogs and the 12th street nightlife is about 10 blocks walking distance.

Rooms are nice, but we were originally put in a handicap room on the noisy 2nd floor right near the pool and lobby. We complained about the room but were told that there were no other rooms available. When we got back to the room, I inspected the handicap bathroom to see if we would be able to handle it, and then I realized that there was dry urine on the seat that had not been cleaned! We called in to complain again and were told they could move us the next morning and would clean it right away. We left for a few hours, came back and still it was not clean. We called it in again, then left for the night, so hours later it was finally cleaned, but the next morning we were moved to a much better normal room. This experience was the only negative part but it ended of great.

The wedding party was taken care of, the wedding itself was beautiful even though it rained an hour before the ceremony, the reception was awesome as well. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you SanjB13

We all consider you and your family, part of the Playacar family, and was an honor for all of to be part of such an special date as a wedding. We all thank you for your kind review.

All the Playacar Family hope to see you back soon again, and please, feel free to contact us before your arrival to create something special.

Hasta Pronto!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,603 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,728 reviews
12.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing