We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #18 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This staff is the hardest working staff I have ever seen. My husband and I are world travelers and we both feel the staff at Playacar Palace went above and beyond. We even had a lost cell phone in a cab and they were able to help locate it and get it back.

The food is typical resort food.

I would stay here again based on the beautiful views, convenience to the city of Playa and the AMAZING staff!

Thank you Playacar Palace for all your help!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFredricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
I want to thank you for your kind words on TRIPADVISOR. Was an honor to have you and be able to get your phone back. Our goal everyday is create memories, and I am sure you will remember this story..
The entire Playacar Family members are waiting for your next visit to pamper you again.

Also, you know you can contact me for questions or request for your next visit.

Our best wishes for you and your family from Mexico

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,171
    792
    213
    66
    39
See reviews for
1,499
1,833
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Clairsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have been Palace members for a 19 years. We just returned after staying 8 days February 10 thru 18th, 2014. We keep returning to Playacar because it is like returning to old friends and distant family.

The resort is always improving and upgrading in small steps. Last year the newly updated Asian restaurant and Teppanyaki tables and sushi bar. Excellent. A compete salon / spa and hydrotherapy area. Fantastic. The nice gym and wood fired pizza oven. Great. Since then the beautiful meditation Zen garden and afternoon quiet tea area. Very well done. The really beautiful Luna Lounge. The gift shop was also relocated. The garden will soon have a "special dining" experience feature.

Soon an upgraded outdoor covered grill area, new glass railing at the pool area, a members lounge and new roofing. All will make this place even more special. We are looking forward to our next visit because it always gets better and better.

The food, environment, beach and especially the employees are just wonderfully friendly. Our room was quiet, cleaned perfectly with a beautiful ocean front view. We had coffee and fresh fruit delivered promptly at 6:30 every morning for our enjoyment on the balcony while watching the sun come up over the Cozumel Island. Very nice. Later with an always interesting and wonderful breakfast in the Cafe del mar international restaurant. This restaurant always had an excellent variety for breakfast, a different theme for lunch and dinner and always very nicely done. Dinner in the Italian restaurant was outstanding. The best handmade ravioli I have ever had. The service was so special. What a wonderful special dining experience for our 37th anniversary dinner as well one night. The Asian restaurant or teppanyaki griil, and sushi bar are an outstanding dining experience.

This place is just full of special people that make your stay unforgettable. Starting at the top and setting the bar high is David Rubio, Playacar Palace G.M., Ivet Patino, Diamond Concierge, Pedro Mayo, Guest Services Manager and new friend Mara Martinez, Public Relations Manager. Everyone was an asset in a perfect visit.
Special thanks to: Chef Jorge for the special Cochinita Pibil tacos. Chef Oscar Domíngues for the terrific "special horseradish" shrimp cocktail and our anniversary dinner. Chef Francisco (Paco) and Chef Juan. Kudos as well to Teppanyaki Chef Victor and Sushi Chef Juan. They all made many meals special. Then there is breakfast Grill cook Cecelia, not only talented but with excellent English and beautiful.

I cannot name everyone that helped make this 3rd stay relaxing and memorable but to name a few standouts there is: Guest Service, Abigail. Restaurant Managers and supervisors, Sergio Armando, Efran, Jazz and Gaudalupe. Restaurant service, Porfirio (Porfi), Rodolfo,Luis, Antonio,and Gilbert. Hostesses, Miriam and Micelia. Beach service Ramon, Berenice, Sandra, Nora. Spa Reception Jorge and Cesar. Spa Salon, Susana and Nayarit. Spa Service, Ratzahi, Lety, Ana Laura.

A stay a this resort has everything for everyone including families. Nice pools, large white walking and swimming beach. 5 minute walk to famous 5th avenue shopping or the ferry to Cozumel and it own beauty. Very good food, beverages and entertainment for all.

Hasta pronto,
David and Pamela

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palacerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Mara, Chef Jorge, Chef Oscar, Chef Francisco, Chef Juan, Victor, Juan, Cecilia, Abigail. Sergio Armando, Efran, Jazz and Gaudalupe, Porfirio, Rodolfo,Luis, Antonio,and Gilbert Miriam and Micelia. Ramon, Berenice, Sandra, Nora, Jorge and Cesar, Susana and Nayarit. Ratzahi, Lety, Ana Laura...are just a few names who represents the love for the service of more than 300 hundred playacar members.

Thank you for your 3rd visit, we really love to see you back everytime. Mean it.

Our best wishes, hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A group of 20 friends just returned from a week at Playacar Palace and had an outstanding time. The resort was exceptionally in service and cleanliness. The staff was not only well trained but all seemed to have a special personality and friendliness. I worked with Mitch at Tripguy.com to help set up the trip. Mitch was spot on in recommending this resort for our group. He also arranged our transportation with Lomas Travel, who were also outstanding in their service and professionalism.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimb568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear JIMB568

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your comments.

We also want to thank you for choosing us for such a big group and we will feel proud of having you back

Hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

There is nothing about this resort that didn't rate "excellent" with us. The atmosphere, staff, service, food and amenities all were better than we anticipated. We'll come back here, no doubt whatsoever.

Room Tip: First-floor beach/pool corner is what we had and what we'll request. Stunning view of everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you Steve G for your comments.

For all of us was an honor to receive you at Playacar Palace, and we really hope to receive you back soon again.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me before your next arrival

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

20 long time friends just returned from a great week at the Playacar Palace. The staff gave great service, especially at the poolbar and beach where we spent quite a bit of time. They are always smiling and seemed to really enjoy making our stay terrific. There is a nice variety of rooms and only one of our couples made a room change to get a nicer view. The Japanese restaurant was our favorite and many times we enjoyed the great buffet at the main restaurant too. The beach sand was the best I have ever been on and we walked the beach often. Cozumel is just a short ferry ride away and it was so easy to walk to the ferry next door.

Room Tip: THe people who had the north rooms that let them walk out their door directly to the beach had the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
I want to thank you for your kind words on TRIPADVISOR. Was an honor to have you and your group of friends at Playacar Palace, your warm home away from home.

The entire Playacar Family members are waiting for your next visit to pamper you again.

Also, you know you can contact me for questions or request for your next visit.

Our best wishes for you and your friends from Mexico

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Beautiful clean property, spacious rooms, fantastic staff, a beach from your technicolor dreams, delicious food and drink ... all leading up to an intimate wedding on Valentine's Day expertly orchestrated by a serene and competent wedding coordinator. Exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you Stacey R

We all consider you and your family, part of the Playacar family, and was an honor for all of to be part of such an special date as a wedding. We all thank you for your kind review.

All the Playacar Family hope to see you back, and please, feel free to contact us before your arrival to create something special for your first Anniversary!.

Hasta Pronto!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Playacar Palace is the place to stay in Playa Del Carmen. The location is ideal. You can walk to all the Fifth Avenue shops and the ferry to Cozumel. Check in was easy, quick and very pleasant. Our room was large, clean and attractive. The view was spectacular!

We liked all the restaurants. The pool bar is great for lunch or a snack. The hamburgers are hefty and juicy. We ordered coffee early in our room and ate breakfast in the buffet later.. There is always a tremendous array of delicious food. For dinner the Italian restaurant is superb. Try the home-made ravioli. It's the best ever. If you are lucky, Antonio will be your waiter!
We also loved the Asian restaurant. You can make a reservation to have your meal prepared at the hibatchi. The chef puts on a delightful show. Also, without a reservation, you can choose from the menu. The food is very tasty.

We used our resort credits for the Spa (wonderful) and to upgrade wine at dinner. A good selection. Each wine we tasted was excellent.

The beach is perfection. We were always able to find plenty of available lounge chairs. During our stay, the weather was perfect. All in all, this was a great vacation!

The only negative I can mention is the transport to and from the airport. We had problems on both ends from Trafic-the vendor used by Palace. The transport is included in the resort package and definitely needs improvement. One other thing--our room overlooked the pool bar, which got very noisy at night. We are seniors, so it disturbed our early sleep. It might not be a problem for those who keep later hours.

Thanks to all the friendly and gracious employees at Playacar Palace. We hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: We have taken most of the tours offered on previous trips to Cancun. All were worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCbeachbum_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much CCbeachbum8

I want to thank you for your kind words on TRIPADVISOR. Was an honor to have you and your entire family at Playacar Palace, your warm home away from home.

I already sent a copy of your review to Antonio and he sends you their his wishes and thank you for remember him.

I also, want to thank you for you suggestions, we are already working hard to improve the transfer service.

We all hope to see you soon. Our best wishes for you and your family from Playa del Carmen

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,603 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
12.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing