We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #20 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have been coming back to Playacar Palace for three years now and just love it. We love the service and staff. There is always a friendly smile and every attempt is made to ensure our vacation is excelente! The resort is beautiful and the food is delicious. The location of the resort is perfect. Only steps away from 5th Avenue shopping and the ferry to Cozumel making for awesome day trips or excursions, as if you even needed a reason to leave. The new spa is fabulous and the entertainment staff does a great job keeping everyone happy ( kudos to Alexander, Aline, Ivan, Cesar, and the beautiful Damaris). We look forward to coming back to see our family and friends that make our vacations so special to include Nora, Rafael, Juanita, Gaspar and my tocaya, Erika!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandeva458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Director General at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Mara, Chef Jorge, Chef Oscar, Chef Francisco, Chef Juan, Victor, Juan, Cecilia, Abigail. Sergio Armando, Efran, Jazz and Gaudalupe, Porfirio, Rodolfo,Luis, Antonio,and Gilbert Miriam and Micelia. Ramon, Berenice, Sandra, Nora, Jorge and Cesar, Susana and Nayarit. Ratzahi, Lety, Ana Laura...are just a few names who represents the love for the service of more than 300 hundred playacar members.

Thank you for your 3rd visit, we really love to see you back everytime.

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,287
    815
    216
    69
    41
See reviews for
1,564
1,896
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My travel agent assured me that this was a fabulous resort for my husband and I and our two teenage daughters; she could not have been more right! My husband and I had visited a different well-known resort two years ago -- our first trip to Mexico. This resort blew the other away. The food was excellent in every respect. The buffet offered a wide variety of choices .... all delicious and the restaurants were exquisite as well. My daughters thought they were royalty!! The beaches and ocean are fabulous... so clean, so clear, so warm... and the facilities (rooms...) are excellent too. My daughters enjoyed the 24 hour room service and ordered milk shakes every day. I loved getting my Diet Coke from my mini-fridge each afternoon. The Playacar Palace staff is top-knotch too. I don't think you can get better service anywhere... The staff knew my girls by name by the end of the first day!! We want to give a special shout out to our favorite Entertainment team members -- Cesar and Ivan -- and our favorite waiters -- Rodolfo and Porfirio in the buffet... and Pedro in the Italian restaurant. We were sad to leave them at the end of our trip and they truly made our stay very special. We would highly recommend Coco Bongo too... see Giovanni during the day and he will help with your arrangements. Coco Bongo is like nothing you will ever experience in the US. This is a smaller resort but the plus side is the intimacy you feel with the other guests and the servers. Playa del Carmen shops, nightlife... was a GREAT plus for a family with older kids. There weren't many kids at the resort but my girls still had the time of their life. Plenty to do and see. You won't regret visiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Director General at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much DianeA

I want to thank you for your kind words on TRIPADVISOR. Was an honor to have you and your entire family at Playacar Palace, your warm home away from home.

I already sent a copy of your review to Pedro, Rodolfo, Porfirio and they send you their his wishes and thank you for remember them.

We all hope to see you soon. Our best wishes for you and your family from Playa del Carmen

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We only were there for 4 days! and certainly that was much too short a time in paradise!
We traveled with two of our adult children and their spouses.
We were upgraded to a Concierge room on the 4th floor which was very lovely. The view of the beach, ferry and swimming pools resonated with perfection.

We were very lucky as we had nearly perfect diaphanus days with bright sunshine, low humidity and temps fluctuating between 75 and 80 degrees F. It got cooler in the evening which made it necessary to wear a shawl if outdoors.

We loved the Cafe del Mar for breakfast and lunch and twice for dinner as well. Had dinners at La Terraza and at the Asian Fusion restaurants. Both had excellent food; La Terraza was great but because portions were fairly large, very filling. My daughter had the Carpaccio appetizer which she shared with us and was truly delicious. I had the ravioli which were the special for the week, and I was not disappointed. Nubia was our server, her preparation of Mayan Coffee, quite interesting to watch.

Our Asian dinner was superb, smaller portions, which meant we could 'try' most of their offerings.
We loved it.

I think what all of us noticed was the very nice people who helped make it a special holiday for us. Service was done with a smile indeed, no long faces! It seemed that evryone wanted us to have the best time possible.
Well, we sure did. I am now thinking that a week ago I was basking in pure sunshine, a mojito in hand!
People of note for us, were Nubia at Terraza; Meyra, Porfirio, Cristina and Israel at Cafe Mar and Roman at the pool bar, he is amazing! All of the beach bar people work so hard! And all of it with a smile.

Room Tip: Concierge rooms were nice because of their beach view and balcony. Our children however, had parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuquiCU87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Director General at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear CuqiCu87

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your comments.

We also want to thank you for choosing us and we will feel proud of having you back

Hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This staff is the hardest working staff I have ever seen. My husband and I are world travelers and we both feel the staff at Playacar Palace went above and beyond. We even had a lost cell phone in a cab and they were able to help locate it and get it back.

The food is typical resort food.

I would stay here again based on the beautiful views, convenience to the city of Playa and the AMAZING staff!

Thank you Playacar Palace for all your help!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFredricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
I want to thank you for your kind words on TRIPADVISOR. Was an honor to have you and be able to get your phone back. Our goal everyday is create memories, and I am sure you will remember this story..
The entire Playacar Family members are waiting for your next visit to pamper you again.

Also, you know you can contact me for questions or request for your next visit.

Our best wishes for you and your family from Mexico

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Clairsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have been Palace members for a 19 years. We just returned after staying 8 days February 10 thru 18th, 2014. We keep returning to Playacar because it is like returning to old friends and distant family.

The resort is always improving and upgrading in small steps. Last year the newly updated Asian restaurant and Teppanyaki tables and sushi bar. Excellent. A compete salon / spa and hydrotherapy area. Fantastic. The nice gym and wood fired pizza oven. Great. Since then the beautiful meditation Zen garden and afternoon quiet tea area. Very well done. The really beautiful Luna Lounge. The gift shop was also relocated. The garden will soon have a "special dining" experience feature.

Soon an upgraded outdoor covered grill area, new glass railing at the pool area, a members lounge and new roofing. All will make this place even more special. We are looking forward to our next visit because it always gets better and better.

The food, environment, beach and especially the employees are just wonderfully friendly. Our room was quiet, cleaned perfectly with a beautiful ocean front view. We had coffee and fresh fruit delivered promptly at 6:30 every morning for our enjoyment on the balcony while watching the sun come up over the Cozumel Island. Very nice. Later with an always interesting and wonderful breakfast in the Cafe del mar international restaurant. This restaurant always had an excellent variety for breakfast, a different theme for lunch and dinner and always very nicely done. Dinner in the Italian restaurant was outstanding. The best handmade ravioli I have ever had. The service was so special. What a wonderful special dining experience for our 37th anniversary dinner as well one night. The Asian restaurant or teppanyaki griil, and sushi bar are an outstanding dining experience.

This place is just full of special people that make your stay unforgettable. Starting at the top and setting the bar high is David Rubio, Playacar Palace G.M., Ivet Patino, Diamond Concierge, Pedro Mayo, Guest Services Manager and new friend Mara Martinez, Public Relations Manager. Everyone was an asset in a perfect visit.
Special thanks to: Chef Jorge for the special Cochinita Pibil tacos. Chef Oscar Domíngues for the terrific "special horseradish" shrimp cocktail and our anniversary dinner. Chef Francisco (Paco) and Chef Juan. Kudos as well to Teppanyaki Chef Victor and Sushi Chef Juan. They all made many meals special. Then there is breakfast Grill cook Cecelia, not only talented but with excellent English and beautiful.

I cannot name everyone that helped make this 3rd stay relaxing and memorable but to name a few standouts there is: Guest Service, Abigail. Restaurant Managers and supervisors, Sergio Armando, Efran, Jazz and Gaudalupe. Restaurant service, Porfirio (Porfi), Rodolfo,Luis, Antonio,and Gilbert. Hostesses, Miriam and Micelia. Beach service Ramon, Berenice, Sandra, Nora. Spa Reception Jorge and Cesar. Spa Salon, Susana and Nayarit. Spa Service, Ratzahi, Lety, Ana Laura.

A stay a this resort has everything for everyone including families. Nice pools, large white walking and swimming beach. 5 minute walk to famous 5th avenue shopping or the ferry to Cozumel and it own beauty. Very good food, beverages and entertainment for all.

Hasta pronto,
David and Pamela

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palacerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Mara, Chef Jorge, Chef Oscar, Chef Francisco, Chef Juan, Victor, Juan, Cecilia, Abigail. Sergio Armando, Efran, Jazz and Gaudalupe, Porfirio, Rodolfo,Luis, Antonio,and Gilbert Miriam and Micelia. Ramon, Berenice, Sandra, Nora, Jorge and Cesar, Susana and Nayarit. Ratzahi, Lety, Ana Laura...are just a few names who represents the love for the service of more than 300 hundred playacar members.

Thank you for your 3rd visit, we really love to see you back everytime. Mean it.

Our best wishes, hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A group of 20 friends just returned from a week at Playacar Palace and had an outstanding time. The resort was exceptionally in service and cleanliness. The staff was not only well trained but all seemed to have a special personality and friendliness. I worked with Mitch at Tripguy.com to help set up the trip. Mitch was spot on in recommending this resort for our group. He also arranged our transportation with Lomas Travel, who were also outstanding in their service and professionalism.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimb568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear JIMB568

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your comments.

We also want to thank you for choosing us for such a big group and we will feel proud of having you back

Hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

There is nothing about this resort that didn't rate "excellent" with us. The atmosphere, staff, service, food and amenities all were better than we anticipated. We'll come back here, no doubt whatsoever.

Room Tip: First-floor beach/pool corner is what we had and what we'll request. Stunning view of everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you Steve G for your comments.

For all of us was an honor to receive you at Playacar Palace, and we really hope to receive you back soon again.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me before your next arrival

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,035 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,897 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,294 reviews
13.9 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing