We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place/Great weather” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #18 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place/Great weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from our third visit to Playacar Palace (Feb 20 – 28.) As with past visits at this resort we found it to be beautiful & spotlessly clean. Always with great food and wine selections, maybe not as many different restaurant options as some of their larger resorts, but the quality of food is terrific. As with most of the other reviewers, we find the people who work there, from the wait staff to the housekeeping people, are wonderful. Very nice and polite and for the most part willing to accommodate any request. The beach is outstanding with plenty of chaise lounges to relax (maybe a few more umbrellas, so bring lots of sunscreen).
Our only issue is that last year we became Palace Resort members and after this year’s trip, we probably should have thought twice about our decision. It’s just that we didn’t feel like the membership afforded us anything more than non-members. Although the room we had last year overlooked the noisy little alley in the back where the dumpster and recycling bins are kept, it was partial ocean view. This year, after requesting an upper level room overlooking any part of the pool/beach area when we originally booked the trip, we got room 235, with a view of the roof of the pool bar, complete with scaffolding obstructing the limited ocean view. (They were painting). Since the resort was at capacity with numerous weddings and corporate conferences, we could not switch rooms. We were put on a list to be notified when an upper level room was available. (I think we’re still on the list!) I understand that not all room requests can be honored, but it is a little frustrating, after investing several thousand dollars to become members, to see those folks there to attend one of the many weddings and/or company retreats, which now seem to be the priority with this resort, be given premium upper level rooms over member requests. What is the advantage of being a member?
My advice is to forgo the 2 hour sales pitch and hang out at the beach; if you book through most vacation web sites you will probably get the same rate or better.
Again, outside of the room frustration, everything else was outstanding.
Many thanks to Nora, Sandra, Marta and Leonardo at the pool, Angel and Ana at Luna, Javiar at the Lobby bar, Ana at the spa, and of course future hip-hop recording artist, Antonio at the Italian restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 235 has no view. Best views 4th and 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldbkwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,090
    774
    211
    62
    39
See reviews for
1,447
1,796
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved the resort. Your restaurants were the BEST of the Palace resorts we have visited so far, especially the Italian and the Japanese ones! Delicious preparations (fresh pasta, the candy box, the large selection of meals!) Our server, Antonio, at the Italian restaurant was first rate. All the servers are efficient and on the spot. Loved the ability to just walk out so easily into the town. We always felt safe. We loved our room location and its comfort. Loved the ability to use our reward points to upgrade our wine at dinner. The beach was perfect and the pool was nice although a bit small. Had a lovely warm and enjoyable vacation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We just returned from our wedding on the beach of Playacar Palace. We traveled with 15 family/friends who have never been to Mexico. Every one of them enjoyed everything the Palace offered!

Booking:
We used Jody's Travel who works with Travel Impressions. Jody is very knowledgeable in trip planning and was very helpful to our guests attending as well. If it wasn't for her, we would be lost! The guests all came on separate days, transportation was included (as a group perk) from Cancun airport to the resort.

Hotel:
The rooms are extremely clean. Everyone had maid service daily. Because it is all inclusive, refrigerators inside the rooms are stocked w/beer , soda and water every day. Room service is available and was utilized every night as well! All of our guest's rooms had balconies w/varies views (all of which had ocean or part ocean view).

Resort Location:
This was our second trip to Playa del Carmen, Mexico and by FAR the beach at the Palace is the most beautiful beach in the area! We chose to say our vows at this beach because the water is crystal clear blue and the sand is soft white! These pictures are NOT photo shopped!
The Palace is a 10 step walk on the beach to 5th avenue with restaurants/bars/shopping. So convenient !!! We especially enjoyed Senor Frogs, the resorts neighboring bar/club.

Resort activities
Everyday we enjoyed the delicious buffet breakfast. The food is good quality and the chefs there also cook special requests. The pool bar was our favorite hang out spot . The service was quick and accurate w/food and drinks. Cocktail list is amazing and again, it is all Included! The staff are wonderful and so nice! SERVICE WITH A SMILE! Bartender Angel is very informative as to what to do in the area (outside the tourist spots) and how to experience the lifestyle as the natives do! Carlos is an activities coordinator and had daily volleyball games/ dancing/ games for everyone to participate in. At night the resort offers various activities such as fire dancers, casino night in their lounge, and Mexican fiesta. The hibachi grill was delicious, sushi lovers died and went to heaven here!

Excursions
Never bored here! Our guests went diving, rode jet skis, parasailing, fly boarding, toured Mayan ruins, swam w/dolphins ...

Wedding
The resort allowed us to use resort credits toward the wedding package. This helped out with the cost. The lavender lux package included everything necessary for a quant intimate wedding of 15 guests on the beach. Weddings happen often at the Palace and we had the to chance to watch some days before ours, each one made special in their own way. Our wedding coordinator , Belem assisted us w/every detail via email before the trip. She accounted for every request we had regarding flowers, hair, makeup, cocktail hour, photography.....Everything was more special than we could've every imagined! Cocktail hour was amazing, on the beach during sun set, plenty of food and drinks. Our photographer was very creative. The Italian restaurant where us and our guests attended for dinner after the wedding offered a 6 course meal customized to our taste. Our guests loved it! We were welcomed by the restaurant staff waiting for our arrival and giving us a round of applause upon entering! We felt so special!
The honeymoon suite .. OMG ! Newlyweds, stay in a honeymoon suite and you will not be disappointed ! The view from the huge balcony is stunning!

We stayed for a week and our guests stayed from 3 to 6 nights. Every single person said that it was the best wedding they've ever been to! This destination wedding was a fraction in price of what we would spend for a wedding at home. Having our closest friends and family travel with us into paradise was very special. We will consider the Playacar Palace our home away from home and plan to return with our guests for our first year anniversary!

Room Tip: Newlyweds: reserve a honeymoon suite! Complete ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Overall it was a great experience. Danaille with beach bum travel agency was awesome and did a great job helping us. The staff however that worked at playcar palace booking tours were very inconsiderate and so unhelpful. They lied to us about information and were incredible rude to my husband and I. Abigail the planner was very nice but not at all helpful nor gave any information. Other than the front service everything was pretty good. The spa service was the best! Not sure I would go back to this resort due to the front service and management.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kimberlyan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a small private high end all inclusive, but you'll need to go elsewhere for nightlife. The best food restaurants out of all my all-inclusive resort trips. However , low on nightlife and pool. Drinks are somewhat better because they serve Coors Light in the rooms, but you'll find yourself drinking Tecate Light just like any other resort outside your room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbaumert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnersville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Let me begin by mentioning that all of the staff here are outstanding! I must mention a couple that went way beyond what they had to, to make us enjoy our stay even more: rodolfo who made us Mayan Coffee late One evening when I'm sure it was time for him to go home; Oscar and Victor for excellent service in the Asian restaurant; Gilbert the ultimate waiter in the Italian restaurant and my absolute favorites , Ayanei and Cristal at the buffet. The hosts of the buffet , Miriam and Guadaupe always were wonderful too. Staff at this property remembered us by name and made us feel at home. We are Palace Resorts members and are used to excellent service, but this group far exceeds that. I have never stayed a week at any property where I didn't have to call housekeeping to correct something. Not here! We stayed in room 441 a wonderful room and I believe our housekeeper was Eneyda. She was always smiling and we loved her and how great she kept our room. We couldn't wait to go back at night with turn down service and aromatherapy awaiting us. Thank you! Gen Mgr, ( ok you win) Mr. David, cared about customer service and it showed. Hope
you are in the top 10 where you belong, real soon!
The property is a bit old but it is quiet and lovely. We had a huge comfortable room with a great sized balcony, table chairs and two lounges. The beach was beautiful as was the pool and wait staff were always present with drinks. Alberto was our guest service rep and he did a fine job. We attended the Chicago concert at Moon Palace as a gift for attending the update presentation. That was a wonderful night with the exception of moon palace guest service reps who were standoffish and rude. We were told we could use a room to chg before the show and they would not hear of it. Instead they sent us to the gym for showers but no place private to change. It was terrible and many palace members found themselves in this situation. What a contrast to the wonderful staff at Playacar- they could learn a lot for Mr David!
The wait staff, dinner and Chicago were outstanding- a wonderful night and great that Palace is starting to have such top notch entertainment
Back to Playacar - a great quiet pampering week which we loved. Oh, the afternoon tea was a nice little touch. We enjoyed it on a few days after hours at the beach. The spa looked lovely but never did get in to take advantage of the member services. The on,y negative is the limited dining choices. Glad to see a couple of nights a steak grill was set up outside- somehow we didn't learn about this in advance. I would like to see half of the buffet room changed into a Mexican dining room like Fridas at Hard Rock Cancun. We enjoyed the romantic dinner on the beach, but if you r not a wine drinker, it may not be worth the extra money- it was nice to eat close to the ocean but why right on top of señor frogs ?
Walking into playa de Carmen is nice but still hate the tough sell sales pitches all over the street. Do walk a couple of blocks to visit the beautiful little Catholic Church and the pretty park on the ocean- but then RUN back to the peace at Playacar!
We Will definitely vacation here again!, thank you for a great week!

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms have some view of ocean, not all rooms have large balconies. If imp make sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Our recent stay at Playacar Palace was perfect. The complex was beautiful, the beach pristine, the pool was very relaxing and the staff was amazing. I am not sure if they are simply all trained this way but every single staff member ended an interaction with "my pleasure." Either way, you believed that they were truly happy to be helping you out. The food was great and our superior room with couples Jacuzzi was just what we expected for our honeymoon.

We will definitely be planning another vacation there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpassy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,475 reviews
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com and Holiday Gems so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing