We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Destination Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #18 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Northern MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went to the Playacar Palace for a destination wedding and had a lovely time! Very upscale all inclusive, but well worth the money! The beach is beautiful and you can walk for miles! Daily activities for adults and kids. Good selection in the main restaurant and amazing food in the Italian place. Even though it is all inclusive, bring $1's along to tip - they go along way with service and some extras!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolson1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,171
    792
    213
    66
    39
See reviews for
1,499
1,833
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonaire, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at The Playacar Palace. The staff was extremely attentive and friendly. The food was great. Martha in the VIP section on the beach took great care of us. Our spa services were excellent. The resort location is perfect. We will be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Spend seven days at this resort in February 2014.I can't say enough how pleasant and helpful the staff were.Rooms were very clean everyday, food good to very good. Pizza was make everyday by the pool and drinks were top shelf. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Higher rooms. 3rd or 4th floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DONALD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from our third visit to Playacar Palace (Feb 20 – 28.) As with past visits at this resort we found it to be beautiful & spotlessly clean. Always with great food and wine selections, maybe not as many different restaurant options as some of their larger resorts, but the quality of food is terrific. As with most of the other reviewers, we find the people who work there, from the wait staff to the housekeeping people, are wonderful. Very nice and polite and for the most part willing to accommodate any request. The beach is outstanding with plenty of chaise lounges to relax (maybe a few more umbrellas, so bring lots of sunscreen).
Our only issue is that last year we became Palace Resort members and after this year’s trip, we probably should have thought twice about our decision. It’s just that we didn’t feel like the membership afforded us anything more than non-members. Although the room we had last year overlooked the noisy little alley in the back where the dumpster and recycling bins are kept, it was partial ocean view. This year, after requesting an upper level room overlooking any part of the pool/beach area when we originally booked the trip, we got room 235, with a view of the roof of the pool bar, complete with scaffolding obstructing the limited ocean view. (They were painting). Since the resort was at capacity with numerous weddings and corporate conferences, we could not switch rooms. We were put on a list to be notified when an upper level room was available. (I think we’re still on the list!) I understand that not all room requests can be honored, but it is a little frustrating, after investing several thousand dollars to become members, to see those folks there to attend one of the many weddings and/or company retreats, which now seem to be the priority with this resort, be given premium upper level rooms over member requests. What is the advantage of being a member?
My advice is to forgo the 2 hour sales pitch and hang out at the beach; if you book through most vacation web sites you will probably get the same rate or better.
Again, outside of the room frustration, everything else was outstanding.
Many thanks to Nora, Sandra, Marta and Leonardo at the pool, Angel and Ana at Luna, Javiar at the Lobby bar, Ana at the spa, and of course future hip-hop recording artist, Antonio at the Italian restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 235 has no view. Best views 4th and 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldbkwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved the resort. Your restaurants were the BEST of the Palace resorts we have visited so far, especially the Italian and the Japanese ones! Delicious preparations (fresh pasta, the candy box, the large selection of meals!) Our server, Antonio, at the Italian restaurant was first rate. All the servers are efficient and on the spot. Loved the ability to just walk out so easily into the town. We always felt safe. We loved our room location and its comfort. Loved the ability to use our reward points to upgrade our wine at dinner. The beach was perfect and the pool was nice although a bit small. Had a lovely warm and enjoyable vacation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We just returned from our wedding on the beach of Playacar Palace. We traveled with 15 family/friends who have never been to Mexico. Every one of them enjoyed everything the Palace offered!

Booking:
We used Jody's Travel who works with Travel Impressions. Jody is very knowledgeable in trip planning and was very helpful to our guests attending as well. If it wasn't for her, we would be lost! The guests all came on separate days, transportation was included (as a group perk) from Cancun airport to the resort.

Hotel:
The rooms are extremely clean. Everyone had maid service daily. Because it is all inclusive, refrigerators inside the rooms are stocked w/beer , soda and water every day. Room service is available and was utilized every night as well! All of our guest's rooms had balconies w/varies views (all of which had ocean or part ocean view).

Resort Location:
This was our second trip to Playa del Carmen, Mexico and by FAR the beach at the Palace is the most beautiful beach in the area! We chose to say our vows at this beach because the water is crystal clear blue and the sand is soft white! These pictures are NOT photo shopped!
The Palace is a 10 step walk on the beach to 5th avenue with restaurants/bars/shopping. So convenient !!! We especially enjoyed Senor Frogs, the resorts neighboring bar/club.

Resort activities
Everyday we enjoyed the delicious buffet breakfast. The food is good quality and the chefs there also cook special requests. The pool bar was our favorite hang out spot . The service was quick and accurate w/food and drinks. Cocktail list is amazing and again, it is all Included! The staff are wonderful and so nice! SERVICE WITH A SMILE! Bartender Angel is very informative as to what to do in the area (outside the tourist spots) and how to experience the lifestyle as the natives do! Carlos is an activities coordinator and had daily volleyball games/ dancing/ games for everyone to participate in. At night the resort offers various activities such as fire dancers, casino night in their lounge, and Mexican fiesta. The hibachi grill was delicious, sushi lovers died and went to heaven here!

Excursions
Never bored here! Our guests went diving, rode jet skis, parasailing, fly boarding, toured Mayan ruins, swam w/dolphins ...

Wedding
The resort allowed us to use resort credits toward the wedding package. This helped out with the cost. The lavender lux package included everything necessary for a quant intimate wedding of 15 guests on the beach. Weddings happen often at the Palace and we had the to chance to watch some days before ours, each one made special in their own way. Our wedding coordinator , Belem assisted us w/every detail via email before the trip. She accounted for every request we had regarding flowers, hair, makeup, cocktail hour, photography.....Everything was more special than we could've every imagined! Cocktail hour was amazing, on the beach during sun set, plenty of food and drinks. Our photographer was very creative. The Italian restaurant where us and our guests attended for dinner after the wedding offered a 6 course meal customized to our taste. Our guests loved it! We were welcomed by the restaurant staff waiting for our arrival and giving us a round of applause upon entering! We felt so special!
The honeymoon suite .. OMG ! Newlyweds, stay in a honeymoon suite and you will not be disappointed ! The view from the huge balcony is stunning!

We stayed for a week and our guests stayed from 3 to 6 nights. Every single person said that it was the best wedding they've ever been to! This destination wedding was a fraction in price of what we would spend for a wedding at home. Having our closest friends and family travel with us into paradise was very special. We will consider the Playacar Palace our home away from home and plan to return with our guests for our first year anniversary!

Room Tip: Newlyweds: reserve a honeymoon suite! Complete ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Overall it was a great experience. Danaille with beach bum travel agency was awesome and did a great job helping us. The staff however that worked at playcar palace booking tours were very inconsiderate and so unhelpful. They lied to us about information and were incredible rude to my husband and I. Abigail the planner was very nice but not at all helpful nor gave any information. Other than the front service everything was pretty good. The spa service was the best! Not sure I would go back to this resort due to the front service and management.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kimberlyan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,610 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
12.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing