We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #18 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our stay at the Playacar Palace in Playa del Carmen exceeded our expectations ! The beach was fantastic, pool area was great, the restaurants were all amazing ! The italian restaurant was absolutely delicious, and the poolside grill at night with T-bone steaks? Wow !!!! Can't wait to go back !!

Room Tip: We upgraded to Concierge Level on the 4th floor, we loved the little extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,093
    776
    211
    64
    39
See reviews for
1,450
1,798
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here March 23-30 and had a wonderful time. This was our 4th trip to the Mayan Riviera, previously staying at much larger resorts, and we found the service at this hotel far exceeded our previous experiences! From the painless and actually pleasant check in/out process to the fabulous customer service provided in the rooms, and at the restaurants and pool/beach, we really have no complaints. All of the staff were very professional and friendly, but I must commend Antonio at the Italian restaurant and Perla at the pool/beach who took very good care of us.

We went to the Moon Palace for a day to see what was there. HUGE hotel with many restaurants. We ate at one of the buffet restaurants (can't remember what it was called) and the food was very good. Much more selection than at Playacar Palace, but quality really no better. The beach at the Playacar Palace FAR EXCEEDS that of the Moon Palace. Unfortunately, we had a medical "mishap" at the Moon Palace with my son dislocating his shoulder on the "Flow Rider", but not even that could dampen our experience. The medical attention was prompt and we were greeted on our return to the Playacar Palace to ensure that everything was okay.

My husband and I golfed at the Moon Palace Golf Resort and had a great time. Beautiful course, but not an easy one to play! Was expecting a better food selection when we finished our round (only hot dogs and nachos available), but otherwise it was wonderful.

The resort credits were good, but keep in mind you have to pay 16% tax on all of the credits that you use....it adds up! We didn't use up all of our $1500.00, but you can carry unused credits forward for up to 1 year. I was disappointed that the resort credits could not be used for a room upgrade. When I originally booked the vacation in January, I was told that this was possible, but I guess they changed their policy by the time we actually took the vacation. We still did, however, upgrade to the Sand Suite.....BEAUTIFUL!!

Overall, we had a fabulous time and would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We just returned from here. The positives are the staff are wonderful, helpful, kind, and friendly. The food was good. You are able to visit the other palaces which we did, Moon palace in Cancun huge and beautiful. Cozumel place also very clean and pretty, great snorkeling there. Negatives Not enough choices in restaurants. The resort needs a upgrade, roof, paint etc. we were told they are working on it. The entrance where the security guard is, not inviting run down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tori6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We just spent 10 glorious days at Playacar Palace. We have a rule that we never go to the same place two years in a row; we broke our rule this year.
We are Palace members. We have to travel at March Break and don't want to gamble on a vacation we are going to pay a premium for anyway. Palace hasn't disappointed us yet. That doesn't mean everything is perfect every time, but when it isn't perfect, they really go the extra mile to make it right.
Before we arrived, I had asked the general manager, David Rubio, to please make sure the only surprises we had this year were good ones! He did not disappoint (okay, mother-nature messed up the Romantic Dinner...)! From our room (thank you Elizabeth Acosta Ramirez), to the Senses Dinner, to enjoying a glass of Remy Martin cognac after dinner. Wonderful.
Jesus greeted us upon our arrival, clearly remembering us! He knows EVERYONE!
Senses Dinner: This is a totally new experience for Playacar. It is set for 8 people only, with 5 staff looking after your every need. You wear blacked out sunglasses so that you cannot see. The meal is all about smells, sounds, tastes and textures. It is held in the Thai Garden, with the water features providing the sounds. If you are a picky eater, this is not for you, as you have absolutely NO idea what the meal will be. Ours consisted of a salad course, soup course, main course and desert course. Each part of the meal was accompanied by a special drink.
Quetzel lead us through the meal from end to end (somehow managing not to laugh at us!). At the end of the meal we removed our glasses and saw a plate from each course in the centre of the table. Chef Oscar then explained each of the tastes and textures. The drinks were also displayed and explained. We finished the evening with a glass of champagne (blindfolds off), discussing the experience. I can't wait to try this again!
We noticed a significant change in the buffet selections at lunch and dinner. The overall display was more elegant and the dishes seemed of a higher quality. Chef Oscar (new to Playacar this year) is doing a great job!
Israel took terrific care of us at Breakfast every morning. I certainly enjoyed my fishbowl Mimosa and private table on our last morning. Edgar was great too.
Around the pool and on the beach, Nora, Berenice, Roman, Leonardo and Alma kept our glasses full. Behind the bars, Gerardo (whom we first met at Xpu-Ha in 2009) and Angel always kept us smiling. It always amazes me how many of the staff remember us from previous visits. It really makes us feel at home, and entices us to return!
The Grill Terrace is a work-in-progress. The grill is complete, and most nights you can order from it in the Terrazza (buffet) restaurant. I'm in love with the grilled Octopus! In the coming months, it will evolve into a stand-alone steakhouse. We enjoyed sushi and the Hibachi table in MoMoNoHaNa, and elegant Italian cuisine in Café Del Mar. We also partook of the Chef’s dinner and a Romantic dinner (unfortunately that got rained out and moved into Café Del Mar). I thought the Chef's Dinner was enjoyable and much better than last year's effort. Raul, Fernando and Miguel were standouts in our dinner services. Sergio served us Mayan Coffee. We have enjoyed this treat many times, but I have to say that Sergio's version was the most visually stunning!
Perla has moved indoors this year, She looked after us in the lobby bar and the Luna Lounge. It is always great to see her smiling face. The Luna Lounge has been completely renovated since last year. It is a really elegant space now.
My wife enjoyed the services of Virginia and Rosa in the spa. Abigail took care of booking Xplor and confirming all the dinners and spa dates we had booked with Wily in advance. Abi is always so bright and cheerful, greeting us with hugs when she first saw us.
The entertainment staff worked hard to keep the fun quotient up! Caesar, Ivan, Alexander and Aline are so full of energy.
A trip to Playacar would not be complete without a day on Cozumel. Daniel, Gabriel, and Suehey kept us entertained, while Sylvia and Heri kept us "hydrated" ;-) My daughter loves Daniel!
Playacar is definitely our favourite family resort in the Palace chain. We are planning to return with friends next year to celebrate "someone's" 50th birthday...

Room Tip: Love the fifth-floor, concierge rooms with a balcony and stunningly beautiful view of the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Playacar Palace March 11-18th. Our wedding was on the 15th. The wedding planner, Belem, was great and so was her assistant, Abi. The food was amazing! The view beautiful. Room were nice. On our wedding day we had to move our wedding from off the beach to a balcony on the third floor due to weather. Which I liked even better than having it on the beach. No one running on the beach behind you becoming apart of all the pictures. The only problem that we had was two of our guests were thrown out because they were staying at a different hotel. It was originally a Palace resort (when guests booked) but something must have changed from the time they booked to the time of their stay. I wasn't told this until after the guests were escorted off the property. This was upsetting. It was the only issue we had with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

11 crazy women invaded this lovely resort for our annual girls' trip. The staff at this resort are wonderful. Everyone is friendly and more than willing to accomodate. We looked forward to Our favorite waiter, Dionicio, greeting us each morning at breakfast. He gave us some excellent shopping advice! He truly wanted our trip to be an enjoyable experience. (Try the waffles!!!! Made to order right in front of you.)
The outdoor bar staff provided excellent service to our crazy bunch. Love our Leonardo! Perla! Berenice! Fernando! Carmen and Marco (POLO!!!).
The Italian restaurant is not what Americans expect, but it is a dining treat! ! The group shared the salmon ravioli as an appetizer. It was fabulouso!
The spa experience is not to be missed..... blissful!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at here March 2-9th and loved every minute of it. From the beautiful beach, pool, delicious food, all was 1st class service. We came from another hotel in the Mayan for our first week and then came to Playacar Palace to end our holiday off. There was no comparision. The Palace was top notch
-Romantic dinner was beautiful (a little windy) but you can't help that
-Chef dinner was fun
-Our room had a partial water view and balcony - was bright, comfy and so comfortable
- Dionicio, Ayanei, cristal and Sotero treated us like royalty in the buffet. The service was fantastic and the food delicious. We looked forward to going their every morning and for lunch. They always took care of us and remembered our favourites
- Nora and Leonardo were our favourite waiters for our drinks and always had a smile and great conversation
- Mexican night was incredible - Outdoor dinner by the pool, lit up beautifully, mariachi band and dancers - thourghally enjoyed
-Japanese dinner show - great
- The outdoor fire show impressive
- The spa was wonderful, relaxing, treated so well

We had a great vacation - loved the resort and the friendlieness of the staff. Our room was always clean and had a nice little surprise made up with towels every night/chocolates.
Can't say enough
We have also been to Moon Palace, and love the Palace experience.
The only think I would suggest is you update the Lounge - as the Piano bar is very bright at night and the Lava Lounge isn't too comfortable for seating.

Thank you again, we can't wait to come back

Room Tip: The rooms near the piano bar can be a little loud as it echos
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,483 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
12.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing