We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and great location!”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #21 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, quiet and great location!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The resort was exceptional. Right on the beach, very nice pool with swim up bar and the rooms are modern and clean. All the staff are very helpful and quick to to help you at the drop of a hat. Three people that jump out as exceptional and very personable staff we're Carmen the bartender, Antonio in the Italian restaurant and Nora the waitress.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dantheman0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Dantheman0515

Thank you very much for review,Nora, Carmen, Antonio are an example of the passion we feel for our "job" Me and all the Playacar Family really appreciate your comments

We hope to see you soon and do not hesitate to write me for any questions or request for your next visit.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.

GM Tip. If you want this to be your story, contact the hotel staff, the management or the GM, if things are not according to your expectations on your travel. Give us the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,386
    854
    224
    72
    44
See reviews for
1,672
1,926
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Playacar Palace was an amazing location to host a destination wedding! I attended as a guest and could not have been more impressed by the service, food, drinks, in-room jacuzzi (!), and the convenience of an all-inclusive bracelet. It was so relaxing! Great times with friends and family!

Room Tip: Even our partial ocean view room had an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Alysha A

Thank you on behalf of our entire team for the delicate comment you have posted on TripAdvisor. Perla, Mayra, Abihail and all the Playacar family is really please that you enjoy your stay with us

The Entire Playacar Family is pleased that your visit has given you full satisfaction and hope to see you again in our beautiful hotel.

Please, contact me for your next stay with us to make all the arrangements of your travel.

HastaPronto!

DD.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M


GM Tip. If you want this to be your story, do not hesitate to contact the hotel staff, the management or the GM, if things are not according to your expectations on your travel. Give us the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carleton Place, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a long time coming, but we went to Playa Del Carmen in the end of November 2013 and stayed at Playacar Palace for a week.

I have to say, our week was phenomenal. The beach and pool were clean and beautiful, and there were always great servers on the beach who were promptly bringing us drinks as soon as we had finished the last.

We found the buffet a little boring, but the Japanese and Italian restaurant were great, and the burgers from room service were wonderful and delivery was fast! By far our favorite place to eat was the snack bar! AMAZING pizza, and really good nachos.

There was a little bit of construction going on but not on our floor. We didn't hear any noise from it, nor did it bother us - all hotels have to do upgrades here and there so you have to appreciate that.

We went for a wedding, which was catered beautifully, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

This resort is a 5 minute walk down the beach to 5th avenue, and the ferry to Cozumel. GREAT for people who don't want to spend on excursions because there is so much shopping and exploring to do right in the area. Right beside the hotel is a Senor Frogs, and though the bar always looked full, we didn't get too much noise. It was overall a quiet resort.

The Spa was AMAZING. We went for a hour before and used the various hot and cold pools. You have someone bring you to your locker, you're given a plush bathrobe and taken to a sauna, then the pools. After our wonderful massage, we were taken to an area with lovely beds to relax for a bit.

We used the $1500 resort credit and found it was useful for everything. We did a tour to Chichen Itza, a Dolphin Swim, my boyfriend went golfing at Moon Palace, our couples massage at the spa and a couple bottles of tequila from the resort, all using our credit!

My only complaint would have to be the time-share sellers from the hotel. The bride-to-be sat through a long presentation so that the rest of us wouldn't have to, so when we all found out, we were grateful, but felt bad for her. The hotel was pretty pushy about this. If anyone calls your room saying they need to speak to you, unless it's an emergency do not go down. It will be a waste of a couple hours of your vacation!

Room Tip: Our room was near the spa with a garden view- it was quiet which was nice, but after seeing our frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alysha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Alysha

First and foremost, allow me to thank you for your warm to all the Playacar Family.

We are working hard everyday to guarantee our guests the best experience possible, and we feel glad you did. We will be happy to receive you soon.

Do not forget to contact me before your arrival to make all the arrangments for your dinners, arrival, etc...

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at this resort for a full week as part of my membership with Palace Resorts. My friends and I signed up to be members at the Moon Palace in Cancun. That resort is huge and on some levels impersonal. I really liked Playacar Palace. The size was just right. Nice sized pool was not very crowded. Not a lot of kids. The spa was great. There were three dining choices and they rotated the theme of the food in the main dining room every day. The service was fantastic! We had a great time. The resort is walking distance to the ferry to Cozumel and to the main strip with shopping and nightlife (if you're interested). I was happy to spend most of my time at the resort and on the beach where we were mostly private from the general public. They offer a daily shuttle to Moon Palace and I did that one day and played golf there and enjoyed the mile long pool there.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, even those surrounding the pool. The ferry to Cozumel is a short walk fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialKTravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Melr H

On behalf of the entire Playacar Family, I would like to thank you for gave us the opportunity to host during your stay in Riviera Maya. Furthermore, I want to thank you for taking the time to share yours comments with us about your experience here. You and your family are part of the Playacar Family.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Playacar Palace

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.

Ps. On you travels, contact the staff or the management if things are not according to your expectations on your next travel. Give the hotel the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogunquit, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

On a return visit, we find this resort improved during the past three years - We love the location - in Playa del Carmen near the ferry dock to Cozumel, adjacent to Senor Frogs and a few steps to 5th Avenue - the famous pedestrian area lined with shops of all kinds, bars, clubs and restaurants.
The beach was replenished a couple of years ago after a hurricane - It's now ver wide with soft sand and has withstood a few storms without deteriorating. Lot of lounge chairs - 150 of them - set in six rows with umbrellas to provide shade - not eye appealing but another section has lovely rattan double loungers with 6 inch cushions each with it's own umbrella and table - this area is reserved for Palace Vacation Club Members and "Elite" guests wearing black bracelets. Wait staff service on the beach is constant, friendly and prompt -- both for drinks and a limited food menu.
The rooms have been renovated with beautiful tall dark wood dressers that house a liquor cabinet - a stocked refrigerator and storage drawers. The flat screen TV offers Americans FOX NY and ESPN (Spanish). The beds are comfortable with crisp sheets, a selection of pillows triple sheeted over a faux down blanket and a duvet cover. The double in-room Jacuzzi tubs overlooking the water are all new. The marble bathroom has a huge shower with sufficient pressure and lots of fluffy bath towels are provided.
The safe is large enough for a small computer. I pod docking stations are in every room along with an iron and ironing board. Small containers of shampoo and bath toiletries are provided.
There is entertainment of some sort each evening - a fire show, Mexican Show, guitarist, piano player and even a gambling night. Some of this entertainment moves from resort to resort along the coast.
Food is good - not gourmet, but more than adequate. The most sophisticated restaurant is La Terrazza - Italian?? - well maybe not if you'e from NY but it does have some good dishes. What we enjoyed most was Tuna Tartare - a quite large portion and Mille Feuille for desert were both excellent. Wine is decanted for serving without extra charge, except for high end bottles on a special list. Flaming coffees for desert were both a "show" and a "hit". The Asian restaurant was being renovated so it was incorporated as a section in the buffet dining room that served guests "a la carte".
This resort is a good choice for an RCI timeshare exchange or even if booked through your travel agent where you will get $1500 per room in credits too spend on Spa, Tours, Upgrades, Shopping or Wines. It's a great value in the interesting Playa del Carmen community.
Best of all is the staff - All are very happy and attentive....David the GM is seen throughout the resort greeting guests, overlooking everything and helping out in whatever way needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cantin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you Cantin, for choosing us.The entire Playacar Family appreciate your kind words and the comments about all the changes. We hope to host you again on your next visit to Mexico!

Hasta Pronto!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I just returned from a week at the Playacar Palace with my family and friends. We had a wonderful time. I really want to thank Angel, Cristian and Viviana in the lobby bar. They were so friendly and welcoming. We ate three times at the Tepenyaki restaurant. We really enjoyed Raul, Victor, Mario and Sol. The Luna lounge with Ramon was fun. The room was beautiful and clean. The pool was warm and Perla was so welcoming. We had wonderful weather for the first 4 days then the rain came. I admire how the hotel staff rally to provide indoor activities and entertainment to keep the visitors happy. There are a couple of small complaints. The first is the hallways outside the rooms. They are loud and you can hear people returning to their rooms at all hours and hear their entire conversations. Check out was bumpy. When our driver arrived to take us to the airport my luggage was behind the desk. I asked a bell boy several times if we could get our luggage and he stated his coworker would be with me shortly. In the mean time several other people arrived and were served immediately. My son finally went behind the desk and grabbed some of our luggage himself and the bell boy finally took action. He again stated that his coworker was going to help us but the coworker was dealing with a very large wedding party that was departing and they were unorganized. Both these complaints are small and did not affect the wonderful time I had with my family and friends.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms too close to the lobby. When the weather turns the activities and parties relocate there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lstoeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and please, accept my apologize for the issue.

We hope to host you again really soon

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Everything is perfect at Playacar. Especially the waitstaff!! Theyre on top of their game waiting on you hand and foot! Our server, Elvia was amazing! We will definitely come back to see her and the rest of the crew!! It's a very professional resort that deserves all the stars it has!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Eddie E

Thank you on behalf of our entire team for the delicate comment you have posted on TripAdvisor. Elvia and all the entire Playacar family are really please that you enjoyed your stay with us

Al the Playacar Family is pleased that your visit has given you full satisfaction and hope to see you again in our beautiful hotel.

Please, contact me for your next stay with us to make all the arrangements of your travel.

Hasta Pronto!

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace GM


GM Tip. If you want this to be your story, do not hesitate to contact the hotel staff, the management or the GM, if things are not according to your expectations on your travel. Give us the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
25.0 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,280 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,050 reviews
12.5 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,418 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
7,239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing