We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playacar palace all inclusive”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #28 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we stayed at Playacar Palace during our visit to palaya del carmen for a wedding. The Hotel was nice. The Hotel location was very close (5 min walk) to the 5th Avenue( the main street and famous one that all activities are around it). I don't recommend to get out of hotel after 8pm. it is very scary since you see military cars and lots of police that searching the taxis. polices were covering their faces with black masks. they were carrying the hug guns. Playacar palace was nice and clean. staffs were very friendly. The food was ok. the hotel had 3 restaurant. Italian and Chinese and a 24 hour buffet. you never get hungry there. The pool bar also serve fast food as well. we stayed 4 nigh and they gave us $750 reward that we could spend in hotel. 150 in spa and the rest in hotel. but you have to pay 16% tax of whatever you spend of that money. I got a massage that cost $180 so I end up to pay 30+ 16% tax which was ok. you also can spend that money in gift shop but you should spend at atleast $100, not sales items and pay tax. And if you get wine in the the italian and Chinese restaurant, the price of the wine would reduce from your $750 and you pay 16% tax when you checking out from the hotel. Use sunscreen 70+ with you since get burn very fast. Spa was nice. I got a hot stone massage, not the best one I got but it was ok. you also able to use your hotel credit for few outdoor activity. We used our hotel credit to go to "swim with Dolphins." It was such a great experience but remember to have someone to take pictures of you since the people there rip you off. One picture cost $37 and for 2 people $90 for one CD full of your pictures. Our room was nice and clean but remember not to open the window in the day time since the humidity is too high and if you do, in a second every thing in your room get wet. Don't get a room in front of the pool since people have wedding and get drunk and music would be very loud and it would bother you. Get a room with only beach view. If you are traveling with kids, there was a play room full of toys for kids so they would be busy there.

Room Tip: Pick beach side room. not pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nazly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,047 - 2,053 of 4,711 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Overall Resort was nice. Employees were very friendly. Room was kept clean, air worked very good. Only complaint with room was they never left enough towels or hand clothes had to always call for me. Room service was great menu selection nice. My grandson loved the pizza. The pool was kind of small and if you was down by 7ish forget getting a good spot. There was always plenty of chairs for the beach. Beach was clean and nice. If your looking for a party atmosphere this isn't the place pretty much dead at night. Overall it was a nice place in a great location.

Room Tip: Higher floor to see ocean palm trees are pretty tall. We were on the side of Señor Frogs had heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar Palace truly appreciate the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Like another Palace Resorts, excellent service, beautiful accomodations, oustanding food.
This was the first time we stayed at Playacar Palace and for sure we will be back. The service was excellent. The staff was always available to help. The restaurant had good food choices.
The beach was beautiful, the ferry to Cozumel was at door steps from the resort. The 5th Avenue (shopping street) was outside the resort, very convenient to buy souveniers and to have night life. The recreation group was very good. My daughter and husband enjoyed the pool at all times with the recreation group. EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT !!! 100%,100%, SATISFIED!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evelynmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar Palace truly appreciate the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am typically not a fan of all-inclusive hotels, but my friend had her wedding here and I have to admit I was positively blown away by the food and service. I am a vegetarian and kind of a health nut (I am a nutritionist by profession) and I was very pleased with the options. There were many for me, like the fresh juices without added sugar and variety of raw and cooked vegetables, beans, legumes. The people at the hotel were extremely friendly and accommodating. Thank you Isreal, Diego, Guadalupe, and Quetzal for always helping me!! The rest of the restaurant staff were equally as amazing, I just don't remember the names. The rooms are beautiful, the beach is beautiful. I would definitely recommend this place to friends:)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar Palace truly appreciate the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Playacar Place early this month as wedding guests and despite all the rain we had a great time. The staff was very attentive at all times, the food was good, the rooms were really comfy and the amenities were awesome! We book our stay through Beach Bum Vacation w/ the assistance of Nanda. She made booking our first trip to Mexico a breeze! She was very responsive to all our questions and providing everything we need in a timely manner. Thanks Beach Bum Vacation and the staff at Playacar, we are definitely looking to return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank BklynBella75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar Palace truly appreciate the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First I would say, we are making our way around to all the Palace Resorts. We had visited this resort once before on a day pass, and decided to stay there this past February. The first thing we noticed upon arrival at the resort, was the GREAT customer service. From the first minute we set forth on the property, everyone we encountered made us feel as though we were the most important guest there. This is not unusual for a palace resort, but notably a notch above what we expected. From the bar service, to the pool and beach staff to the fine waiters and waitresses at the restaurant. I would not have enough space to name all of the staff so I specifically made note of a few: Porforio was absolutely "perfect" (that's how I remembered his name). He was eager to greet us each morning for breakfast with our "green Juice" and coffee mate for our coffee. He had anticipatory skills which I can only guess has been sharpened by years of waiting on customers at Playacar. I mentioned him, because we looked for him each day--but if he was not available, there was no shortage of outstanding service from the other wait staff including Edgar, Israel, Artemio, Mayrdo, Francisco, and Miriam. The waiters in the evening restaurants were equally as accommodating. It really seemed that they enjoyed waiting on you: everyone at the restaurants and bars. We met a lot of really nice people there, including the guests. We will go back, but are still making our way to all of the Palace Resorts.

Room Tip: Don't book a room near the pool bar closest to the rooms If you retire to bed early. It was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PghTravelers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar Palace truly appreciate the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have always heard that second parts are bad but, since I had such a great experience last year at the Beach Palace, I decided to try another hotel from the same company. The service from the front desk and the people who coordinate the "hotel credits" is very inefficient..
We tried to use the hotel credits to take tour as we did last year, but the ones we wanted were only on certain days of the week, so we rented a car from the hotel and went to Coba. When we came back there was nobody at the desk, so we went to the Guest Relations and the lady there told to leave the key with the front desk staff. We explained to them that, even when we could have the car for 24 hours, we would be leaving early the next morning for a tour. The front desk staff refused to accept the key and told us they would not be open until 8:00 am.
We tried again in the morning before leaving for the day tour, but the front desk refused again. We left the key in an envelope on top of a desk but in the afternoon, they said we had to pay two days rent. I guess they never heard of a drop box for the keys.
The air conditioner in the restaurants barely works, which is a shame because the food is great and the waiters are awesome.
Nevertheless, i do not think I would visit any of the other Palace hotels ever again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Tere6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,935 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,124 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
16,877 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
9,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £331 - £625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing