We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #18 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Bush, Louisiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We just got back from a week here. This place has wonderful food, location to Cozumel ferry & shopping is perfect, the staff to always helpful & friendly. Room to relax at poolside or on beach. There is great locations for golf as well near by.

Room Tip: all rooms are about the same, Gulf of Mexico view. Rooms on the north side are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review and the time to write it. We really hope to see you back soon, and please, do not hesitate to contact me before fo you arrival.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,093
    776
    211
    64
    39
See reviews for
1,450
1,798
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went on vacation in June, and had a wonderful experience at playacar palace. We had a couples massages that was amazing. The people that really made our trip was Cesar, who did the pool entertainment. He had so much great energy and remembered us from the beginning of the trip. The other person was Nora, the cocktail server by the pool. She was such a hard worker but having fun all at the same time. She was amazing. Thank you Cesar and Nora for making our trip the best!

Room Tip: Make sure if you're going with your significant other, to request nor bed, or you might be stuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ericka M

Thank you on behalf of our entire team for the delicate comment you have posted on TripAdvisor. Cesar, Nora and all the Playacar family is really please that you enjoy your stay with us

The Entire Playacar Family is pleased that your visit has given you full satisfaction and hope to see you again in our beautiful hotel.

Please, contact me for your next stay with us to make all the arrangements of your travel.

HastaPronto!

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M


GM Tip. If you want this to be your story, do not hesitate to contact the hotel staff, the management or the GM, if things are not according to your expectations on your travel. Give us the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family spent 4 days at this all inclusive resort a break after a hectic 4 weeks in the USA. The hotel is perfectly positioned within walking distance to central Player + most importantly in a clean part of the beach. The beach closer to the Ave Constituyentes is very polluted, we would definitely not swim at the other end. The resort is spacious clean and is very nicely designed, featuring the views at every opportunity. Everyone is incredibly friendly + honest. I left my wallet down by the chess set for a few hours and it was returned all intact by a kind staff member. Our highlight was the sushi made by Janpto Sushero in the Homo No Hona Restaurant, it was exceptionally good, he should be promoted, the sushi is as good as we've tasted! The Italian restaurant looks great but was far less impressive. Overall as an all inclusive resort with children, we would definitely recommend it.
Sue
Australia

Room Tip: high level south side, great views + with courtyard to the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlot1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Merlot 1994

First and foremost, allow me to thank you for your warm to all the Playacar Family.

We are working hard everyday to guarantee our guests the best experience possible, and we feel glad you did. We will be happy to receive you soon.

Do not forget to contact me before your arrival to make all the arrangments for your dinners, arrival, etc...

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Playacar Palace from July 6-11. Two adults, two kids. We arrived in the evening and were checked in quickly and taken to our room. They didn't have any double rooms left, so we were given a king bed and two rollaway beds. There wasn't much room to walk around, but everyone was comfortable.

The food was excellent. Take the kitchen tour. It was amazing to see all the food and the precautions they take to make sure everything is good and safe. You can really order anything in any of the restaurants.

If you want to eat at the hibachi tables in the Japanese restaurant, make reservations early.

The beach is nice. The entertainment staff is wonderful. Loved playing beach volleyball.

If you're traveling with little ones, the kids' club is well staffed and fun. My kids kept asking to go there. Miyuki is super sweet. There is entertainment in the early evenings, but no real night life in the resort. I actually preferred that since my kids needed to sleep.

The pool bar is the place to be in the afternoons after it gets shady.

We're plotting our return for spring break and staying a week next time around.

Room Tip: We were in 525. The ocean view was partly obscured by part of the roof, but what was there was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Janelle,

Thank you for sharing with us and with other future guests your experience during your last visit to Playacar Palace

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemere, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was my best anniversary of all time at this beautiful resort. Staff is very dedicated and helpful. Marco the lifeguard was really nice and helpful with all guests on the beach. Perla was a very good and nice waitress. Takes the time to know your name and is upfront and handles all your needs with a lot of patience and an excellent service. The Head Chef Oscar is one of the best restaurant chef I ever met. He does a celebration dinner, which you must attend!!! Very nice and food exquisite. The food in all the restaurants is good and a lot of varieties on the menu. I will go back to this hotel for the many years to come. Everything is a 5 star hotel!! You should ask for a suite or a concierge level room. Really worthed. Thank you to all the staff, managers and employees!! Sandra and Natalie

Room Tip: You should ask for oceanfront with a balcony or terrasse (suite or concierge level top rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for give us the oportunity to host you, and we really hope to see you back really soon.

Take Care and Hasta Pronto!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for a week. The staff are friendly & helpful. Food was good. Loved the variety offered at the 3 different restaurants on the grounds. My only complaint is I wanted to have/see more Mexican food at the buffet or even a Mexican restaurant as one of the offerings. We were in Mexico after all! You won't be disappointed at this place. Very nice time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was absolutely the best service I have ever received. The staff doesnt expect tips at all and wow they are great ! I got married here two weeks ago and it couldnt have been better. I highly recommend going to the palace. The food is great I had chicken wings every day haha these are my favorite. The Italian and hibachi restaurant were top grade . Get the steak at the Italian and get the crunch wrap at hibachi. Really this place was great. The other hotels are all inclusive so go check them out if you can. I didnt get a chance to see Cozumel resort but I did see Isla De Mujeres Palace and Palace in Cancun. I didnt really like Cancuns Palace I thought there were to many little kids and the beach was nothing like that in Playa Carmen. Isla De Mujeres was great its a boat ride from Cancun. Isla Palace is more of a quite relaxed environment and great for a couple to get away. You can rent a scooter of golf cart and drive all around the Island. Check out North and South Point in Isla its beautiful . Overall a great trip and I will be coming back. Thanks again for the great service. !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 53Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,483 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
12.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing