We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation at playacar palace”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #23 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

was here at playacar palace for aweek in july. son and daughter inlaw renewed their 25th year wedding vows. was a wonderful ceremony then reception food was great. then dinner for 33 people. staff was the greatest went all out for anything you wanted. the entertainment people was the greatest alexander, ivan, leo,cesar, and the great aline, they all remember your names and get u going in activities, waiters and waitresses all from day one remembers your name drinks and anything you wanted, Martha was there almost everyday, wonderful, staff always helped me with our pool chairs and umbrellas and got me towels to. food was awesome , al the resturants, and staff always smiled, I can't wait to get back soon. Darlene is coming back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank darlenejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Darlene

Congratulations and thank you on behalf of our entire team for the delicate comment you have posted on TripAdvisor. Alexander, Ivan, Leo, Cesar, Aline, Martha, Marco and the entire Playacar family was really pleased to host you for such an special occasion.

We do our best in order to know our guests by name and not by room number or brazalet, your are now a new member of the Playacar Family

Please, contact me for your next stay with us to make all the arrangements of your travel.

HastaPronto!

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,906 - 1,912 of 4,613 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Playacar Palace. We were taking a trip to PDC and sought a place we could just relax, get away from the daily grind and celebrate our anniversary. We were able to accomplish all that and more.

First off, the location being near 5th and the ferry to Cozumel made it very easy to head off resort and just enjoy the town and Cozumel. The beach was clean and absolutely beautiful to look at, especially from our ocean view balcony. We felt safe and most of the folks speak at least a little English, which was a concern for us as other than "cervesa" and "si", we spoke hardly any Spanish.

Next, the full-inclusion package made meals and drinks a breeze. We also had a hotel credit for "spendable" items such as dinners, excursions/tours and gifts. We took advantage of them and booked a trip to Chichenitza, had two special dinners (Romantic Beachside Dinner and The Chef's Dinner), a few hours at the Spa for massages and brought some Tequllia home. All-in-all, we felt pretty spoiled and DID NOT even use up all of our credits.

The food - well, it was good but nothing special, aside from the dinners we booked. Don't get me wrong, it was good but being a foodie, we found better food off the resort in town. The Asian and Italian restaurant were indeed pretty good though and allowed for some variety.

Overall, great trip and would likely repeat it. Have not been to any other resorts to compare it too but most folks we spoke to while there, who had been to others, advised this place was a great choice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sopagna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you on behalf of our entire team for the delicate comment you have posted on TripAdvisor. The entire Playacar family was really pleased to host you for such an special occasion.

Please, contact me for your next stay with us to make all the arrangements of your travel.

HastaPronto!

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Playacar Palace is a very nice resort it is smaller than most resorts on the boutique hotel size but the personalized service is great.Food is great ,quality is high the resort is spotless and rooms are clean up to date and very comfortable . Staff is great and went out of there way to make are stay perfect. I must put a big note on David the hotel manager who is in my opinion what helps make the hotel a great place to stay!! The way he takes care of hotel guests, all hotel services and his staff is above the rest.I highly recommend this resort not only for beautiful beach, water and hotel but for the personal attention you received from the staff. .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Bobbymenendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr. Menendez

We truly appreciate your review, was lovely to receive you at Playacar Palace for your family holidays! Thank you so much! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.

All the Playacar Family will really proud and happy to see this review, more even when we didn't start with the right foot. Thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon!


Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.

GM Tip. If you want this to be your story, do not hesitate to contact the hotel staff, the management or the GM, if things are not according to your expectations on your travel. Give us the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Traveled to Playacar Palace from Moon Palace for the day. The chef made a red snapper at lunch that was a fresh catch right in front of the resort. While I didn't have any, the presentation was fun. The chef at the outdoor restaurant made our group a fantastic dinner. The food was awesome. My daughter is gluten free and they provided her with gluten free bread, soup and dessert, along with her steak. When I have stayed there as a guest, they all know your name by day 2. The spa is fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wants small and personal. Aline Alvarez has got to be one of the sweetest and most fun person I have met at all my trips to Mexico. Her energy and enthusiasm is such an asset to this resort. Aline is the entertainment staff and she is definitely entertaining. I can't wait to get back to this resort just to see Aline again. Great job Palace! This hotel is also the perfect location. it is a short two minute walk to 5th Avenue and the boat dock to and from Cozumel.

Room Tip: Sand up suites are perfect for quick access to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LVCocoPebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear LVCoco

We truly appreciate your review, was lovely to receive you at Playacar Palace for a day! Thank you so much!

Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. We hope to be your next choice for a future stay.

All the Playacar Family will really proud and happy to see this review.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family and I vacationed at Playacar Palace from July16-July 23rd. We stayed in the Presidential Suite, which was fantastic. The beach is absolutely beautiful here. The sand is powder soft and the water is beautiful shades of blue. The people that work at the resort are so nice. Three people very much stood out to us. Perla who served us on the beach, always with a smile and kindness. She always kept the drinks coming quickly to keep us refreshed in the heat. Antonio was our waiter at the Italian restaurant. He always went out of his way to make our dinners their special. He made Mayan coffee and crepes for us during our visits and always commented that it was his pleasure to serve us. Porfiro in Cafe del Mar helped us with breakfasts many mornings. He always had a smile on his face and coffee ready for my husband. These are a few of the special people that have made us continue to want to come to this resort for the past three years. This resort is situated close to the ferry that takes you to Cozumel and right around the corner from 5th Avenue for shopping. It is truly a beautiful part of Mexico. If you want to take trips off of the resort, many wonderful ecological parks like Xcaret, Xelha, and X-plor are close by. Visiting Akumal to see the huge sea turtles and beautiful fish was one of the hilights of our trip this year.

Room Tip: The upper floors with balconies are nice facing the ocean for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Skinner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Skinner2014

Perla and the entire Playacar Palace are pleased. It will be our pleasure to welcome you to your home away from home and guarantee that your future stay is excellent, surrounded by a relaxing atmosphere and a warm professional service provided by our team

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

GM Tip. If you want this to be your story, do not hesitate to contact the hotel staff, the management or the GM, if things are not according to your expectations on your travel. Give us the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We just got back from a week here. This place has wonderful food, location to Cozumel ferry & shopping is perfect, the staff to always helpful & friendly. Room to relax at poolside or on beach. There is great locations for golf as well near by.

Room Tip: all rooms are about the same, Gulf of Mexico view. Rooms on the north side are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review and the time to write it. We really hope to see you back soon, and please, do not hesitate to contact me before fo you arrival.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went on vacation in June, and had a wonderful experience at playacar palace. We had a couples massages that was amazing. The people that really made our trip was Cesar, who did the pool entertainment. He had so much great energy and remembered us from the beginning of the trip. The other person was Nora, the cocktail server by the pool. She was such a hard worker but having fun all at the same time. She was amazing. Thank you Cesar and Nora for making our trip the best!

Room Tip: Make sure if you're going with your significant other, to request nor bed, or you might be stuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Ericka M

Thank you on behalf of our entire team for the delicate comment you have posted on TripAdvisor. Cesar, Nora and all the Playacar family is really please that you enjoy your stay with us

The Entire Playacar Family is pleased that your visit has given you full satisfaction and hope to see you again in our beautiful hotel.

Please, contact me for your next stay with us to make all the arrangements of your travel.

HastaPronto!

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M


GM Tip. If you want this to be your story, do not hesitate to contact the hotel staff, the management or the GM, if things are not according to your expectations on your travel. Give us the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
18.6 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
25.0 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
2,312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#76 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#43 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,562 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £318 - £622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing