We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely love this place!!!”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #21 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely love this place!!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Playacar Palace is just awesome. Great food, great location, but most of all, the best service you can find...They strive to make you feel like you own the place - The people everywhere in the resort are there to take care of you...Guadalupe, Sotero, Edgar, Meira, Isabel, Araceli, Micelia, German, to name a few - OMG they are just awesome. The Hotel was completely full and we still got great service. To the member administration management team: I wish you took care of members the way resort staff takes care of resort guests - their service is simply amazing.

Room Tip: Most rooms in this property are very good with partial or full beach views. There are some that do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Jorge

Thank you very much for review, Guadalupe, Sotero, Edgar, Meira, Isabel, Araceli, Micelia, German, are an example of the passion we feel for our "job". The entire Playacar Family really appreciate your comments.

Palace Resorts is well known for their concern about their staff, and I guarantee you that more than 3000 people are very pleased of working for Palace Resorts.

We hope to see you soon and do not hesitate to write me for any questions or request for your next visit.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.

GM Tip. If you want this to be your story, contact the hotel staff, the management or the GM, if things are not according to your expectations on your travel. Give us the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,386
    854
    224
    72
    44
See reviews for
1,672
1,926
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just returned from a 6 night stay. It was the first all-inclusive experience for our family of four, and we loved how easy Playacar made it to enjoy our vacation without worrying about food and drinks. Service was superb, everyone worked very hard to help us enjoy our break. We booked through Costco and got a room upgrade, which happened before. Room 100, though lovely and huge, was quite loud with clanging throughout the night, and we had several plumbing issues during our stay. Resort credits can be useful, especially for the lovely spa experience, but can be difficult to use. All of the restaurants had a nice variety of good food and we looked forward to every meal. The ocean was beautiful to behold but unfortunately there was an influx of seaweed during our visit that littered the beach and filled the water with debris, and the ferry to Cozumel, while incredibly convenient as it is steps from our hotel, does give off a persistent diesel odor. Still, it was a very enjoyable stay, and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 100, though lovely and huge, was quite loud with clanging throughout the night, and we had seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Liz K, each you time you came, we treat you as our own family, and we pamper you as one of us. Thank you for you kind words, and remember that this is and will always be, your home away from home

We really hope to see you back soon, hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just returned from Playcar Palace, it was great!! We traveled with two other couples just for a vacation from the daily grind. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; the place was beautiful, the staff was super friendly (Perla, Ulesis, Javier, Fransico Javier, Julio, Silvia, Jessica, & Gerado just to name a few!), the food was super yummy, and the drinks kept coming! Excellent resort, 2 thumbs up guys, thanks for a great vacation!

Room Tip: Ocean view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Krystle M

First and foremost, allow me to thank you for your warm to all the Playacar Family.

We are working hard everyday to guarantee our guests the best experience possible, and we feel glad you did. We will be happy to receive you soon.

Do not forget to contact me before your arrival to make all the arrangments for your dinners, arrival, etc...

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
drubio@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having seen the Playacar Palace many times from the Cozumel ferry, we never planned to stay there. However, my son and fiancé picked it for their destination wedding.
The entire all exclusive resort experience was well beyond our expectations. Great food, top quality cocktails, clean rooms and great service. Highly recommended . Make sure you get a chair by the pool that is served by Perla...she is awesome!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randyc1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you Larry M, for choosing us.Perla and the entire Playacar Family appreciate your kind words and we hope to host you again on your next visit to Mexico!

Hasta Pronto!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Everything at this resort was spot on. Would/will recommend to any of my friends and family. Roman was especially great. Very attentive and an overall great host. Had a blast with him and the other waiters at The Luna Lounge. Victor at the Hibachi Grill was over the top as well. Already looking forward to my return visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
All the Playacar Family truly appreciates your comments about our service, and I want to thank you for the time to write your review on Trip advisor. Our main difference and goal is to know our guests by name and not by wrist band or room number. We feel proud you enjoyed your service and remember that Playacar will always be your warm home away from home.

Please, feel free to contact me anytime at your next visit in order to make all the arrangements about your room and special details

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.

GM Tip. If you want this to be your story, contact the hotel staff, the management or the GM, if things are not according to your expectations on your travel. Give us the opportunity to change the “color” of your vacations. Every hotel will be happy to exceed you expectations, and you will enjoy a great stay. An average or bad review post travel will not give you your vacations back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Playacar Palace is ideal for families as it is not too big and has a very safe feel to it. The atmosphere is very relaxed and everyone makes you feel as if nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is perfect for the ferry to Cozemel and to walk to the shopping area. We visited two of the sister hotels and the children were eager to return to the Playacar Palace as we all agreed was the best. The food was to a very high standard in all three of the restaurants, our favourite being the Italian. Leonel and Rafael were superb and made each evening spent there a memorable experience and the standard of the food was excellent. The entertainment team were so friendly and always smiling-(Alexandro) and all three of my children enjoyed some of the activities with them. The bar staff and beach waiters worked very hard and refilled drinks before you even asked, which was a big hit with my family! I have never felt the need to write on trip advisor before but always read the reviews, but this time feel I can say an extra thank you to David the manager and all his fantastic staff for making our family holiday one we will always remember. Mexico is a fantastic place to visit with so much to do and see but this hotel is a must to complete a perfect holiday. Started saving for the next trip already! The family Foley

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Foley Family

Thank you, thank you, thank you on behalf of our entire team for such a delicate comment posted on TripAdvisor. Leonel, Rafael, Alejandro...and all the Playacar family is really please that you enjoy your stay with us

The Entire Playacar Family is pleased that your visit has given you full satisfaction and we hope to see you again in our beautiful hotel and your home in Mexico

Please, contact me for your next stay with us to make all the arrangements for your next trip back home.

HastaPronto!

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We are returning guests (in September 2014) based on several factors.

• The rooms and views are exceptional
• The beds are extremely comfortable
• The food is amazing
• The staff superb
• The location is within walking distance to Playa del Carmen
• The Spa is beautiful
• The resort offers a $1,500 room credit to be used on a variety of amenities, golf, tours, spa treatments AND, towards a room upgrade
Apparently, the Palace Resorts, as a conglomerate, have decided to disallow the room upgrades as a whole. Unfortunately, this has NOT been communicated by AIR TRANSAT HOLIDAYS. The Air Transat 2014-2015 holiday book clearly shows it is still available, as does the Playacar Palace Resort page, inside this book.
According to the Playacar Resort, they ceased this room upgrade promotion in 2013!!! Therefore AIR TRANSAT should have published a retraction but did not. AIR TRANSAT should have sent a memo across the board to their travel agents that sell AT vacations. They also did not.
We have made a booking in September, as returning clients, based on the assumption that we will (still) be able to use our $,1500 room credit to upgrade. Hence, we did not book an ocean view room in advance.
If you run into this situation, please do not assume that you can use your room credit for an upgrade
We are seasoned travellers and had no reason to suspect that there had been a change in offerings as it is still printed and offered in the AIR TRANSAT 2014-2015 brochure.
Needless to say, AIR TRANSAT is pushing the responsibility onto the travel agent OR the Playacar Palace Resort. They will not honour what is in (THEIR) own holiday book. They want the resort to take responsibility!!! The resort is also pushing back based on the fact that (they) had a corporate change in 2013.
If you book this resort, you will not be disappointed, however, gather your facts before you book and ultimately pay your money to AIR TRANSAT

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank English R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear English R

Our Resort Credit is a live product that is changing everyday, with the only intention of getting better day by day. I hope you decide to visit us and enjoy our services and products that are available with our promotion.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any question about the Resort Credit Promotion.

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
25.0 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,280 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,050 reviews
12.5 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,418 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
7,239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing