We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I agree, great for a few days.”
Review of Paamul Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paamul Hotel
Ranked #143 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I agree, great for a few days.”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed just two nights. Great rates. Great view. Great for sunning. Only one restaurant on premise so that could get tiring if you don't have a way to get around.
Don't count on Internet. We did. We were told they had it, but needed to ask for the much guarded code each time. My sister was suppose to work remotely, but that changed with her work and that was fortunate because it would have been a big problem. My husbands mother was sick, so that is how we kept in touch and part of why we needed to. Sometimes you cannot totally disappear on vacation.
It reminded us of checking into a cabin up north in Minnesota. I think that area of service could improve. They have a hidden gem that can improve but I'll tell you guests seem very happy and keep returning year after year.

Room Tip: We chose lower level as we could walk right off to take a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paamul, Owner at Paamul Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
We appreciate your comments. We are a small, family run company and upon becoming aware of the internet issues we have upgraded substantially our internet strength and are now offering free internet to every suite in the hotel. In ten more days we will have coffee makers in every suite as well so you can enjoy your coffee from the comfort of your own suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    42
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
59
75
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Went to Paamul two weeks ago, with the stress of work and daily issues, My wife and decided to go to Paamul Beach for some R&R, surely we did, between the comfort and peace, the Food (OMG) the food, to simply waking up to the sound of the ocean.....Wow.... total stress relief. Would recommend to anyone who just wants peace and quite with out all the commercial stuff, Paamul is the place!

PS. Very happy wife!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jgvfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Springs
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I spent three days at the Paamul Hotel with our friend Kevin at the end of our three week vacation in Mexico. Very clean, modern, boutique (12 rooms) hotel on the sea. Paamul is a relaxing, friendly village of 200 or so palapas, mostly Canadian and American retirees. We had a nice stay in Paamul. It is only 20 minutes south of Playa and 30 minutes north of Tulum. Cool place to get away from the hustle of Playa and chill by the sea for not a lot of $.

Room Tip: We had the master suite with very spartan cooking potential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had such a great time at the Paamul Hotel and Resort. We loved the relaxed pace and beautiful surroundings. The staff were very courteous and helpful in making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The restaurant was excellent, the food wonderful and a good value and the service staff were super friendly. We hope to visit Paamul Hotel again soon on our next vacation

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I have just returned from yet another trip to Playa del Carmen we love it there, this was the first time we stayed in Paamul and were not sure what to expect! The friend of ours who told us about the hotel said try it you will love it, she was 100% right... We stayed from the 13-15 of Feb. and had a great time, their were just a few things that I am going to post this is not because I was upset with them but because I understand the owners are not onsite and they need to see the comments.

We had dinner the first night there, their were 4-5 employees that I could see from where I was and maybe 10 people in the restaurant. We spend allot of time in Playa but we were charged 80 pesos for a Piña Colada that was served in a Very small Glass. They could have serviced it is a GLOBO or large round glass it uses a but more liquid but you dont feel as if you are being taken.
Also when we were done we asked for La Quenta or the Check and after 4 times the water said ooo do you want the Check.

The second this is that we went to Cozumel the 14th and when we came back our beds were made and the room very clean towels folded ect. The problem was the towels we had used the day before were wet and the cleaning lady folded them as if they were new and they stunk of wet.

The last problem was in the restaurant and that was friday morning, we went to the restaurant and they dont open until 8am so we asked if they had coffee and the kid took his phone out of his pocket and said nope not until 8am. SO we sat there waiting, since I am a gringo the staff must of thought I dont speak spanish which is do 100% and they had mouths like truck drivers. We waited until 810 am and said is their coffee now the other kid said ooo you want coffee it has been ready since 730 am. This is not great for business!

All in all we are planning a family trip in May and are considering returning to the hotel but will keep to eating in Puerto Adventuras and take snacks as the restaurant has allot to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mexoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paamul, Owner at Paamul Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are a small, family run company and love to hear from our clients. We always strive to be the best we can be. Within the next ten days we will have coffee makers in all of our suites, so you can enjoy coffee from the comfort of your own terrace! Regarding your comments about the restaurant, you are right. We open at 8 a.m. every day. The people you saw before 8 are our cleaning staff and can't serve our guests. And regarding the language of our staff - we are very proud to employ Mayan people who have worked for us for many years. We believe in and support our community and these hard working people who have learned English and excellent service skills. I apologize that they were difficult to understand. I guarantee that the bad language that you thought you heard was our staff speaking in their native tongue, Maya, which is what they use to communicate among themselves. We hope to serve you again during your upcoming trip in May and also hope that you enjoy our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This place is beautiful and affordable.The views are amazing and the staff are friendly. You are close to playa del carmen and there is so much to do in the area, snorkle from the beach or just chill by the tiki bar!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cabana on the beach facing the ocean and just couldn't have been more happier. The views were just phenomenal.
The cabanas are basic, rustic, clean, comfortable and complete with a fridge.
The beach is a part of an RV trailer park which has the most quirky houses I've ever seen.
Away from all the tourists, the beach was pretty much deserted.

Playa del Carmen is a short shuttle bus away which cost us 20 pesos, they go frequently and stop at the top of the road, we were pleasantly surprised at how traveller friendly they were and an absolute bargain too!

There is a restaurant and dive shop on the beach, plus a little mini market at the top of the road.
I'd highly recommend this place to anyone seeking an interesting alternative to branded hotels, close enough to centre of Playa Del Carmen, but far enough away to have an entire beach practically to yourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SianYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.0 mi away
Coral Maya
Coral Maya
#14 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
78 reviews
5.5 mi away
Serenity Eco Luxury Tented Camp
3.2 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#21 of 23 in Akumal
62 reviews
12.6 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
341 reviews
2.8 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paamul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paamul Hotel

Property: Paamul Hotel
Address: Federal Road Cancun-Tulum 305 | 12 miles south of Playa del Carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Cabanas Paamul)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a dreamy place in the heart of The Riviera Maya next to the Caribbean Sea on one of the most spectacular bays of the Mexican Caribbean. All suites are located 60 ft from the ocean and include two queen size beds, air conditioning, hair dryers, safes, mini refrigerator, coffee makers, microwave, Wi-Fi, Cable TV and private beachfront terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Paamul Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paamul Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing