We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paamul Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paamul Hotel
Ranked #128 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Orcutt, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personal paradise”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Paamul is the perfect little paradise, we had some time on our hands so we stayed on both the Cabana and the Suite. The Cabana was a great experience for the kids, AC worked running hot water as well, and just steps to the beach. My wife and I were impressed with the quality and attention to detail of the hotel suite so much that we cant wait to go back with out the children. The pool was being renovated at the time I wish management would have compensated us for that, The food from the restaurant was delicious and well dining you have a priceless view of the Caribbean Sea. They are very well staffed throughout the complex. The only unpleasant experience was the interruption of a surprise fire drill at the cabanas in the wee hour of the morning, on the other hand they are preparing there staff if there was ever an emergency.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    42
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
73
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

An ancient caravan parking turned into resort and hotel on the beach, South of Playa del Carmen, near Puerto Aventuras. The right place to go if you love nature and are not looking for luxury, but prefer to stay on a relaxed, not very populated area near all the attractions.

Room Tip: Choose a floor level room directly on the sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Omar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at Paamul for a week in early July 2013. We rented a car and drove down from the Cancun airport. It takes about an hour to get there from the airport. The hotel is down a long dirt road, but the exit is well marked and it is very easy to find once you are on the highway. Pulling up to the hotel you immediately notice that they do a good job with security. They watch who is coming and going and no one is wondering around that shouldn't be there.
I loved the place. It is away from the crowds and snorkling is really nice. They have a small pool, but fine for the kids. They have a decent little restaurant, but it is a tad pricey for Mexico (like $8 pina coladas). They also have a dive center about 15 steps from the hotel. At night we would drive to Playa Del Carmen for dinner. It is about 25 minutes to get to Playa. We also went to Xel-Ha and Tulum, both of which are located within about 1/2 hour.
The room was perfect. Clean and comfortable. The A/C was frigid. There is a coffee maker, fridge and microwave. I think you save a lot of money by buying beer at the supermarket and having the kids eat chicken nuggets for a couple of meels a week. Most importanitly was the view of the ocean, simply paradise. The only bummer is the reef in front of the hotel is dying. But this is the case in most of area in and around Cancun. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who dislikes the big resorts and simply wants to sit on a chair and drink cold beers out of the fridge and play in the ocean.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor are nice if you have kids. Simply walk into the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KTP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The cabanas at Pammul were exactly what I was looking for. A secluded cove, the sounds of the waves and birds, sun and palm trees. Paradise. The location is perfect for nature lovers or anyone looking for tranquility.
The staff provides great service, everyone is genuinely friendly and will either respect your privacy or be happy to talk to you about the area or just have a pleasant conversation.
The cabanas were cleaner than i expected, a/c worked well, always hot running water, bottled water provided everyday and the staff offered to clean the cabana everyday and provide clean towels or bed linens. Daily, I spoke to David, who is part of the cleaning and maintenance staff. He, like Martin and Enrique at the restaurant are great people, they made my wife and I feel as if we were visiting close friends.
The restaurant was excellent, every meal was great. The Picanha Angus was my favorite but the seafood and guacamole are also fantastic. Needless to say the service was just as good. Compliments to chef Kalu and his staff.
I can't wait to visit again. It's a beautiful location and close to many attractions and sites like Xcaret, Tulum, ceynotes. I rented a car but many guests take the collectivos to get around too. Next time I visit I will take advantage of their scuba excursions. Although I did see stingrays snorkeling 50 feet from the beach and sea turtles nested on the beach at night.
Thank you for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked this hotel as a place to decompress after a trip to Cuba. It did the trick and was perfect! The view was stunning, the water was so warm, the guac and chips were fresh and the beers were cold! What better combination do you need? It was so peaceful and everyone was kind and accommodating. It was easy distance from all the hot spots- Tulum, Playa, and the airport in Cancun. We rented a car in Cancun which I recommend.

I was incredibly impressed when I emailed Jose to share that we weren't going to be able to make it for our first night due to a major flight delay. He responded saying they would keep the remainder of the reservation AND not charge us for the night we did not stay there!

We're currently trying to get our entire family to go next summer. It's a great spot for kids and adults.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieR1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton K
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Booked Paamul with the intent to get away from the crazy Cancun crowd, and it worked! Paamul is a laid back community that is bordering between RV's and resort which is fine with us. We were situated in the middle of all of the action, Playa, Xel-ha, Tulum, Cancun, Cozumel, it all worked out perfectly. If you are looking for all inclusive, Paamul is not your place, if you are looking for a cultural experience you may have found what you are looking for. Enrique was by far the best waiter at the restaurant. Security was on the ball, they did an outstanding job keeping the property safe at all times.

Room Tip: Only 3 cabanas available with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I took my three young teens here for Spring Break after hitting an all-incusive for a few days, and we are so glad we found The Hotel Paamul! At first, the kids were skeptical of the "hippies" living in designer trailers. Then, they saw the friendly security gents, and the rooms (#7 & #8) with spectacular views, and they settled in beautifully. Having moderate Spanish skills was helpful, and we were able to grab a taxi to Tulum and Xel-Ha for a wonderful excursion.
The restaurant grilled up a mean steak and lots of wonderful Mexican fare, and we all found many things to try while visiting for three days. The staff is very kind and willing to help with choices.
If you desire spending time in a spacious, clean air conditioned room, with a balcony which gives you views for miles, this is the place for you. It is mellow and you feel free as a bird, not confined as in the larger hotels. I have traveled over one million miles, and I have yet to stay so close to a pristine beach. Unforgettable!

Room Tip: To get the view that goes on for miles, try #7 or #8!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
9.8 mi away
Al Cielo Hotel
Al Cielo Hotel
#3 of 4 in Xpu-Ha
301 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coral Maya
Coral Maya
#14 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
65 reviews
3.2 mi away
LM Hotel Boutique
LM Hotel Boutique
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#21 of 23 in Akumal
61 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aventuras Club
Aventuras Club
#1 of 13 in Puerto Aventuras
239 reviews
5.5 mi away
Serenity Eco Luxury Tented Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paamul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paamul Hotel

Property: Paamul Hotel
Address: Federal Road Cancun-Tulum 305 | 12 miles south of Playa del Carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Cabanas Paamul)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a dreamy place in the heart of The Riviera Maya next to the Caribbean Sea on one of the most spectacular bays of the Mexican Caribbean. All suites are located 60 ft from the ocean and include two queen size beds, air conditioning, hair dryers, safes, mini refrigerator, coffee makers, microwave, Wi-Fi, Cable TV and private beachfront terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Paamul Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paamul Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing