We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love this place!”
Review of Maya Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maya Del Mar
Ranked #179 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Love, love, love this place!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this quaint hotel. My husband and I enjoyed it immensely.The room are simple, but comfortable and safe. Staff is really kind and helpful. The 2 people we mostly dealt with ( Arturo and William ) went out of their way to suggest nice places to go and see around town. It is located right downtown in Playa del Carmen, so it's really convenient for shopping, nightlife and the beach. If you are looking for an inexpensive, low-key hotel where you can do your own thing and be right in the middle of it all.....this is the place for you!

Room Tip: since it's right on the main strip, if you want a quieter room, ask for one in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    35
    27
    14
    15
See reviews for
19
71
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

I do not recommend staying here.. We booked through booking.com to pay on site and thank God coz I would hate to stay here another night if the whole 10 days was paid for in front. We knew the hotel is in busy area of 5th avenue and realised it would be noisy so I took my earplugs as we wanted to be in the middle of it all and close to the beach.. First night .. And only we spent here was hell.. The studio with kitchen looked old with not much utensils or even a kettle about.. It was dirty and basic.. Looking out onto 5 th avenue.. The noise and music comes from 10 different bars outside and mixes into horrible blast.. U also get people working in restaurant below making noise and singing.. All this lasted till about 5am when they finally stop the music but then u get the rubbish collecting and delivery trucks running up and down outside ur window... My earplugs did nth for me I could still hear the noise and the vibrations.. The whole place was shaking .. There was no lobby service so to speak the guy at reception couldn't care less even when we decided to leave next morning.. The worse for me was that when we left I forgot my nightie which was hanged in the bathroom.. As it was Calvin Klein and my favourite one I came back the same evening to collect it.. Just to be told that nth was found ??
We moved into fantastic little hotel further down 5 th avenue between 38th and 40th calle called Casa Ticul and we loved everything about it.. Friendly staff and yummy hot breakfast! And most of all peace and good night sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank izzwizz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This place is just horrible. We only lasted one night and had to move hotel. Yes it's very noisy, which could be forgiven if the beds were any way beds and not concrete slabs. The room was dirty in my opinion and the service unforgivable. Please don't waste your money. And what ever you do don't leave anything behind as you won't get it back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clk8509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Jungla Caribe for 9 nights this past November 2012 and can’t say enough good things about this hotel. This was my first visit to Playa Del Carmen and I was lucky to find this gem on Trip Advisor. Jungla Caribe is conveniently located on Fifth Avendida (main tourist strip) near 8th...I believe. A perfect location as it is only 1 short block from the beach, with many shops and restaurants to choose from nearby. It is also a short walk from the ADO Bus Station on Juarez Ave. Upon arrival, I was greeted with a friendly smile by an English speaking front desk clerk named Arturo, and there was no problem with my reservation even though I did not give a deposit upon booking…which I thought was AMAZING!!! This hotel is GORGEOUS!!! The vibrant colours mixed with the tropical plants and original funky art & sculptures created by the Owner himself make this hotel a perfect escape from the madness of Fifth Avenue. I stayed in Suite 210 as I was told this would be a little quieter than the rooms directly facing Fifth Avenue..which they were right. The suite was HUGE!! Probably about 800 sf!! It comes with a fridge, has a separate living room area with a couch, chair and flat screen TV, a HUGE walk in closet (a girls dream!!) and a separate bathroom. It also had a large balcony with a table and chairs that looks out onto the beautiful garden area. The room was…in a word….AWESOME. They also have rooms with or without kitchenettes that either face 5th or 8th. As a 39 year old female travelling solo I felt VERY safe staying here. The Owners and staff went above and beyond make me feel welcome and to ensure I had a wonderful stay. At one point the TV in my room broke and it was replaced within minutes of me notifying the front desk with a nice flat screen! Now that’s service!!!! There is also a water cooler which provides both hot and cold water. Great for morning coffee or tea! I will definitely be staying here on my next trip to Playa Del Carmen and would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: If your looking to watch the action on Fifth from your balcony, then a room facing Fifth would be gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Freespiritgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

What an amazing place! I´d stayed in a few other hotels in Playa before coming across this one and I´m so glad I did, it´s the cheapest hotel I stayed in but actually the nicest! It´s so beautiful once you step through the doors with plants and beautiful decorations and lights everywhere. Really clean place. The room didn´t disappoint either, very clean, lovely little touches like the towels made into swans each time it was cleaned, lovely organic complimentary toiletries (again the nicest of all the hotels I went to), totally unexpected for this price!!! The location is great, right in the centre of the 5th avenue and so close to the beach - our room had a balcony and we could see the sea!
Staff also very friendly..
I´m staying here next time I visit Playa!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor on the west side (as you walk into the hotel) have a balcony on one side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma_lou_jg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

Love this place from the first sight! It's totally different from all I've seen before. So nice jungle inside. They even have pool but who need that if the sea two steps away. Love the decoration of the room. It is fantastic! Love the view from the balcony to the 5ta avenida. They have no elevator. But the hotel guys always happy to help you. Love the girls housekeepers, my bed was always decorated with the towels and beautiful flowers! Great location. You are in the center of everything. And just 10 mins by walk from ADO station. So when you arrive from Cancun airport you don't need a taxi. 7eleven, farmacy, Banorte bank with ATMs - everything is few steps away. Always helpful guys on the reception. And of course I should mention the owners of this hotel - they are nice couple, very friendly, always trying to improve their small paradise called Jungla Caribe. Thank you very much! I really love your place and I'm going to back soon, sure I will book your hotel again! :)
Jungla Caribe es el mejor in Playa del Carmen!
Muchas gracias! Hasta luego!
Saludos de mi parte a todos!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koko_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I am back from a 7 nights stay at Hotel Jungla Caribe and I can't wait to go back there. The staff and the management of this hotel is really great. I had been welcome like a king and been treated that same way the whole week long. The decor is outstanding and when you are inside the garden you feel peace and tranquility. The hotel is located on Quinta Avenida which is a great location right in the center of everything, restaurants, boutiques, souvenir shops, grocery store, banks, etc.......... Although 5th Ave (Quinta Avenida) is very busy and sometimes noisy, I never felt any of that inside the hotel. I had a suite and felt like home there. Whenever I had to ask for anything in this hotel, people were listening and helping. Thanks to all the staff, I wont name any of them cause I would not like to forget anyone. One day, the room had not been cleaned for whatever reason ! I told the front desk and immediatly they took care of it. The suite is very big, lot's of space and the only negative thing was the air conditionning that was noisy. Honestly, just need to put earplugs. If I go back to Playa del Carmen, I am going back to Jungla Caribe Hotel, I was looking for great staff, great management, those things are really important and I found it and found Paradise !!!!!!! The gardens, the swimming pool, the patio, the terrace, everything is perfect for a great time and great vacations.

Room Tip: suites are in the back of the hotel with patio and a great view on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pfsb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#126 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#100 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#121 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#81 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#140 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#139 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Del Mar

Property: Maya Del Mar
Address: 5a Avenida y Calle 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Jungla Caribe)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungla Caribe Hotel
Hotel Jungla Caribe
Maya Del Mar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing