We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #52 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Medway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A beautiful oasis”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome, after dragging our cases all the way from the bus station at the end of 5th. We didn't realise that there is a new station just two blocks from the hotel!

We were given a choice of two rooms and chose no. 31 as it was a two storey room with two queen beds and a single. There were just the two of us so didn't need the extra beds, but the great thing about this room was the sense of space from the height of the room with a mezzanine floor, and the fantastic roof terrace with jacuzzi.

The staff at this hotel are superb. They are professional; friendly but not in your face, nothing is too much trouble. I couldn't get the coffee machine to work and within an hour it had been replaced by a brand new one. I think it was my stupidity rather than the machine, but it was replaced without question.

The pool setting is lovely. It's not a pool to swim in, but ideal for a refreshing dip. It is well designed and surrounded by an oasis of beautiful planting. There is a hot-tub jacuzzi which is great.

The staff constantly sweep up and collect leaves from the pool, but do it in a subtle way so as not to disturb the guests. They remove towels from the comfortable beds and loungers and replace with fresh ones as people come and go, so there is always available beds and towels.

Breakfast is excellent, with a choice of eggs, fruit juice and coffee, and the service is friendly and efficient.

Special mention goes to Brandon who is such a fantastic lad. He's studying tourism at school and working at the hotel as bellboy. One day he will be running the place I'm sure.....

Also Ignacio behind the bar; not just a great cocktail maker, but a really nice man.

We had high expectations of the hotel, and they were far exceeded. We didn't hear any noise from either the street below or Coco Bongo as some reviewers have said, and had the most wonderful time.

Room Tip: 31 is a beautiful duplex room with roof terrace and jacuzzi. Quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for your very kind words. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time here with us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa.
I have shared you comments with our staff and they are thrilled to bits that all their hard work is much appreciated. If you have a facebook account, you can become a fan of La Tortuga Hotel Spa and receive all updates about special events, promotions and keep in touch with your favorite staff here.
Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
Johanna Reside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    616
    145
    57
    27
See reviews for
141
1,516
91
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have made many trips to Playa Del Carmen and have stayed at this property 4 times. We would not even consider staying at another property! The staff is awesome, the pool is peaceful and beautiful and the rooms are fantastic. We've stayed in every type of room and found all of them to be wonderful! Even though it's not located on the beach, it has a great location to just about anything you want to do with just a short walk. We just can't say enough good things about this property. We can't wait for our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RANDETEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Hello Rande,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Johanna Reside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel was a quiet sanctuary from the craziness of Playa. The property is built around a lagoon-like pool. It is relaxing and quiet and yet only about one block from the main street of Playa and around the corner from some of the most famous bars.

The hotel has an excellent breakfast that is a great way to start your day. Even though its not on the beach it has agreements with a couple of beach clubs that let you use their loungers and umbrellas for free. The staff is also super helpful and speaks english, something which is sometimes lacking in Mexico.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAVanc0uver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Hello Vancouver!
Thank you so much for your kind words, I have shared them with our staff and they appreciate your encouraging words and are thrilled that you are recommending our Boutique Hotel. It’s a great reward for them to read your comments and know that they have helped in making your stay here with us an enjoyable and memorable one. We would be honored if you would share any photos you have with us on our facebook page. La Tortgua Hotel Spa.
Once again, on behalf of management and staff, we thank you for your comments, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Johanna Reside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Following a lot of reading of reviews and looking at pictures we decided that a suite at La Tortuga would be perfect for our week in Playa del Carmen.

We checked the prices on their website and began email communication with the sales manager.
She was very helpful and responded to emails within a few minutes.
It became clear that the prices they were quoting me by email were higher than on their website, after a bit of confusion I forwarded a screen shot of the booking page.

After a few days of no response I checked the website and all the pricing had changed, I emailed a couple more times to see if they would honour the prices (about 30% less) but didn't even get a response. Even an email saying 'sorry we made a mistake' and we'd have paid the higher rate and booked anyway/

In hindsight I should have just booked on the website and kept my mouth shut, lesson learn't!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haydn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Haydon,
I am saddened by the fact that you have not even experienced our Boutique Hotel before you place your comments on Tripadvisor. As I explained to you in various email, Christmas and New Year is an extremely high season here in Mexico and yes the prices of all hotels change for high season. Unfortunately, due to high demand for Christmas and New Year it doesn’t warrant us to have any promotions running as I hope you understand.
Haydon, we take great pride in our Customer service and our high standards as they have gathered us over the years a standout choice when compared to other hotel in the area. We strive to exceed all expectations of our clients, and we welcome comments from our valued clients as they help us to grow, and we make changes whenever necessary in the best interest of our clients.
We would be honored if you actually choose La Tortuga Hotel & Spa and made a booking with us for your upcoming holidays and experience our boutique hotel and then maybe you can rate the hotel how it is suppose to be rated by your actual experience after visiting the hotel.
On behalf of management and staff, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity and welcome you to our Home from Home Boutique Hotel.

Johanna reside
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at La Tortuga for 6 nights in early August. We spent the first 5 nights in a standard room then upgraded to a junior suite for our last night.

Positives: We really loved the pool, its a great set-up and looks great, we enjoyed lounging in and around it. We also like Ignacio who worked at the bar, he was very friendly and professional. The included breakfast is also very good and you have lots of choices. The junior suite was amazing, having a jacuzzi, a large, awesome bathroom and lots of amenities (iron etc). We had no problems with noise in either room but were still right by the main restaurant/bar street.

Negatives: The standard room was a little disappointing, and at $50 extra a night the suite was well over $50 a night better, being bigger and better in every way. Some little things they could have improved (the easy things where you wonder why on earth they dont just do it!), like only 2 pillows on the bed so you couldnt sit up comfortably, hot water was out two nights which at that price is unacceptable to me. The beach clubs they provide access to were not that great, Mamitas was on the nicer beach but you had to be there crazy early to get a chair and particularly an umbrella. However we happily paid to go to Kool beach club which was much nicer anyway.

To sum up, if we were in Playa again we'd be tempted to stay again (junior suite only!) for the pool especially, i dont think there's better in a boutique hotel in playa.

Room Tip: Junior suites are well worth upgrading to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Roremc,
On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for taking time and writing such a nice review it is always rewarding to read such positive and encouraging comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon
Please keep in touch with us through our facebook page La Tortuga Hotel Spa, there you can learn about our specials for repeat clients and various promotions we have. We would also love for you to share any photos you have with us. Once again, thank you and we wish you all the best for the future.

la Tortuga hotel & SPA
Johanna Reside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

It's in a great location if you are looking for the entertainment on 5th Street, but you could definitely find something just as nice for a similar or even cheaper price on the beach. The air conditioner in our 1st room made a really loud noise and after a few attempts by maintenance to fix it, they went ahead and moved us to an upgraded room. Customer service, the waiters and bartenders were all great. The Bistro restaurant is delicious. We ate there every morning and once for dinner as well. I have to agree with the other review regarding the club being late into the early hours of the morning. We were woken up several times each night. Unfortunately, I think that issue is out of the hotel's control. Still a great option if you are looking for something away from the all-inclusive/chain hotel feel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Chelsea,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
Johanna Reside
la Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

What an amazing hotel! The staff is realy friendly, de rooms where clean en quite luxurious with a nice and comfy kingsize bed. The breakfast was the best we had in Mexico. We just liked everything about it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0na2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Hello Mona
Thank you so much for taking time out to write about our boutique hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay here with us and we thank you for your preference. We sincerely hope to see you both back at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. On behalf of management and staff we wish you all the best for the future.
Johanna Reside
la Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#22 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#76 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
838 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#37 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing