We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were excited but ended up disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #55 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at the hotel as the last part of our trip to Mexico. The hotel is very cute and most of the people working there were very nice and kind, BUT UNFORTUNELY there were 4 things that upset us and when you plan and look forward a trip like this... you expect more.
1. The parking reservation we had made and confirmed was canceled at last minute when we were there, having to move our car and paying more than we expected.
2. The hot water in our room never really worked till our last night there.
3. The person who was at the door during our stay, Carlos, is useless, he just opens and closes the door, but when he had to take us to our room didn’t help us with our luggage although we were carrying lots of things and it was obvious that we need it help.
4. We booked through booking but ending up paying much more. Instead charging us in dollars they converted to pesos with an outrageous exchange rate. But the last day, they did charge us what we consume at the restaurant and bar in dollars with a fairest rate… So what happened?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Tortuga Hotel & Spa . We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations, and once again I apologise for that, we are working to achieve a better service and your comments are a great help to identify our areas of improvement.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 2,398 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

I can't think of one thing to fault this hotel on. We stayed for four nights as part of our honeymoon, after staying in its sister hotel Cabanas Tulum. Greeted with a drink and made to feel special. It felt like it was a secret haven in the middle of a busy town. Great location too. Staff were ever friendly and chatty and helpful. Would love to go back some day!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Linda L,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and that we help to make your honeymoon a memorable one. Once again, we thank you and hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your husband back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

We got 3 different hotels n i will say this one was my pick out of a fancy one beplaya n all inclusive reef. Complimentary breakfast is very good, dinner u get one 25% off coupon for el bistro. Food is good! It is quite n comfy, best priced hotel i found n it is clean. Location is very close to beach, one bad thing was that it doesnt have parking n parking lot on the street charges 20$ per night, drive around n park in street. Compiter by bar was good idea n comes in handy.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Hello Sirfar,
Thank you for taking time out and writing about our boutique hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you are recommending La Tortuga Hotel & Spa as a great hotel to travelers. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity Sirfar of welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

La Tortuga Hotel should translate to HEAVEN in English. We rented a Junior Suite Superior as we wanted total relaxation and had the most wonderful 5 days. The service is top notch, we stayed mostly at our suite since it has its own pool and from the waiting staff from room service to housekeeping, they were great. They exceeded our expectations and it showed that they truly cared about us. What can I say about the spa? I had a terrible stress headache upon arrival and I immediately went to the spa and had a massage from Maggi and she worked it out, I left like a new person and even went back again to have her continue working on my back! She is a gem! The food was out of this world, especially the cerviches and the choice of breakfast is amazing. All in all I highly recommend this hotel.
Thaks

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Hi Susan,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us, it is always a great reward to hear that we have exceeded our client’s expectations which is what we are always striving to achieve. We have shared your comments with our staff and they extremely pleased and appreciate you taking time out to thank them. Please keep in touch with us through our facebook page, La Tortuga Hotel Spa there you can learn about all our promotions for repeat clients etc etc. Once again, we thank you and on behalf of management and staff, we sincerely are looking forward to welcoming you back to our home from home boutique hotel soon.
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of August. I must say that the personal service at this boutique hotel is incredible. From before our arrival we had contact with the hotel concierge service that helps us with all kinds of information before and after our arrival. Everyone at this hotel goes that extra mile to make sure you receive the best service. We actually stayed two more days than we had planned to. We normally stay all-inclusive, but after some research and email correspondence with the hotel, we decided to stay at La Tortuga. We were looking for something a little bit more intimate and close to the avenue and that is exactly what we got. We were right around the corner from 5th avenue, but still had peace and quiet. The rooms were very spacious and clean with a chic design.. When we arrived, we had champagne, candles, and rose petals decorating our room it was beautiful. We had a swim up room on the first floor which I enjoyed tremendously along with the beautiful tropical view of the whole area. A few nights we ate at the restaurant and the food and service was excellent. The beaches were beautiful and we had a choice of 5 beach clubs all very nice. The sea was so beautiful But if you keep walking further down past Mamitas, the beach gets even more beautiful and secluded. I would definitely go back and definitely stay at "La Tortuga"! The front desk staff was the most wonderful people! They were so helpful and patient and so informative! They definitely went the extra mile to help us. And that really meant a lot to us. They are one of the main reasons for the success of our trip! If you are looking for something nice and simple, but yet classy, this is a great place to stay! I can't wait to go back! We would definitely recommend La Tortuga Hotel to travelers!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Hi Sam,
So nice of you to take time out and write such a fantastic review about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We greatly appreciate your comments and I have shared them with our staff. It is a great reward for them to read such encouraging and positive words and helps them to continue achieving great results and keep striving to exceed the expectations of our much valued client’s. We hope you keep in touch with us through our facebook page La Tortuga Hotel Spa, there you can learn about our repeat clients promotions and special gifts. Once again, we thank you greatly for your kind words and sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stay just last August, we were looking for a quite break from our busy life. The place is just perfect. We had a very lovely experience. The staff is very professional and friendly, they had welcome us warmly and they were very attentive on our requests. The room are very nice and clean, they reflect the character of Mexico. Just what we were expecting. The breakfast is delicious and the waiting staff very efficient. We had some special food request and it was not trouble at all for them to please us. The location is great, a short walk to the main beach and close to all the amities. The pool is beautiful, relaxing and refreshing. The atmosphere is amazing and we will be back in La Tortuga Hotel next time we will be in Playa del Carmen. Thank you very much to all the staff member for the lovely time we had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marzia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome, after dragging our cases all the way from the bus station at the end of 5th. We didn't realise that there is a new station just two blocks from the hotel!

We were given a choice of two rooms and chose no. 31 as it was a two storey room with two queen beds and a single. There were just the two of us so didn't need the extra beds, but the great thing about this room was the sense of space from the height of the room with a mezzanine floor, and the fantastic roof terrace with jacuzzi.

The staff at this hotel are superb. They are professional; friendly but not in your face, nothing is too much trouble. I couldn't get the coffee machine to work and within an hour it had been replaced by a brand new one. I think it was my stupidity rather than the machine, but it was replaced without question.

The pool setting is lovely. It's not a pool to swim in, but ideal for a refreshing dip. It is well designed and surrounded by an oasis of beautiful planting. There is a hot-tub jacuzzi which is great.

The staff constantly sweep up and collect leaves from the pool, but do it in a subtle way so as not to disturb the guests. They remove towels from the comfortable beds and loungers and replace with fresh ones as people come and go, so there is always available beds and towels.

Breakfast is excellent, with a choice of eggs, fruit juice and coffee, and the service is friendly and efficient.

Special mention goes to Brandon who is such a fantastic lad. He's studying tourism at school and working at the hotel as bellboy. One day he will be running the place I'm sure.....

Also Ignacio behind the bar; not just a great cocktail maker, but a really nice man.

We had high expectations of the hotel, and they were far exceeded. We didn't hear any noise from either the street below or Coco Bongo as some reviewers have said, and had the most wonderful time.

Room Tip: 31 is a beautiful duplex room with roof terrace and jacuzzi. Quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for your very kind words. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time here with us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa.
I have shared you comments with our staff and they are thrilled to bits that all their hard work is much appreciated. If you have a facebook account, you can become a fan of La Tortuga Hotel Spa and receive all updates about special events, promotions and keep in touch with your favorite staff here.
Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#14 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#85 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £46 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing