We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Change in management but still our favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Panajachel, Guatemala
1 review
“Change in management but still our favorite”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

When checking out a hotel I always read the bad reviews first. It was disheartening to read some of the things which I found because this was our 3rd stay at La Tortuga and it was wonderful as ever. The staff, pool, and grounds are always terrific. As are all of our experiences with the rooms.

Each time we've stayed we go up in class. Our visit in December 2012 was in a junior suite and we were very pleased to pay the extra dollars.
If there is a criticism about the junior suite it is only that our view from the jacuzzi level was not great due to the neighboring buildings, but at night who cares?
We were also surprised that the jacuzzi was basically a big bathtub that had to be filled each time with hot tap water. It typically took about 30 minutes to get enough hot water in the tub, but once we realized that we just adjusted our usage. Otherwise the tub was cleaned daily and a nightly pleasure under the stars.

The only thing which was less perfect from the past was the restaurant. The day we arrived we were invited to a party at the restaurant to welcome its new management. This was a nice gesture and we appreciated the hospitality. However, in honesty, if the hor d'ouvres which were served that night were a sampling of the new management's cuisine we would not recommend a meal there, although we only ate their comp'ed breakfast this trip.

Otherwise, the complimentary breakfasts were great. However, before the new management, hotel guests could choose from a very large menu of food items for breakfast. The chicken burritos were always my favorite from past stays. But now there are only 3 or 4 basic breakfast choices for comp'ed hotel guests. Still a bargain with no criticisms about quality or portion sizes. But on the first morning I confess feeling disappointed about the much shorter menu.

Overall, we still find La Tortuga to be our favorite hotel anywhere for its design, thoughtful touches, staff, location, and prices.

And the only thing I can say about complaints regarding the comp'ed passes to Mamitas Beach Club not being honored is that those people must have gotten there too late in the day. We typically hit the beach between 10:30-11am to ensure front row seats to the water, and this last time it was just a few days before Christmas so Playa was packed with tourists. Never a problem with Mamitas or their reception of the La Tortuga passes. And we also still find Mamita's to be the best beach and beach club in all of Playa.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanaHaroldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    611
    142
    57
    27
See reviews for
139
1,508
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Back in 2008 we stayed here for our honeymoon and it was amazing. 5 years later we have returned and it is still really nice but the place is showing some signs of age which may have contributed to the dip in ranking (now #39). The staff is friendly and attentive, rooms are clean and beds are comfy. Location is perfect and price is very reasonable. There was pretty much someone raking the pool at all times and Mosquito Beach is great!

We got the junior suite again and there were noticeable diffrerences from last time. The tub had yellow rings in it and the cushions were ripping at the seams. The rooftop could use a good scrubbing and maybe a fresh coat of paint and the outdoor furniture looked old & dirty.

They also changed the restaurant to try to be fancy modern fake Mediterranean? It was rather bland and overpriced, but the free breakfast was reasonably sized and good, except it was repetitive. Please go across the street to Oh La La and make a dinner reservation for your last night - best part of our trip!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorbitzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This hotel and especially thier staff are amazing. The interior of the hotel with the pool and the lush gardens are really beautiful. Make sure to book at least a Superior plus room so that you have a balcony to look out at the pool and gardens. Unfortunately the pool area does not get very much sun in the day, so take advantage of the beach clubs and then use the pool in the afternoon to cool off. The included breakfast is very nice and more than adequate. Location of the hotel is a big plus here, close to all the good restaurant, beach clubs and shopping.
My husband and I picked up the Noro virus in Playa while we were there. The staff and management accomodated our every need including going to the pharmacy (thanks Reuben) for us to get perscriptions that the Dr. had provided. We would definitely stay here again.
The reasons we have not rated this property a 5 out of 5 are the following:
1) You can hear the CocoBongo night club at night, which could interrupt your sleep
2) Rooms are small and beds are very soft.
Overall this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanFrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

After a very long day of travel, I arrived early evening only to find that "Webjet" stuffed my booking for the second time in the one trip!!
Any way, the staff and in particular Joanna at check in could not have been more accommodating, friendly and helpful! With a refreshing drink while I waited for overseas calls to be made on my behalf and 3 staff assisting in getting the problem with Webjet, which was not their problem all sorted out for me, then upgrading my room for me, to assist in enjoying my stay!
The location is absolutely ideal, being right in the heart of the action, yet once you walk through to the oasis of pools, bar and lounge area the busy night life and dining zone of playa feels like a world away! Thank you again to all of the great staff at Tortuga, you will always be highly recommended to my friends and family!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viccouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This is the cutest most friendly small hotel ever.
The bar is greats is the staff and the breakfast that is included in the room rate is super.
The location of this property is excellent, you can walk out of the front door and you are in the heart of everything....oh and had a massage and going back for another....

Room Tip: Get a swim up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithuania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We spent 11 nights around NYE in La Tortuga hotel and seems we've had a slightly different experience from the other reviewers.
Positive :
- the room was clean, although the last night it was not done at all, had to ask reception to provide cleaning. But the lady came fast and did great.
-we didn't hear any noise from the nightclub around the corner.
-breakfast is nice although the same every morning.
-shopping street is close although it's almost only touristy shops there.
- staff was nice and tried to be helpful. The best is the bartender in the bar near the pool, he was really nice and helpful every time we needed anything. Best greetings to him.
- pool area was clean all the time.

Didn't enjoy:
- the room. We've booked a Superior junior suite with jacuzzi and what we've received was - a room on the ground floor, in the dark corner near the swimming pool, with awkward smell which stayed all our stay, the only source of natural light was through glass doors which, obviously had to be covered while in the room because of the people laying next doors, next to the pool. The bathroom with shower was tiny and sinks were outside, in the room itself, which wasn't comfortable at all. Jacuzzi was in the room with window towards the same pool, never used it because it didn't look neither convenient nor cozy. First three mornings of our stay I've asked the reception would it be possible to change the room if there were possibility (and apparently it was). I was promised to change, but the reception never got back to us.
- New Year's night dinner at the hotel's restaurant...food was nice, but with poor service.
- although the beaches are close, but the hotel doesn't have it's own and gives passes to other beach clubs. Yes, it was high season, but already at 11am we used not to get sun beds at Mamitas, Mosquito and few other beaches with La Tortuga's given passes. So spent time in other hotels paid beaches.

In general, it is a nice hotel, but hugely overpriced, at least for what we've paid for our stay comparing with other hotels we stayed for holidays in different countries in high seasons, and what we've received.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l_Brigita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Tortuga Hotel & Spa . We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations, and once again I apologise for that, we are working to achieve a better service and your comments are a great help to identify our areas of improvement.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent five nights here around NYE, and it was a perfect choice. We had the concierge arrange private transfer from the airport, very convenient and reasonable at $120 round trip. We had a swim up room, and this was perfect for access to the pool and lounge area, which is a surprising oasis in the center of town. The pool area is nice and shaded, and if you want sun, there is a decent sized sun deck a level up. We never heard noise fom CocoBongo, and we're surprised, seeing how close it is. The room itself is average, but what was expected, seeing as we were not at one of the giant all-inclusives. For us, that was the hardest decision, staying in town center or out of town at the all-inclusive giants. We typically like luxurious hotels, but were really happy we picked this hotel and town center, as the all-inclusive hotels are much too far from town and would require a cab ride if you just wanted to visit. The ocean is 2 or 3 blocks away, less than 5 minute walk. 5th avenue is the heart of Playa, and very close, where there are numerous both touristy and high-quality restaurants. The shopping is all touristy, unfortunatelt, nothing good. The service at the hotel was top notch, and very personalized; Carlos and Mauricio gave great recommendations about restaurants and excursions. The included breakfast each morning kept us filled all day until dinner. We had a couples massage at the resort, much less sketchy than the massages on 5th avenue, and it was very relaxing and much cheaper than typical resort spas. The Internet was mostly reliable, so if you come to "vacation" to work, this might not be the best choice, but it was just fine for email, Facetime, etc. We enjoyed Playa much more than Cancun, and would absolutely stay here again if we return.

Room Tip: We liked our room, 108. I'd definetely recommend and interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chksrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Hello Columbus, Ohio…
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
Johanna Reside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing