We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights and had an amazing time!!

The hotel staff are all wonderful and extremely friendly and helpful!!
The complimentary breakfast at como como is amazing too!!!

We stayed in room 202 which was perfect!! Very private, it did not over look the pool (which made it private) and we had lovely outdoor area with our jacuzzi

My only requests to the hotel would be to perhaps give guests an option of more pillows (we love our pillows haha) and the aircon was a bit noisy later on in the night. But these are such minor things, as this place as a whole is so beautiful :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    610
    141
    56
    27
See reviews for
139
1,499
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My brother booked a hotel room for 4 people for this hotel through Expedia.com on Feb 1st for a check in date of the middle of July. All of the fees were paid upfront. When we arrived, the staff greeted us very warmly and invited us to enjoy a complimentary beverage while we waited to be checked in. However, once we checked in and were shown to our room there was a horrible mistake. They only reserved a room for 2 people, when there were four in our party!

The staff ended up telling us they did not have us reserved for four people. Once we showed them our confirmation page showing we reserved it for four, the clerk got on the phone and called the manager to see what to do. Basically, they bait-and-switched us. The sent us to another hotel that was owned by the same company, but not nearly as nice. The whole reason we booked this hotel was for the beautiful pools, garden, hot tub, and private patios for each room. Whereas the hotel they put us in down the street only had a single square wading pool, no hot tub, no private patios, and the shower was all glass! That might seem romantic for some, but if you're traveling with family, you want a bathroom with a door that locks! Additionally, the staff at the other hotel barely spoke any English, whereas the La Tortuga Hotel had more than one staff who was fluent in English.

Bottom line, we did NOT get what we paid for, and had to walk back to this hotel daily to be picked up for our excursions since we booked them 5 months in advance. The staff were very friendly and seemed like they were doing the best they could, but the manager's solution to stick us in another hotel made us feel unappreciated and unimportant. He/she wouldn't even come down to speak with us, they had the employees give us an ultimatum of stay at their sister hotel or go somewhere else! It was just all around a bad deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kensch09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2017
Dear guest Thank you very much for taking the time to review La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. Unfortunately sometimes this situations with reservations through a third party as agencies can occur, I offer an apology for the inconvenient clearly this hotel swap situation was what triggered this series of disagreements because our sister hotel Cache Hotel Boutique is designed differently and this affected your needs, following this experience therefore we appreciate that you share a review with us, that way we can work to prevent situations like this from happening again. Once again I offer a sincere apology and I am at your disposal for any further questions or concerns you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in La Tortuga for nine nights and very much enjoyed it. The hotel is very central, only one block away for the Quinta Avenida (shops, bars) and two blocks from the beach. It has a very nice pool area with palm trees that is illuminated at night. The breakfast is also very good and included in the price. The two things we liked best was the great service. Pedro at the reception is very friendly and helpful. He always has a smile on his face. Rafael is the concierge and a great guy. He welcomed us with fruit cocktails and showed us to our room. One day we went skorkeling with him in Puerto Morelos (which was amazing) and after that to a restaurant on the beach, where we had fresh fish. We also loved the room we stayed in - junior suite 218 on the second floor with a hammock and outdoor mattress on the balcony. The room was in the corner and very private.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is pleasant. It is located on the street with more city life. The hotel staff are friendly and try to make your stay easier.
Although the spaces are small are well distributed.
The only problem I find is that the online ad requested a king bed and that pay and get tell me that they do not have that size.and other not very convenient thing, the internet is only in the reception areas.
But the place was clean.

Room Tip: Very important to confirm that bedding will have, because we got a double for a king ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ciarenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family and I went to Mexico in mid June to attend a wedding. I had made roundtrip reservations with the hotel to have a car service pick us up from/to the airport. The car service the hotel used is called, Experiencias Mayas, and the price was reasonable $180 USD roundtrip. Both drivers were nice and very informative if you have any questions.

As soon as we arrived at the hotel, the staff came to the car right away and took our luggage. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite which we loved.The suites remind me of a townhouse. Downstairs was the bed and bathroom. Upstairs was another bed and a patio which had a hammock, jacuzzi and a table with chairs if you wanted to relax. The table and chairs looked a little worn but, not really an issue.

Our room was right by the street and not far from a club. I noticed that some reviewers said not to get a room by the street because the music from the club was loud but, it didn't bother us.

Hotel La Tortuga is located in a perfect location. It's not far from 5th Avenue, where there's a lot of shops and restaurants and you can walk. If you don't want to walk, just stand in front of the hotel. There's plenty of taxi's going up and down the street and they will stop.

We had breakfast every morning at the hotel. The American breakfast was complimentary but, we wanted a Mexican breakfast and was not disappointed. The food was delicious!

The only thing that did disappoint me a little was the television service,which was why I gave the hotel a rating of "very good". There weren't too many channels and the ones they did have were in Spanish. Granted, we were out most of the time but, when we came back to relax, we couldn't enjoy the television.

We had a great time in Mexico and the next time we go back, we will definitely stay at Hotel La Tortuga.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewalker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location just off the main drag. The room was extremely comfortable with the patio leading directly into the pool. The really big plus about this hotel is the friendly nature of all the staff with everyone going out of their way o make you feel welcome. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I really loved it at the La Tortuga an Spa. The hotel ist one street from the "5th avenue" so you have all the stores nearby, there are a lot of good restaurants in walking distance an you can reach the beach within 5-7 minutes.
The Hotel is very clean and the rooms are comfy! Nixe big beds and beautiful bathrooms! We had a balcony with a nice view over the pool.
The staff was very helpfull and always in a good mood, we really felt welcomed there!
The only minus would propably be the included breakfast, since we still have been hungry afterwards. I had to order a side dish everytime.. but luckily this wasnt expensive, so it was OK for us :)
Overall a great place to stay at while visiting playa del carmen! I would definitely recommend it and would love to stay there again one day :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thortizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#57 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing