We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Playa del Carmen for a portion of our honeymoon and this was one of the best parts of the entire honeymoon! The staff was extremely helpful, they had a nice bar right by the pool with an interesting bartender, delicious brunch and great pool that very few people even used. Probably one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zygmorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    610
    142
    57
    27
See reviews for
139
1,501
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a room and clearly specified 2 beds. When we checked-in we were shown a room with 1 bed. We showed them our booking form and said that we needed to speak to our uk based booking agency and they could not do anything.
On phoning our booking agency they wanted to speak to the staff at the hotel who refused to speak to the booking agency meaning we had a very lengthy wait while our booking agency tried to find alternative accommodation.
The staff were not very helpful and did not apologise for their error. I'm sure the hotel is lovely and clean but when you are greeted with abrasive and unhelpful or apologetic staff it doesn't matter how clean or what services you may have.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FloraB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa.
I would like to personally answer your review to explain about requests for certain room types. Unfortunately, the request for 2 beds is always subject to availability as stated in your booking confirmation with Booking.com. We do our best and try to arrange all of our client’s requests but unfortunately, we are a boutique hotel with not many rooms that host 2 beds and for this all of the agencies have requests that are subject to availability.
We at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa strive to achieve and exceed all of our client’s expectations and I apologise for your inconvenience and if you think my staff have been unhelpful but this is not their fault and with the hotel a full occupancy whilst you stayed with us, they are simply unable to assist you in changing rooms.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity in hosting you again at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

my husband and I stayed for 6 nights in July, what a fabulous hotel! The staff are the nicest and most helpful people I have ever met, nothing was too much trouble for them, the guys who keep the pool area so beautiful are very hardworking and so caring, The pool and gardens really are paradise! The restaurant como como is amazing, delicious breakfast every morning served by lovely waiters with a smile, we had dinner in there twice too and the food was exceptional! The chef even sent out little tasters while we waited. We stayed in the superior junior suite 218, it had a hot tub inside and a lovely private deck, playa del Carmel. Is wonderful and this hotel is in the perfect location, just far away from the noise but close enough to walk a couple of minutes. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

When you want to avoid the all-inclusive places along Riviera Maya and experience La Playa, La Tortuga is place to be.

We enjoyed another stay at La Tortuga (5 nights during mid July). We stay here 6 years ago for the first time, and while there have been many changes to La Playa in general, La Tortuga remains a great value with a superb staff to help you with your entire La Playa stay.

Room
We stayed in room 116 (there are some pictures available on the La Tortuga Facebook page). The room had plenty of space and was comfortable. It has a jacuzzi on the roof with sitting space and gets plenty of sun. The only thing we would have liked is a sitting area in the bedroom. Since the room is near the main area, the wifi signal did reach parts of the room so that was a plus. It worked well on the roof.

Main Area and Pool
The pool is cleaned daily and great way to cool off from the sun. The deck around the pool as well is cleaned daily, and can get hot with the sun, so be careful walking on it barefoot. There is a pool table (but didn't use it) and nice lounge area to use the wifi. The bar offers happy hour 2 for 1 from 5 to 7pm daily as well. Another great value.

Extras
Guests have access to the Zenzi Beach Club (a short walk over to the beach). There was only a minimum 50 peso consumption to use the beach chairs, umbrellas, and covers. Service is great here. Only draw back is the water near this beach is a little dirty since all the boats for the scuba shops gather there.

Free breakfast is available at the Como Como restaurant located right at the hotel. The options are limited if you like a hearty breakfast, but it's a good way to start the day. Lunch is provided from 7am to 130pm (for all you folks that sleep in). If the free option is not for you, you still get 10% off on any purchased items.

The one thing we did miss was having the Moltuenos as part of the free breakfast, but it's still inexpensive to get with the 10% off.

Overall
La Tortuga is a must stay when in La Playa with it being only a block away from Quinta Avenida. The staff makes great recommendations for food and any other things you are looking for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntlManofHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here in may 2013. We got an upgrade on our room as the hotel was not fully booked. That is a very nice positive first impression. We had a very relaxing stay which might be due to the fact that it was off season and at times we had the whole pool area for ourself. The pool area is very nicely done and beautifully decorated especially at night. I loved just lying by the pool and reading a good book.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonezitrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent 3 nights here in July 2014. This hotel has so much potential, but the rooms are so old and out dated that it was a real let down.

ROOM- We had two rooms during our stay, a swim up pool room and the standard room. Our swim up room was room 101. The room itself was tiny, barely any room to move around in, let alone open a suitcase. While the room was clean, it felt dirty. The bathroom had a big mark all over the mirror and the water pressure was a bit odd.
The bed was comfortable, but the pillows- they were horrible!! The worst pillows I have ever used in my life. There were so many lumps in the pillow that I actually felt disgusting putting my head on it. I slept without a pillow one night and the next night rolled my towel up and used that as the pillow. The only positive of this room was the swim up part which we loved. However the sliding door to the swim up pool didn't lock, which worried us when we left the room and also when sleeping at night. The air con was also annoying. It was either really cold or really hot. We couldn't get the air con to be comfortable and at one stage we came back to the room to the air con dripping water all over the TV and the power point!
On our last night we moved to the standard room, which in hindsight I wish I had booked this room all along. We loved this new room. The pillow was normal! The room was bigger and had space and the air con didn't drip water.

BREAKFAST- continental style breakfast was served in the como como restaurant. There were 3 options to chose from and were a nice light start to the day.

SPA- we booked ourselves in for a massage. The hotel says you get a discount at the spa, but when I mentioned it to the lady she had no idea what I was on about. I was so relaxed after the massage and wasn't in the mood to argue with her so left it. Aside from that the massage was very nice and peaceful.

POOL- The outside area is what gave this hotel potential. The gardens are beautiful. The pool is a perfect temperature and very well maintained.

STAFF- Along with the outside area the staff is also what gives this hotel potential. Pablo was always friendly and helpful at the front desk. Raphael the concierge was so kind and friendly.

LOCATION- The location is really good, you are right near all the restaurants and shops in Playa.

Also just a note, our transfer company (USA transfers) had trouble locating the hotel. Just be a bit careful in case your company does too.

Overall we had a good stay, but we wouldn't return- only because we prefer Cancun over Playa.

Room Tip: Don't have a swim up room, or if you do make sure you don't have room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sl1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Tortuga Hotel & Spa . We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations, and once again I apologise for that, we are working to achieve a better service and your comments are a great help to identify our areas of improvement.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights and had an amazing time!!

The hotel staff are all wonderful and extremely friendly and helpful!!
The complimentary breakfast at como como is amazing too!!!

We stayed in room 202 which was perfect!! Very private, it did not over look the pool (which made it private) and we had lovely outdoor area with our jacuzzi

My only requests to the hotel would be to perhaps give guests an option of more pillows (we love our pillows haha) and the aircon was a bit noisy later on in the night. But these are such minor things, as this place as a whole is so beautiful :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#58 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing