We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #52 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
tempe arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our second stay at La Tortuga and won't be our last. Staff is extremely helpful and the hotel setting is beautiful. Towel origami is cute and every day was a surprise. Front office staff was extremely helpful with all of our requests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janegilbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,506
    621
    145
    57
    27
See reviews for
142
1,525
92
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Spent five days at La Tortuga and for the most part enjoyed it very much. This is THANKFULLY an adults only hotel. It is not great for those that don't like stairs. However, there are first floor rooms that don't require mountaineering skills. I was on the third floor which kinda sucked but exercise is good. More importantly, it have me my own private rooftop terrace and jacuzzi, which I never bothered to fill.

The staff at this hotel is super. They all speak English for gringos and others that don't speak Spanish and go out of their way to serve you.

The pool is fantastic.

Food in the restaurant is exceptionally good for a hotel, and the prices are fair.

There is a bar but don't expect a party atmosphere. The bar is located in an outside seating area that doesn't get good ventilation and is really hot. My only somewhat real complaint is the music played in this area. Hint: use iTunes radio or some other music streaming service and get some better tunes.

I would not hesitate to recommend La Tortuga and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank termnalvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Playa del Carmen for a portion of our honeymoon and this was one of the best parts of the entire honeymoon! The staff was extremely helpful, they had a nice bar right by the pool with an interesting bartender, delicious brunch and great pool that very few people even used. Probably one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zygmorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a room and clearly specified 2 beds. When we checked-in we were shown a room with 1 bed. We showed them our booking form and said that we needed to speak to our uk based booking agency and they could not do anything.
On phoning our booking agency they wanted to speak to the staff at the hotel who refused to speak to the booking agency meaning we had a very lengthy wait while our booking agency tried to find alternative accommodation.
The staff were not very helpful and did not apologise for their error. I'm sure the hotel is lovely and clean but when you are greeted with abrasive and unhelpful or apologetic staff it doesn't matter how clean or what services you may have.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FloraB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa.
I would like to personally answer your review to explain about requests for certain room types. Unfortunately, the request for 2 beds is always subject to availability as stated in your booking confirmation with Booking.com. We do our best and try to arrange all of our client’s requests but unfortunately, we are a boutique hotel with not many rooms that host 2 beds and for this all of the agencies have requests that are subject to availability.
We at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa strive to achieve and exceed all of our client’s expectations and I apologise for your inconvenience and if you think my staff have been unhelpful but this is not their fault and with the hotel a full occupancy whilst you stayed with us, they are simply unable to assist you in changing rooms.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity in hosting you again at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

my husband and I stayed for 6 nights in July, what a fabulous hotel! The staff are the nicest and most helpful people I have ever met, nothing was too much trouble for them, the guys who keep the pool area so beautiful are very hardworking and so caring, The pool and gardens really are paradise! The restaurant como como is amazing, delicious breakfast every morning served by lovely waiters with a smile, we had dinner in there twice too and the food was exceptional! The chef even sent out little tasters while we waited. We stayed in the superior junior suite 218, it had a hot tub inside and a lovely private deck, playa del Carmel. Is wonderful and this hotel is in the perfect location, just far away from the noise but close enough to walk a couple of minutes. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

When you want to avoid the all-inclusive places along Riviera Maya and experience La Playa, La Tortuga is place to be.

We enjoyed another stay at La Tortuga (5 nights during mid July). We stay here 6 years ago for the first time, and while there have been many changes to La Playa in general, La Tortuga remains a great value with a superb staff to help you with your entire La Playa stay.

Room
We stayed in room 116 (there are some pictures available on the La Tortuga Facebook page). The room had plenty of space and was comfortable. It has a jacuzzi on the roof with sitting space and gets plenty of sun. The only thing we would have liked is a sitting area in the bedroom. Since the room is near the main area, the wifi signal did reach parts of the room so that was a plus. It worked well on the roof.

Main Area and Pool
The pool is cleaned daily and great way to cool off from the sun. The deck around the pool as well is cleaned daily, and can get hot with the sun, so be careful walking on it barefoot. There is a pool table (but didn't use it) and nice lounge area to use the wifi. The bar offers happy hour 2 for 1 from 5 to 7pm daily as well. Another great value.

Extras
Guests have access to the Zenzi Beach Club (a short walk over to the beach). There was only a minimum 50 peso consumption to use the beach chairs, umbrellas, and covers. Service is great here. Only draw back is the water near this beach is a little dirty since all the boats for the scuba shops gather there.

Free breakfast is available at the Como Como restaurant located right at the hotel. The options are limited if you like a hearty breakfast, but it's a good way to start the day. Lunch is provided from 7am to 130pm (for all you folks that sleep in). If the free option is not for you, you still get 10% off on any purchased items.

The one thing we did miss was having the Moltuenos as part of the free breakfast, but it's still inexpensive to get with the 10% off.

Overall
La Tortuga is a must stay when in La Playa with it being only a block away from Quinta Avenida. The staff makes great recommendations for food and any other things you are looking for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntlManofHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here in may 2013. We got an upgrade on our room as the hotel was not fully booked. That is a very nice positive first impression. We had a very relaxing stay which might be due to the fact that it was off season and at times we had the whole pool area for ourself. The pool area is very nicely done and beautifully decorated especially at night. I loved just lying by the pool and reading a good book.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonezitrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing