We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #53 of 216 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Just got back from New Years there. Everything in the reviews were spot on. There is a reason this is rated number one. We received complimentary drinks on our arrival, beds were super comfy, drinks at the bar were the best in playa (they seem to be the only ones who used real fruit and juices). I won't go on as everyone here already did but just affirming what has already been said.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank divefreeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,363 - 1,369 of 2,438 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2009

We have just returned from celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary at La Tortuga and agree with all the reviews on this wonderful hotel.
The included breakfast is very good and drinks at the bar are delicious, my husband loved the margaritas and the mojitos were by far the best I have ever tasted!
Although I didn't find our room to be anything special it was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and we never ran short of hot water. We stayed in a junior suite with jacuzzi and at around $320 a night (due to the holidays) thought it to be a bit overpriced.
The hotel grounds are well maintained, very relaxing and were always quiet.
The location of La Tortuga is perfect for 5th Avenue and the beaches without having to put up with the noise.
We found all the staff to be extremely friendly and definitely plan to return at a time when the room rates are less expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TFWSDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My new fiancee and I spent our Xmas at La Tortuga where I proposed to her. We booked the Junior Suite with rooftop jacuzzi. For the booking the only odd thing I encountered was having to wire over the full amount 1 month in advance. This is a policy the hotel has in place for any stays that include the days between Xmas and New Years. The wiring wasn't a problem and Jessica, who I emailed with constantly, was very helpful. I mention it here in case anyone is wary of wiring money (which I am). There were no problems at all.

The staff was also very readily available preparing for the trip. As I mentioned, I emailed with them constantly. I wanted to prepare the perfect evening for my proposal and they were very accomodating. They decorated our rooms with rose petals, created towel swans, and provided a bottle of champagne (just like in their pictures). It was beautiful.

The hotel itself is every bit as gorgeous as the pictures. They are situated in a very nice section of Playa. Nothing felt too far away and was within walking distance. Also, we weren't so close to the busy nightlife where it was terribly loud. The windows and walls are well insulated and it's very quiet.

Thier restaurant next door (Le Bistro) is quite nice. We ate there for dinner one night which was very good. The best part is breakfast is included at this restaurant every morning.

I think the hotel reception deserves special mention. Lisa was absolutely wonderful, greeting us with her beeming smile and great conversation. It was nice knowing that every night we came back to the hotel we would be greeted so warmly. We spent many evenings talking about random things and her family back at home.

Overall, I would highly recommend La Tortuga. The staff is very professional and will do their best to attend to your needs. Given this hotel as an option, I don't see why anyone would ever want to do an all-inclusive - unless you have kids younger than 16.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SirDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

What can I say beyond what most others have raved and ranted about? Not much, except to emphatically agree...that La Tortuga is in a great location, has delicious food, comfortable rooms, and the MOST amazing staff I've encountered. EVERYone. Lisa at the front desk is amazing, and Bernardo, as is Anna, who helped us so much prior to arriving. All of the waiters, bartenders...everyone is so kind, friendly and they most certainly do go out of their way. The hotel does in fact feel like home and it is very pretty. I would agree that the bedding (bedspreads, sheets, pillows) could use a bit of an upgrade, but other than that, this place is really just right in every way. We had a great time and felt safe and comfortable here...and spoiled! We loved it, would highly recommend it and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

This was our second stay at La Tortuga, and can't wait until our next! The place is beautiful and exceptionally well maintained. What makes it truly special however, is the hotel staff. Our first morning there, Santiago (breakfast waiter) greeted me by name. (It's been a year since our last visit). Daniel the bartender, always called us by name and was so pleasant as was the other bartender. Everyone from the ladies and gentleman in the reception area to the waiters went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. One of the breakfast waiters (his name may be Hector) actually hugged both my husband and me on our last morning.

We had the included breakfast each day at El Bistro as well as two dinners. The food was quite good. The hotel is in the best location with easy access to 5th Avenue and all the restaurants, shops and bars it has to offer. Strolling down 5th Ave in the evening is something I will never tire of.

We went to the Mamitas beach club a few days and relaxed under a palapa, jumping into the ocean every now and again. We also walked down to the ocean by the Zenzi beach club, and walked along the beach toward the ferry. We discovered little restaurants along the way, stopping occasionally for a beer on the beach with our toes in the sand.

Both years we have booked room 219, which is a jucuzzi suite on the second floor. The jacuzzi is in the room and the room has two entrances and a large porch under a palapa. I am very particular about the bed comfort, and this bed was comfy! We bought a bottle of wine at the Mega Mart, and each evening sat in our pajamas on the porch drinking a glass of wine taking in the beauty of the hotel. At night, the palms all have rope lighting and tiki torches are lit.

Happy hour at the hotel was great with some of the best mojitos ever. (take your bug spray- got that at Mega Mart also.) The drinks were really good, and at 2 for 1, what's not to love!

Babe's Noodles, Caboncitas, Cueva del Chango, Las Ruinas, Los Aluxes, HC Monterey, and El Bistro were our favorite restaurants. Unlike others, we did care for El Fagon.

We have traveled to various parts of Mexico over 20 times, and Hotel La Tortuga and Playa del Carmen are by far our favorite vacation spot and hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Forepaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

If you are like me researching were to stay in Playa Del Carmen... let me say that you need not to search anymore. This little gem of a hotel has everything you need and a whole lot more. Forget the big all inclusive resorts... where you are just a number attached to a credit card. Wouldn't it be nicer to stay at a place where you felt like part of the family ? I can not say enough about the friendly staff and the lovley accommodation at La Tortuga Hotel. Everyone and I mean every member of the staff that we encountered were so warm and welcoming we just loved this place and highly recommend staying here. The locaction is perfect walking distance to everything, shopping, night life, and great places to eat. The best Restaurant however for both price and quality food and service was by far was El Bistro (the restaurant at La Tortuga) the food was fabulous!! again I can not put into words how much we enjoyed our stay at La Tortuga. This was definately one of the best holiday experiences we have had and will be booking again in the future. I work as an international Travel agent in Australia so I can speak from years of travel experience that you have found the perfect place to stay in Playa Del Carmen so don't delay get your booking in this is a smaller Hotel so you would hate to miss out!! We stayed in a Jr suite with roof too jacuzzi.... again we loved it!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank roxy1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We were recently lucky to have spent three nights at La Tortuga. It was, of course, way too short.

We had arranged for the hotel to provide our transportation from the airport and were very pleased. The driver was waiting for us and off we went. Having landed at 10:30, we were in our room before noon.

Check in was quick and easy. Front desk staff were always friendly and I never had to open a door.

Our room was the standard room, and have to say, it was quite standard. I would have liked to have seen some of the other rooms, but in the end, we were happy with our cozy set up. We had a small balcony overlooking the gorgeous pool area as well.

Our room included a frig with bottled water and sodas for an additional charge, but the prices were very reasonable. You were also allowed a one time coffee use. Room amenities, like shampoo, were also quite decent. We never went without hot water for our shower. Vanity space was very limited ladies, but it is a basic room, afterall. Beds were firm and comfortable, not hard as a board and awkward.

Breakfast is included, and it is off the menu, not just donuts and coffee. We aren't breakfast or morning people, but found ourselves taking advantage of this because it was offered up until 12 noon! We also enjoyed dinner one night at the Bistro to take advantage of our 50% discount. Even without the discount, the prices were a steal!

We loved the atmosphere of the grounds. The pool area was very nice and found it relaxing to sit in the afternoon. Don't expect much sun, however they have an area a floor up with a few comfy beds and all the sun you need! The water in the pools was dramatically cold. We spent nearly 45 min inching our way in one day to finally make the plunge. We lasted about a minute before having to get out. They do have, however, the hottest hot tub in town. What a difference from the pool.

One afternoon we decided to take advantage of Mamitas beach club. Included are two chairs and an umbrella. It is about 10 blocks away, which really isn't a bad walk. It's kind of a busy beach, and when we arrived at about 11am, we had no problems getting chairs, but the umbrellas were already taken. This would be a short stay as we can only take the direct sun for so long. Let me say that the beach and water were possibly the nicest we have seen in a long time. Unbelievably gorgeous water! After about an hour, one of the waiters let us know an umbrella had opened up. Very nice of him, as there were plenty of people that probably would have liked the umbrella! We then were able to relax a bit and enjoy a few beverages and some nachos. Great food and very reasonable. The walk back was a bit longer as we were hot from sitting out. Oh well, we certainly survived. Ah, to be that hot again as it is barely zero degrees here today at home.

The small pool bar is cozy and friendly (just like the whole hotel itself.) We enjoyed a few very well made drinks one night, checked our email on the computer supplied at the bar, and were only a few steps from our room. That's what we love about these small boutique hotels-everything is right where you need it!

Possibly one of the best features (for us) was the location. Just off of 5th, you felt like you were definately out of the action enough and yet close enough to be there in seconds. Plus, you were smack dab in the middle of 5th, which was really nice. We couldn't have asked for a better location.

All in all, we highly recommend La Tortuga. If your room is important to you, I do suggest that you consider booking one of the "better" rooms. We just felt for the money, that was not necessary to us.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ZsaZsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,601 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,905 reviews
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#60 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing