We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Tortuga Rules” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Tortuga Rules”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

We spent a week at the LaTortuga Hotel in January 2009. Our room was clean and quiet and the Hotel was very well maintained. The staff at the La Tortuga were so helpful and gracious, including Lisa, Bernardo, Alfonso and Anna. Breakfast was wonderful, the restaurant was excellent. Our room had balcony overlooking pool and lush vegetation, which made it very private The hotel has close proximity to the beaches which were beautiful, and only one block to Fifth Avenue where the restaurants and shopping were. Plenty to do. Enjoyed Playa much over Cancun. We highly recommend this Hotel and plan on going back again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ventura9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,474
    605
    139
    56
    27
See reviews for
138
1,491
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

Not sure what I can add that the other 442 reviews before me haven't.

We booked based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor, and got a very reasonable room rate ($128 USD/night) during January with a free upgrade upon check-in.

The hotel grounds are great, the hot tub is fantastic, Le Bistro restaurant for dinner was a bargain, and the daily breakfast (included) was very convenient with great latte's. The free vouchers to Mamita's beach club were great.

Overall, a very good value!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2009

I stayed at La Tortuga from Jan. 8 - 16 with my wife and two adult children. The hotel is as good as everybody says it is in their reviews. Because there were 4 adults, we got a room that had beds on 2 levels with a terrace and jacuzzi off the second level.
The rooms are extremely well kept, clean, and comfortable. The only drawbacks to the rooms were that they are small and there is not a lot of closet or storage space.

All the people who work there couldn't have been more helpful. They arranged transportation to and from the airport for us. Arranged a car rental one day, and were very helpful with restaurant and general information.

The breakfast that was included was very good and the waiters were very friendly and helpful. I always left a good tip for breakfast and was bothered by people that I observed leaving nothing or very little. All the service personnel work very hard and depend on tips to make a living. I also left the maid a good tip every day to show my appreciation for the excellent job she did cleaning up after the 4 of us.

With the car rental, we drove down to the Tulum ruins and on the way back, we stopped in Akumal and snorkeled at Yal-Ku. We went to Cozumel one day on the ferry and was very disappointed. It is very commercial and the vendors in the shopping areas are very aggressive. We took a cab to San Francisco Beach and it was nothing but a commercialized beach club.

Zenzi beach club is short walk from the hotel but the beach is not that nice there. Mamitas beach club is a longer walk but is a much nicer beach. Some days we went to the Playa Maya Hotel and rented beach chairs with nice cushions and umbrellas. The food and service at Playa Maya is excellent. The beach is rocky but if you walk a little to the left, the beach is much nicer.

Went to the following restaurants: Yaxche, Babe's, Chicago Don Jose, El Baretto, La Famiglia, El Bistro, and Alux. We enjoy nice restaurants and I did a lot research before we left. These are some of the best in Playa. Some are a little pricey for Playa standards, but if you enjoy good restaurants, these are some of the best. Alux restaurant is in a cave and is a 50 peso cab ride but it is worth seeing. The food isn't as good as the prices they charge but it wasn't bad. If you don't want to spend the money for food, go to the bar area for a drink and walk around the caves.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small rooms with limited storage and closet space
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank beachbumteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

We felt at home at La Tortuga even before we arrived in Mexico. Anna and Jessica informed us about everything we asked for via the internet. When we arrived at the hotel after a total of 24 hours of traveling Lisa gave us a very warm welcome. When we saw our room we couldn’t do anything but stare at it. There was a bottle of Champaign waiting for us, the bed was covered in rose petals, the towels were folded into two swans (the housekeepers folded them differently every day!), we had a rooftop Jacuzzi so we could watch the stars at night and the big LCD TV came in handy after long days of amusement .

The next day we came to met Bernardo, the reception worker. The guy is great! He knows everything about Playa del Carmen and the surrounding areas so we constantly harassed him. Luckily he didn’t mind at all and he was always very friendly and helpful. He showed us the best places to go to and explained us how to get there, what to reckon with and what to expect. Lisa, the other reception worker was great as well. She scheduled and rescheduled our excursions and was great fun.

The restaurant of La Tortuga (El Bistro) was awesome. They have the best food in the area and for more than acceptable prices. We went to a restaurant in town where I had a piece of salmon with 2 glasses of wine and my wife had a pizza margarita and a bottle of water. We had to pay around 750 pesos (= around 40 euro’s). At El bistro we had more and better wine, way better salmon and the greatest service and hospitality for literally less than half the price.

Because it was our honeymoon, one evening we had a private dinner on top of the restaurant. It looked so unbelievably pretty with all the candles and lanterns. Pablo, the restaurant manager, was our waiter and we liked him from the first second on. He is just so nice! We were allowed to pick any bottle of wine (even more than 1, but we’re not that much of drinkers) and anything we wanted of the menu. He gave us a private flambé show and was of the best service I’ve ever experienced.

In the morning they had a young team of breakfast waiters (Santiago, Daniel and one more who’s name I forgot (sorry!)) and they were so much fun! They did everything to make their guests feel at home. The last morning, just before we had to go home, they did some tricks with cutlery and one of them made a grasshopper out of a piece of reed as a farewell gift.

The barkeepers were Daniel and Fidel. They really made the best Mohito’s in town. Not only better than in the Netherlands, but also better than all the bars I’ve tasted them in Mexico. And they were cheap! The Margarita’s we’re great as well. There was one particular Margarita (La Tortuga… ) that was more expensive than the rest but so good! It had Gran Marnier and Tequila in it and I’m planning on begging for the recipe.

The housekeepers did an outstanding job. We heard lots of British, American and Dutch people complaining about the cleanliness in their all-inclusive resorts, but our room was as clean as it can be every single day. My wife is allergic to dust so that was great! A very nice extra were the figurines the housekeepers made every morning of the clean towels.

And special thanks goes to Alfonzo who assisted at the reception and supervised the pool- and garden area!

This is becoming kind of a large piece of text. Last thing: we’ll definitely go back to La Tortuga as soon as we can!!!

  • Liked — Just everything!
  • Disliked — The internet was quiet slow (only thing i can think of)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PaulAndSabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

Over my years living in and holidaying in Mexico (I'm living in Ireland now), I have to say this is the first time that a hotel has really exceeded my expectations in all areas of service. Right from the start (at checkin time), we were treated well by the staff, and the surroundings and environment of the hotel were really perfect whether we decided to stay on our own, or to meet new people. The Jacuzzi in the centre of the pool area was really fun, and the restaurant (where we had breakfast most mornings and dinner on 3 evenings) was really great.

Couldn't thank the staf f enough really (all with perfect English), but I have to say my medal either goes to Lisa on reception, or the lady (I don't know her name) responsible for the "towel origami" each day on our bed - complete with flower petals.

We'll be back.

  • Liked — the staff, the pool and the towel origami
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bhealy_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

Right from the moment you walk in the front door, you know the personal service is going to be exceptional. I booked blindly, following the Trip Advisor reviews, and I have nothing but positive things to say for the hotel. The staff are all amazing. Friendly, helpful, and genuinely HAPPY.

I booked a junior suite with the rooftop deck. The room was comfortable, clean, and had a GREAT bed. I would recommend booking off the 10th AVE side as the noise from the new Coco Bongo, and all the people pouring out at 5am could be annoying.

As said before, the bar has great drinks and the food is good also. It's the location that is fantastic. A very short walk to all the evening action - bars, restaurants, beach clubs.

Senzi is nice, but its worth the walk to Mamitas for the beach.

Overall, I'll be back!!!

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Wireless internet is spotty, Coco Bongo can be noisy
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BPMenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

This hotel was fantastic. The staff is so friendly and the pool area is gorgeous. We almost never left the hotel because it was so beautiful. Prices at the hotel bar and the attached restaurant were extremely reasonable (esp. compared to the downtown area) and the restaurant food was so good. We loved our time here. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to have a great time in Playa.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, beautiful pool area
  • Disliked — Pool was a little cold
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MadisonDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium, meeting facilities,ice machine, water treadmill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing