We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

We made the adventure to Playa Del Carmen from Northern California for our daughter's destination wedding in Dec 2008. We had a wonderful stay with great service at La Tortuga. We loved the hotel restaurant, and we were glad that we didn't pick an all inclusive hotel. The entire staff made us feel welcome...a special thanks for Anna, Lisa, Pablo, and Alfredo who extended themselves to our entire group of 16+ friends and family (ages from 30-80) who stayed with us at La Tortuga. We had a small reception for 60 people on the terrace three days before the wedding. Pablo and his staff did an outstanding job with this party. We enjoyed the proximity of this hotel to 5th Avenue and the beach. The setting for this hotel is simply beautiful and we plan on coming back for another stay at La Tortuga in the future.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PFlyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    605
    139
    56
    27
See reviews for
138
1,490
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our one night stay. We were only stopping through town on our way to other parts of the Yucatan. Throughout the process, the communication and the treatment was extremely professional and very friendly. It felt like a personalized service. We liked the fact that the hotel was not too big and that the interior court yard was spectacular with the serpentine pool and the vegetation. The bar serves great mojitos and caipirinas. Breakfast is also great at El Bistro! all in all a great value (we had the standard room). The only downside is that you are not right on the beach... but there is a price to everything!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank shreddasnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

My husband and I went away without our children for the first time in ages. La Tortuga was perfect-- private, relaxed, amazing location, comfortable and friendly. The restaurant was terrific. We spent a lot of time lounging around the pool & at the solarium. Happy hour in the hot tub was a daily treat. The staff was superb-- friendly, unobtrusive and always helpful. The rooms are very clean but also basic (if you are looking for a luxe Four Seasons experience, this is not for you). This hotel is an excellent value and we would absolutely come back again.

  • Liked — Location, pool/lounge/hot tub area, restaurant, staff/service
  • Disliked — Nothing-- we loved our stay!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingmomma38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

Like many others, we booked this hotel based on the reviews listed here. We were not disappointed.
It's a beautiful hotel that is well maintained, clean, and peaceful. We found the service and staff to be first class. They were all so friendly and helpful. It really made it an enjoyable stay for us.
Each morning we had breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. You can tell that the quality of the hotel carries over to it as well. For the price, the food, service, and wait staff can't be beat. I regret that we didn't eat more dinners here. It's just that we really wanted to try out as many new places as we could during our short stay.
The hotel's location is such that it is only a few blocks from Walmart and the beach, and also just a block off of 5th Ave. Easy walking distance of all the things we wanted to get to.
If we plan a trip back to Play Del Carmen, I'm sure we will book our stay at La Tortuga again!

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — No Refridgerator (except the minibar)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dafreeman1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

We spent a week at the LaTortuga Hotel in January 2009. Our room was clean and quiet and the Hotel was very well maintained. The staff at the La Tortuga were so helpful and gracious, including Lisa, Bernardo, Alfonso and Anna. Breakfast was wonderful, the restaurant was excellent. Our room had balcony overlooking pool and lush vegetation, which made it very private The hotel has close proximity to the beaches which were beautiful, and only one block to Fifth Avenue where the restaurants and shopping were. Plenty to do. Enjoyed Playa much over Cancun. We highly recommend this Hotel and plan on going back again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ventura9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

Not sure what I can add that the other 442 reviews before me haven't.

We booked based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor, and got a very reasonable room rate ($128 USD/night) during January with a free upgrade upon check-in.

The hotel grounds are great, the hot tub is fantastic, Le Bistro restaurant for dinner was a bargain, and the daily breakfast (included) was very convenient with great latte's. The free vouchers to Mamita's beach club were great.

Overall, a very good value!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2009

I stayed at La Tortuga from Jan. 8 - 16 with my wife and two adult children. The hotel is as good as everybody says it is in their reviews. Because there were 4 adults, we got a room that had beds on 2 levels with a terrace and jacuzzi off the second level.
The rooms are extremely well kept, clean, and comfortable. The only drawbacks to the rooms were that they are small and there is not a lot of closet or storage space.

All the people who work there couldn't have been more helpful. They arranged transportation to and from the airport for us. Arranged a car rental one day, and were very helpful with restaurant and general information.

The breakfast that was included was very good and the waiters were very friendly and helpful. I always left a good tip for breakfast and was bothered by people that I observed leaving nothing or very little. All the service personnel work very hard and depend on tips to make a living. I also left the maid a good tip every day to show my appreciation for the excellent job she did cleaning up after the 4 of us.

With the car rental, we drove down to the Tulum ruins and on the way back, we stopped in Akumal and snorkeled at Yal-Ku. We went to Cozumel one day on the ferry and was very disappointed. It is very commercial and the vendors in the shopping areas are very aggressive. We took a cab to San Francisco Beach and it was nothing but a commercialized beach club.

Zenzi beach club is short walk from the hotel but the beach is not that nice there. Mamitas beach club is a longer walk but is a much nicer beach. Some days we went to the Playa Maya Hotel and rented beach chairs with nice cushions and umbrellas. The food and service at Playa Maya is excellent. The beach is rocky but if you walk a little to the left, the beach is much nicer.

Went to the following restaurants: Yaxche, Babe's, Chicago Don Jose, El Baretto, La Famiglia, El Bistro, and Alux. We enjoy nice restaurants and I did a lot research before we left. These are some of the best in Playa. Some are a little pricey for Playa standards, but if you enjoy good restaurants, these are some of the best. Alux restaurant is in a cave and is a 50 peso cab ride but it is worth seeing. The food isn't as good as the prices they charge but it wasn't bad. If you don't want to spend the money for food, go to the bar area for a drink and walk around the caves.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small rooms with limited storage and closet space
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank beachbumteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium, meeting facilities,ice machine, water treadmill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing