We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Tortuga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #52 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel La Tortuga”
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We spent the week of March 8th, 2009 at the Hotel La Tortuga and were pleased with the hotel. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and maid service was good. Location to 5th Avenue is good. The only downside is beach access. The hotel offers vouchers for beach access with chairs, umbrella, etc but these were not available late in the morning and there was a considerable walk to get there. However, there are plenty of other places offering the same thing for $8 to $10. Overall, we were happy with our visit and would do it again.

Helpful?
1 Thank RoyMercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    617
    145
    57
    27
See reviews for
141
1,518
91
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed for three days at La Tortuga for a long weekend. Generally the hotel is quite nice. Average accomadations very typical of Mexico. Bar is quite nice solarium is a great touch. Happy hour from 5p to 6p language barrier a problem at bar so happy hour not really a big deal. Spa Itza is attached provided generally adequate service. El Bistro is very nice nothing special typical Mexican resort food. Some issues with non guests entering hotel in the evening. Staff provided us with an additional two hour extention of our room on check out day for inconvience of being woke up at 3 am by strangers knocking on our door. I guess thats fair if not satisfying.
Over all a good experience wouldn't return as there are too many other small hotels in PDC that are on beach at which im sure experience would be about the same.
One thing worth noting Blue Cacao Beach Club is accessible through La Tortuga. It is a short but somewhat confusing cab ride away. It is clearly worth the effort. 5 star service and food with miles of a nearly private beach and beautiful calm clear water. Way better than the Mamitas experience.
Have to agree with other New york reviewer cant understand why this hotel is rated #1 unless playa just isnt all that great. Overall good value for basic services

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crezdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Stayed with husband and teenage daughters. Our first time in Mexico. What a fab place to stay. Perfect place to stay. Staff warm and friendly. Drinks on arrival even though it was after 9pm. Very attentive staff. Safe area for teenagers to walk around. Extremely clean. Close to laundry, ATM, beaches, shops. Room small and noisy due to proximity to street but minor distractions. Food in the restaurant was very well presented and delicious. The waiter (Daniel?) very attentive as they all were. We will definitely be returning and telling all our friends and family. A wonderful trip. I love Playa del Carmen and the people.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerandTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We stayed at La Tortuga for four perfect nights in March. We stayed in a standard room, which I was a bit worried about before going. There was no reason to worry--our adorable room was small but had plenty of room for us. It overlooked the gorgeous grounds--the winding swimming pool and the jungle-like courtyard.

Service could not have been beter. Special thanks to Fidel at the bar who made our happy hours at the bar extra happy.

With respect to recent comments about the noise from nearby Coco Bongo, it is true that the nightclub is loud and you can hear it in the rooms that are closer to 10th ave. We had one of those rooms, and we were awakened by the noise on Friday and Saturday. Truthfully, we didn't much care. We basically just turned over and went back to sleep--plenty of time to relax on the beach the next day!

We are already planning our next trip to PDC, and there is no question that we will return to la tortuga. Maybe to one of those rooms with the private jacuzzis?

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prdct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

My wife and I stayed in here for our belated honeymoon in March. We had room 101 which came with a private pool. We really enjoyed our stay due to the service of the staff and the general quaintess of the hotel.

Most of the other reviews seem to hold fairly true as far the pros and cons of this hotel. Lucky for us, we stayed during the off nights of Coco Bongo so we did not have an issue with club noise. However, we were on the other side of the hotel so we would probably not have heard it anyways. As far as road noise, yes you will hear some, but the rooms are not very far from the road, unlike resort hotels, so its not that unexpected. I did not have an issue with it, maybe thats because Ive lived in much louder places and just blocked it out.

Room Size: The rooms are fairly small. However, we found ourselves in the room rarely other than for sleeping and one day of vegging around the room/pool. Ideally, it would be nice to have a larger room, but at the same time, this is a boutique type hotel, not a motel chain or resort.

Staff: Very helpful and polite. One of the selling points of this place.

El Bistro: Nice place to relax and grab a quick breakfast. Food is not "wow" but it is not expensive and I did not have any issues with it.

Location: Its one block off of Avenida 5. So in my opinion you lose some noise from people traffic but gain road traffic, no biggy. As far as the construction, I do not see how you can fault the hotel. Maintenance has to get done and some of the other work is out of their control.

Cost: Its a toss up. I really enjoyed my stay there, so I did not have a problem with it. Compared to staying at a resort around the Riviera Maya, yeah it might be a little up there, but you also are staying right off Avenida 5.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EastSideAg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

This is a nice hotel, but it's simply not worth the relatively high price. Noise from Tenth Avenue was an issue in our room, and the noise seeps into the inner pool courtyard because so much of the hotel is open-air. The room was small, the bed was supposedly a queen but seemed more like an American full-size, and the shower had an unattractive plastic curtain. The venetian blinds needed dusting. The clean, attractive pool is unheated, and I never saw anybody in it. What a waste.

On the upside, the staff are friendly, helpful, and numerous. The garden is very pretty. And the location is terrific, near midway along Avenida Quinta. The included breakfast was good but not great. I recommend booking a cheaper, quieter hotel without breakfast, then finding a breakfast spot with the dishes you really want.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Homeward08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Tortuga Hotel & Spa . We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations, and once again I apologise for that, we are working to achieve a better service and your comments are a great help to identify our areas of improvement.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Absolutly the BEST property in Playa Del Carmen! We have traveled to Playa for years, and have stayed everywhere from the ALL INCLUSIVE resorts to the modest properties along 5th ave. PLEASE trust me when I tell you.... don't hesitate to book this property! The entire staff is extremely helpful with the entire booking process. I was a travel agent for 4+ years, and they handled everything from the transfers to the luggage. Everything they stated, they delivered!!! I will stay @ the La Tortuga next Feb 2010, room # 219 is worth the extra $ BOOK IT!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOMMA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,726 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#76 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
838 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#37 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing