We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel, a couple of small negatives points only.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #53 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Lenzburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great hotel, a couple of small negatives points only.”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed 9 nights in La Tortuga recently. We had a swim up room which was nice and clean. The air con was a little loud but you get used to it. The room was big enough although I expected something a little roomier. The room doesn’t let in much natural light but it’s not bad.

The hotel is very nice, the pool area is great. The hotel seemed quite quiet when we were there which is probably luck as there aren’t many seats near the pool to laze around on.

We went to the beach one day but it is a fairly long walk and it’s busy most of the time. We couldn’t be bother to go again as you need to carry the towels and all the rest of the gear there.

The hotel location is good. It’s right on 5th Av which is great for shopping. There were a couple of nights when we heard loud music. I guess it was from Coco Bongo. It went on very late.

We enjoyed the food there, the breakfast was fine once you get your head around the menu. Some days we had to pay for water at breakfast which is a bit strange, most other things are free.

I would also like to thank the staff for helping when I was sick. I got a stomach bug from something I eat or drank (not from the hotel) and was in bed for a couple of days while I got my energy back. The staff called a doc straight away and he came within 30 mins to check me over. Thanks!

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, we found the weather a bit too warm for us with the high humidity. 9 nights was a bit long, we should have went for 5 or 6 and spent a few more days in New York or somewhere in the low 20’s.

The house keepers were great. The room was well cleaned and we like the different towel designs every day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Watson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,492
    612
    143
    57
    27
See reviews for
139
1,509
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We spent 4 nights at "La Tortuga" over the 4th July holiday. We have nothing but great things to say about the hotel, staff and service.

The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of the tourist area in PDC (10 Av. between 10th and 12th street). The hotel's beach club (Mamitas), which is 8 blocks from the hotel, offers excellent service and the amenities are in great condition. The restaurant (Bistro) served traditional mexican breakfast. Best of all, it was included in the rate. The pool at the hotel was a great place to hang out apres the beach. There is a jacuzzi and an exercise swim area. The rooms were very clean and very well maintained.

The entire staff at the hotel was incredibly friendly. They always made sure that our stay was enjoyable. Special thanks to Daniel the bellboy, Lisa and Bernardo at the reception desk and the guys at the bar and restaurant, who made our stay wonderful.

If we're ever back in PDC we'll make it a point to stay at "La Tortuga".

Margarita and Manuel (Mexico City/Philadelphia)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margarita-Manuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.

On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staunton, virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 5-night stay at La Tortuga Hotel where we celebrated our 10th anniversary. We were looking for a small, intimate place where we could relax and feel pampered. We were completely satisfied. Although our standard plus room was small by American chain hotel standards, it was very clean, with a modern, updated bathroom, and a private balcony overlooking the gorgeous pool. The king-sized bed was extremely comfortable. We had a large window which not only allowed plenty of natural light but was surrounded by beautiful flowering vines. Our room had an AC which we could set to our preference, as well as a ceiling fan. Although we were so conveniently located 1 block from 5th Avenue, the main shopping and dining street, our hotel was quiet and we never heard noise at night from the street or downtown bars. Finally, our maid service was great. Every evening when we arrived back at our room, everything was cleaned and tidied. Also there was some kind of fancy display created out of our bath towels each day. On our anniversary the maid created a pair of swans and covered our bed in flowers and rose petals. Next to our bed was an ice bucket with champagne and a tray with delicious slices of cheesecake! Nice touch!

The open-air hotel restaurant was delightful. The breakfast, which is included in the price of the room was SUMPTUOUS! With plenty of choices, we did not eat the same breakfast twice. We had a selection of egg dishes, breads, mexican specialties, fruits, and juices.The food was freshly and meticulously prepared. The wait staff was beyond kind and helpful. They all worked together as a team to ensure that our every need was taken care of, almost before we knew we needed anything! Esteban, Daniel, and Mauricio (hello guys!!!) were very knowledgeable about the ingredients of every meal and they treated us like family or old friends. The lunch and dinner menus were a creative mix of mexican and international meals that highlighted the local fresh seafood and vegetables. Also, the wait staff speaks English which was very helpful to us. The prices were extremely reasonable.

The office staff was professional and courteous. They scheduled our pick-up at the airport and arranged several tours for us. All of this was done in a quick, efficient, friendly manner. There were also kind staff (thanks Ivan) who rushed to open doors, carry our bags, give us directions, and do get or do just about anything else we needed. They offered us cold towels for our faces, and brought us iced sanghria (?) when we first arrived. Just nice touches. We would definitely go back to La Tortuga.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeqpublik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.

On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

When planning a solo trip to Playa there's only one place I even considered staying - La Tortuga. It is a peaceful oasis and a perfect place for a few days of much needed R&R. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, well-appointed. The grounds are gorgeous. The pool is a great place to cool off after a day at the beach. Happy hour is a nice way to meet fellow travelers or to just chill out with a book in a quiet corner or check up on friends and family back home from the free internet right there at the bar (Fidel makes the BEST mojitos in Playa). As a solo female traveler, security is of course a consideration and I cannot recommend La Tortuga highly enough for making one feel comfortable and well taken care of.

Every single member of the staff is wonderful, from the front desk to the office to the restaurant. Speaking of which, El Bistro is a great place to eat, and the fact that a full breakfast is included with your stay is a real bonus.

The hotel will provide you with towels and passes or coupons for either Mamitas or Zenzi beach clubs - try them both! Also during this trip, the hotel staff recommended the Bluecacao beach club as an out-of-town (about 10 mins by cab) alternative, and that club was beautiful and very nice - gorgeous setting, inifinity pool, amazing food and impeccable service. It was extremely quiet while I was there ( I was one of two or three other guests) but it was perfect - just what I needed!

I will definitely return to La Tortuga - it is the perfect in town hotel when traveling solo, as a couple, or with a group of friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gingele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.

On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I was pleased that the FCO lifted the swine flu travel ban in May, as my partner and I were looking forward so much to staying at La Tortuga. This was our first trip to Mexico and although a serious topic, the local and global media, as per usual, like to create devastation wherever possible and the impact has been felt in Playa, an area where there has not been a single case!
Onto the hotel itself. In a nutshell, I agree with the other travellers. A1 service, awesome room (we had 312 with rooftop jacuzzi, stunning), amazing oasis in the middle of a built-up area, great food at the adjacent Le Bistro, lovely quality breakfast, good cocktails and above all, we did not see or hear a child all week (11th-18th July) which was bliss. Also my partner and I were staying due to our 2nd anniversary and the team kindly laid on flowers on the bed (see photo) and a free bottle of local champagne.
We did not venture out much during day due to crippling humidity (for me personally that is) but with two books, great drinks and food and fantastic staff, I was pleased, unusually for me, to spend a whole week just chilling out. In particular I must mention Marco who was exceptional.
The only minor downsides are that the noise from the clubs can be VERY loud, however if you can sleep with the doors shut and with air con/fan on, sleep is OK. My only other comment would be beware the biting ants, or whatever they were. I have never seen so many people with bites and despite using anti-insect spray, we picked up 3-4 fresh bits every day.
The locals also have this issue, but just a friendly comment, be prepared and purchase some repellent.
The absolute beauty, effort in styling and quality of service makes this a 5 star all the way for me, but I must mark down the noisy clubs, giving it a very healthy and well deserved 4 out of 5 stars.
We would return for sure to this oasis in Playa.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garryturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We had a great time in Playa and loved La Tortuga. Our Jr. Suite wasn't incredibly spacious, but the king size bed was very comfortable, the shower had plenty of pressure, our patio was comfortable and looked out over the beautiful pool area, and our rooftop deck with hot tub provided a pleasant way to end the evening. Happy hour at the pool from 5-7 every evening was lots of fun (and a nice way to transition from the beach to a night on the town.) Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations, excursions, etc. El Bistro was good - not amazing, but good. We took a tour of Spa Itza and thought it looked nice enough, but based on Tripadvisor reviews we opted for Veronica's Massage and received some really good massages at half the price. There is a bit of street noise at the hotel at night. It didn't keep us up, but if you are a light sleeper you might want to bring ear plugs (and request a room along 14th street rather than 10th ave.) Or, have an extra shot of tequila!!! Stay at La Tortuga. You will love it. Message me if you have any questions about the hotel or about places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.

On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We spent a few days in Playa and La Tortuga was the best. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed and takes care of your every need. The restaurant staff remembered our names and greeted us each day. The food is excellent. The rooms were very very nice and clean. Ours overlooked the pool area which is wonderful. The setting is so tropical and you'd never know that you're in the midst of everything. The location is also perfect. A couple of blocks from the shopping and some great restaurants. This is definitely the place to stay if you want to experience local flavor. Can't wait to go back.........in November.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvs2trvl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing