We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Friendliest Hotel in Playa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
South London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Hotel in Playa!”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I've just returned from 5 nights at la Tortuga with my teenage son...
We had previously toured round other parts of Mexico, but La Tortuga was the HIGHLIGHT of our trip! Great room/pool and grounds, but most of all, the staff really made our holiday special. Lisa on reception was FAB, and our fave barmen Marco and Fidel made us feel really welcome..and couldn't do more to make our stay unforgettable..

Le Bistro had the most magnificent food - especially the giant shrimps!
Pool table was great to keep us amused, and also free www access at the bar.
The pool was open till 11pm at night and lit really beautifully!

Forget all the huge all-inclusive beach hotels in Playa - where you are an anonymous guest....go where you are treated like one of the family! I'll be back to Mexico, and La Tortuga will be my number one choice!
Jo

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dozymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.

On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    611
    142
    57
    27
See reviews for
139
1,508
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
318 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Had a wonderful stay at La Tortuga. The hotel is located close to the shopping, restaurants and nightlife along 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen. The service was excellent with the front desk staff very helpful. The beach is only three blocks away. I had a second floor balcony room over looking the beautiful pool and gardens. There is a small bar and an ajoining restaurant. The room included breakfast, which is at the ajoining restaurant. The breakfast was excellent and inlcuded fresh juice coffee and a choice of several breakfast menu items, both Western and Mexican. The room and grounds were kept clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying at La Tortuga hotel for a week in February. As soon as we walked through the door, we were greeted by Lisa with a great big smile and a couple of refreshing drinks. As we were escorted to our room, the awe and beauty of the hotel was astounding. Our room was a standard, cozy room with everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, there was air conditioning if we needed it, a fan, and it overlooked the beautiful pool, restaurant and courtyard. El Bistro's food was amazing, we kept coming back for dinner because we quickly found out that no other restaurant on 5th avenue compared to it. Make sure you try the pear and gorgonzola salad. We were always so pleased at how attentive and nice all of the staff were. When we would pass them, they would always smile and say 'hola'. And the servers in the restaurant were incredible as well, thanks to all of you, especially Santiago, for making our stay so memorable.
The only thing that surprised me about this hotel was that it was a further walk to the beach than I expected (about 20 minutes or so). Luckily, the walk was mainly on 5th avenue, so it was always interesting. The hotel provided fresh towels for the beach whenever you needed them and when you got to the beach, Mamitas beach club had everything you needed to get comfortable. Drinks are really expensive though. Make sure you get to the beach before 10am to get lounge chairs. The beach was busy but absolutely gorgeous and always worth the walk.
The hotel was a little loud at night because of the bars closeby so be prepared for that. And the pool at the hotel looked nice, but was cold and a little dirty so it wasn't very inviting.
All in all, the service we received here was incomparable to anywhere we've ever been, and the beauty of the hotel and the nearby beach were astounding. When we return to Playa we won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wulsylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.

On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We just returned from a wonderful 6 day trip at the La Tortuga in Playa. We never had a honeymoon, so this trip was meant to be our delayed honeymoon. We asked for a romantic setup and that is exactly what La Tortuga delivered. Our room number was #218, which is a quiet & secluded superior junior suite. The room was beautifully decorated (and kept completely spotless and immaculate by our wonderful housekeeper every day). After checking in to our room, we immediately went to dinner. After we returned from dinner, we were very surprised to find our bed was decorated with 2 swans (formed from towels) and rose petals. The Jacuzzi was filled with hot water and rose petals, with a bucket of iced champaign and glasses. My husband looked at me, like I had planned this little surprise but I was just as surprised as him. Nice touch!
Breakfast at the hotel (El Bistro) was free and delicious! The portions are so big that you are full all day long until dinner. My husband ate the spinach omelets every day, while I ate scrambled eggs, beans & tortillas with Pico). Breakfast comes with yummy bread and condiments and fresh juices and coffee. We were greeted by the same smiling faces every day but Daniel and Mickey kept us entertained most of the time during breakfast. My husband loves magic tricks so Daniel taught my husband a really cool magic trick and my husband taught them a magic trick too.
The hotel bar is right next to the pool. Marco (our favorite bartender) was there every day with a smile on his face always asking what we would like to drink. He can make anything you ask, plus drinks that you’ve never heard of. He also makes a few ‘Marco Specials’ that are really good too! Happy Hour is only from 5:00-7:00pm but on our last day, he managed to stretch it out a bit more for us.
Lisa works at the reception desk and was always there to give us wonderful recommendations for food and excursions. As we were leaving the hotel for the day, she would always ask us what we had planned for the day. Whenever we returned to the hotel she would always asked how our day was. She was a sweetheart and really helped us to make the best of our trip! The guys were always opening the hotel doors for us when we were coming in from our day.
5th avenue is a hop, skip and a jump from the hotel and the beach is a fun little 10 minute walk. La Tortuga has the best location, quality and service of any hotel we have ever stayed at. We created wonderful memories and great friendships while staying at the La Tortuga. Everyone here became our family away from home. We will definitely come back to Playa and stay at La Tortuga again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagisun1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.

On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenzburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed 9 nights in La Tortuga recently. We had a swim up room which was nice and clean. The air con was a little loud but you get used to it. The room was big enough although I expected something a little roomier. The room doesn’t let in much natural light but it’s not bad.

The hotel is very nice, the pool area is great. The hotel seemed quite quiet when we were there which is probably luck as there aren’t many seats near the pool to laze around on.

We went to the beach one day but it is a fairly long walk and it’s busy most of the time. We couldn’t be bother to go again as you need to carry the towels and all the rest of the gear there.

The hotel location is good. It’s right on 5th Av which is great for shopping. There were a couple of nights when we heard loud music. I guess it was from Coco Bongo. It went on very late.

We enjoyed the food there, the breakfast was fine once you get your head around the menu. Some days we had to pay for water at breakfast which is a bit strange, most other things are free.

I would also like to thank the staff for helping when I was sick. I got a stomach bug from something I eat or drank (not from the hotel) and was in bed for a couple of days while I got my energy back. The staff called a doc straight away and he came within 30 mins to check me over. Thanks!

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, we found the weather a bit too warm for us with the high humidity. 9 nights was a bit long, we should have went for 5 or 6 and spent a few more days in New York or somewhere in the low 20’s.

The house keepers were great. The room was well cleaned and we like the different towel designs every day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Watson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We spent 4 nights at "La Tortuga" over the 4th July holiday. We have nothing but great things to say about the hotel, staff and service.

The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of the tourist area in PDC (10 Av. between 10th and 12th street). The hotel's beach club (Mamitas), which is 8 blocks from the hotel, offers excellent service and the amenities are in great condition. The restaurant (Bistro) served traditional mexican breakfast. Best of all, it was included in the rate. The pool at the hotel was a great place to hang out apres the beach. There is a jacuzzi and an exercise swim area. The rooms were very clean and very well maintained.

The entire staff at the hotel was incredibly friendly. They always made sure that our stay was enjoyable. Special thanks to Daniel the bellboy, Lisa and Bernardo at the reception desk and the guys at the bar and restaurant, who made our stay wonderful.

If we're ever back in PDC we'll make it a point to stay at "La Tortuga".

Margarita and Manuel (Mexico City/Philadelphia)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margarita-Manuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.

On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staunton, virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 5-night stay at La Tortuga Hotel where we celebrated our 10th anniversary. We were looking for a small, intimate place where we could relax and feel pampered. We were completely satisfied. Although our standard plus room was small by American chain hotel standards, it was very clean, with a modern, updated bathroom, and a private balcony overlooking the gorgeous pool. The king-sized bed was extremely comfortable. We had a large window which not only allowed plenty of natural light but was surrounded by beautiful flowering vines. Our room had an AC which we could set to our preference, as well as a ceiling fan. Although we were so conveniently located 1 block from 5th Avenue, the main shopping and dining street, our hotel was quiet and we never heard noise at night from the street or downtown bars. Finally, our maid service was great. Every evening when we arrived back at our room, everything was cleaned and tidied. Also there was some kind of fancy display created out of our bath towels each day. On our anniversary the maid created a pair of swans and covered our bed in flowers and rose petals. Next to our bed was an ice bucket with champagne and a tray with delicious slices of cheesecake! Nice touch!

The open-air hotel restaurant was delightful. The breakfast, which is included in the price of the room was SUMPTUOUS! With plenty of choices, we did not eat the same breakfast twice. We had a selection of egg dishes, breads, mexican specialties, fruits, and juices.The food was freshly and meticulously prepared. The wait staff was beyond kind and helpful. They all worked together as a team to ensure that our every need was taken care of, almost before we knew we needed anything! Esteban, Daniel, and Mauricio (hello guys!!!) were very knowledgeable about the ingredients of every meal and they treated us like family or old friends. The lunch and dinner menus were a creative mix of mexican and international meals that highlighted the local fresh seafood and vegetables. Also, the wait staff speaks English which was very helpful to us. The prices were extremely reasonable.

The office staff was professional and courteous. They scheduled our pick-up at the airport and arranged several tours for us. All of this was done in a quick, efficient, friendly manner. There were also kind staff (thanks Ivan) who rushed to open doors, carry our bags, give us directions, and do get or do just about anything else we needed. They offered us cold towels for our faces, and brought us iced sanghria (?) when we first arrived. Just nice touches. We would definitely go back to La Tortuga.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeqpublik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.

On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing