We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
kabetogama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We absolutely loved it here. The resort is exactly as it is shown in the pictures on the website. We vacationed with our 2 children, ages 9 and 11, and had such a great time! The snorkeling right outside of the hotel was good, the pools were nice, the grounds were very well kept, the employees were very nice. Our server, Rogilio, was the BEST! We loved him. My kids said that he made our vacation more fun. :) The food was excellent- others had said that it was just "OK", but we found it to be very good. There was always something that all of us liked. No complaints whatsoever. The ambiance in the restaurant at night was so wonderful. There was a live band every other night, which was a really nice addition. Breakfast overlooking the ocean was great. Lots of food to choose from. We would definitely return to Mahekal!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mntraveler0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,671
    636
    166
    74
    53
See reviews for
735
1,283
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Truly a unique spot where the many of the rooms are their own individual palapas. The hotel is nestled in a tropical setting located right on the beach and the grounds are just beautiful. Our rooms were complete with hammocks and the staff could not have been nicer! Our kids could start swimming while we ordered breakfast in the mornings and if they wanted a rest from swimming or the beach - they would head to the recreation palapa located by one of the 2 pools - where they had their choice of billards, pingpong and/or ceramic painting. We met people from all over the world - a majority of them - returning clients which is always a good review!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This is probably the most beautiful ‘hotel’ I have ever stayed in. I use the word hotel advisidly as it’s not like any other I have been to. There are some things I didn’t like but the beauty of the setting and the almost total tranquility made up for them.
The hotel is made up of many cabanas and a few rooms set it sandy gardens, imaculately kept. Many, including ours have views of the Caribean. Our room was delightful, two large beds, with a good shower room. There are no phones or TV’s, which for once I found rather nice. Two hammocks hung outside our door on the small veranda, beyond that, the sea.
Breakfast, next to one of the two pools, overlooking the sea, was great, very American, but the waiters were, really, a bit thick and it’s pot luck whether you get what you ask for, better to take the buffet.
The evening meal, which we only took once, was in another restaurant at the back of the resort, buffet style and fine, but not great and why not use the nicer one overlooking the sea?
Besides the waiters, well most of them, the staff were great and very helpful, especially the concierge, bar staff make a real effort as well, I'm now addicted to Pina Colada's.
Playa Del Carmen is OK but at the end of the evening it was lovely to get back to our lovely room.
A small piece of paradise.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The first thing that struck us about Mahekal Resorts, Playa Del Carmen was its contrast to many other resorts dotting the Yucatan Peninsula. It doesn't boast of an all inclusive tag or have one of those artistically overwhelming entrance. It is nestled near the ever busy Fifth Avenue but provides complete bliss and peace. The view is awesome. You wake up, come on to the porch and the beach is right there, waiting for you. You could either go for a swim or watch the blue, blue beach from your hammock. The price of your room covers a breakfast and a lunch or dinner, which is an awesome deal for you wouldn't want to miss breakfast! The service staff are ever helpful, the beach towels are always clean, warm from the sun and readily available. My husband and I especially loved the swimming pool and the pool view bar which served yummy Mojitos and the all time favorite Corona. Can't wait to go back already!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room:privacy and view assured
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaishk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Wonderful unique place in Playa Del Carmen, right on a beautiful stretch of white powdery beach. The grounds were meticulously maintained and beautiful, very special to have your own casita! The breakfasts were great, a menu you can order from and a buffet with everything including freshly squeezed juice and the service was outstanding!We only had dinner two evenings, it was good but not such a variety and both nights it was buffet only. I would have liked a menu to order from. Their lunch menu is great, with many selections and you can opt out of dinner and have lunch instead which is what we did to enjoy some of the restaurants in Playa. There are so many and it is literally a five minute walk to fifth street.. The hotel is in a great location, just away from some of the busier hotels. It was quiet the first couple of days but on the third day in the afternoon we started to hear music. The concierge told us that it was due to the fact that it was the week before Easter and many people were on holiday. We did hear it each day thereafter, it didn't last for hours but it was not a plus! I believe the music was coming from Mamacita's which is an unattractive beach club down the way. It's lined with cabana's on the sand which really takes away from the beauty of the beach. Just avoid it and stay on the Makekal strip which has chaise lounges and protection from the sun beneath lovely palapa's plus security. I found the whole area very safe. Some of the reviews said you should take a taxi back at night if you were in town but we walked and never felt at all uncomfortable. The room was lovely, we stayed in a garden view pueblito which although not right on the beach was set amidst beautiful grounds and a lovely water site. (literally a hop skip and a jump to the beach) Love the hammocks! The shower took about ten minutes before it actually had hot water but once it was hot it stayed hot! The hotel staff in general is great, the concierge arranged a day trip to the ruins for us with pick up at the hotel. Tulum and Coba are wonderful! All in all, a wonderful vacation and I can't wait to visit again! I could have stayed for a month!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LauraB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This is the 3rd time we have visited this property. The first was in 2007 for 5 nights, then 2010 for 7 nights, and this year for 10 nights. We have already started saving for our return next year and are hoping for 12-14 nights.

What a truly relaxing, beautiful and friendly experience. The staff are wonderful, they remembered us from the previous years and went out of their way to welcome us and make us feel pampered and at ease. We especially enjoyed chatting with Rogelio, Jorge, Manuel and Jose. We learned that a 10% gratuity is included on the bill at dinner for drinks, but not for service of the food at breakfast or for the evening meal. You may want to tip your waiter directly to ensure that they are being compensated fairly for all the hospitality, hard work and service they provide. We experienced these tips being graciously and gratefully accepted.

Improvements are noted throughout the property, from upgraded linens and bedding, to higher end toiletries, and the dinner meals were most enjoyable this time, as they included greater variety and more fresh vegetables and salads, than in previous years. They were so good we didn't bother to switch them for the lunches.

Our children (boys 11 and 14 years) absolutely relished this experience and were quite happy with the simple pleasures at the resort, playing in the ocean for hours, playing pool and ping pong, hanging out in the hot tub at sundown and painting ceramics. What a treat for us to see them unplugged from electronics and truly appreciating their surroundings.

In the bar/ activity palapa, Julianna manages the ceramics, with help from her sons, and all are very talented artists. Julianna and Jose custom painted stunning, large platters for me, which are now hanging beautifully in our home, eliciting many compliments.

We have stayed twice in garden rooms and this time in an ocean view room, which was merely steps from the ocean. We found that the ocean breezes kept the room cooler and airy, without the need for air conditioning, despite the weather being 25 celsius at night. The rooms were kept very clean, with an ever changing array of towel art and flowers, and the maids and gardeners were also very friendly.

The beach was perfect for an early morning run, an afternoon siesta, or a later in the day walk to town for fruit or ice cream from the vendors. And yes it is the best part of the beach for miles. A vendor sells fresh fruit in a cup for $2.00 right beside the public access to the beach, steps from the hotel's beach chairs. The fresh mangoes, coconut, watermelon and pineapple were fantastic.

Boli, the concierge, recommended us to go to Plaza de las Americas mall, one day for mexican ice cream and we also bought a styrofoam cooler to keep our drinks cold in the room. We went on one full day tour from Edventure Tours and had a great time. The highlight was swimming in the open ocean with sea turtles. WOW!!

All in all this is a fantastic place to spend a vacation. I searched the internet thoroughly, from the Caribean to all over Mexico, looking for an alternative vacation beach spot, but was unable to find another hotel with these qualities. We were thrilled to hear that the hotel was not going to close as was previously reported during our first trip and we urge the new owners to continue to retain the unique charm and character that is Mahekal.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cohorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I cant say enough about Mahekal. The beach was awesome, service fantastic and the massages under the palapa were truly relaxing and exhilarating. I just cant say enough about this place. The breakfast was great the only minus was the dinners. I felt the dinner buffets didnt have enough options. Lunch was great- ordered it from our casita and the ceviche was fresh and full of flavor.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing