We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further; this is paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I've found a place that I'll be coming back to again and again.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights, and almost cancelled our other reservations so we could stay longer. The food is fantastic - breakfast and dinner is included, but you can swap dinner for lunch or just pay for it a la carte. We spent 10 days traveling around the Riviera Maya, and this place had the best AND cheapest food by far. To give you an idea, we ate 3 meals a day for 4 days (i.e. 4 meals that were "not covered" by the meal plan) and only spent about $110. To me, that's a good deal.

The room blew my expectations out of the water - huge, clean, extremely comfortable - and was just steps away from the beach. We walked up and down the beach for about a 1/2 mile in each direction and both agreed that we were staying at the best looking resort.

The service was impeccable; both the front desk and restaurant staff were great. This really is the most charming resort, and we will be coming back next year! Thank you, Mahekal, for making our vacation so lovely.

Room Tip: Paying for an ocean front room is worth the extra money. It was ultimately a private cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,540 - 1,546 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this resort on a number of occasions and have loved it each time. We are going back again in December this year (2012). It is truly a lovely resort, but it is not ostentatious by any means nor is it a typical five-star resort that you might find in North America. More rustic and what we would call "barefoot". It is however, a real gem. If you want to get the most out of your stay at Mahekal, here are a few pointers. First, if you get a cheap room, then you will not enjoy it as much. The rooms in the Puebla and Caribe section that are set away from the beach, are smaller and very hot.The best rooms and the best experience are in the Ocean Front rooms and in the penthouse suites. Stick to the Aventura section and you cannot go wrong and go for the higher up rooms. Regarding the food, as in most of Mexico, the food is fine / adequate. You get better value for the lunches than for dinner, so we always have lunch as part of our plan. Plus, you are literally a few hundred yards from the main street (Fifth Avenue) where all of the restaurants are located, so why restrict yourself to the hotel dinners when you have so much choice. The pools are not huge free form pools. They are nice but you are here because you want to be on the sea. The beach is outstanding and the snorkeling available on the beach is way better than any of the side trips offered at the lobby (and much cheaper). Do not go to Isla Mujeres. It is too far away and very disappointing! Lastly, the staff are great, friendly and the place is clean. By the way, we have never encountered a mosquito problem in our four trips. This is another reason to stay near the ocean side. Mosquitos do not like the breezy salty air. Hope this is helpful. Have fun!

Room Tip: The Aventura section is best. And, go for a second floor or penthouse level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nibiru007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a wonderful trip to Mahekal last week. This smaller resort had friendly staff, great facilities, and excellent food. The service was spectacular. Our "oceanview" bungalow was only steps away from the beach, pool and restaurant. Security was great, and room service was exceptional. We highly recommend this to anyone with families, or a romantic stay. We really enjoyed the smaller, intimate feel. We were never crowded, and only a short walk from great shops and restaurants in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoxandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here while on a visit to Cozumel and Xplor theme park. It is a great place with friendly staff, nice location and wonderful beach. It is also very near to ADO bus center, Ferry terminal (5min by cab) and right at the start of 5th ave-Shopping/restaurant street. Above all the different theme of the resort with straw bunglaws gives you a new experience.

Only improvements are that the complimentary items in the dinner menu should be more and it is little pricey and cancellaton policy is almost 2 weeks in advance. Other than these minor things, it is one of the best hotel to stay.

Room Tip: it doesnt matter whether you chose garden view or ocean view as all of the rooms are very close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iam_Mr_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Amazing staff, amazing place & amazing food!
If you decide to go to this resort, you will get a true mexican carribean beachy holiday.
The straw bungalows are beautiful and suit the resort very well.
The Mehekal makes more of your Mexican adventure by having the accommodation the way it is, it made me feel like I was getting more culture for my money.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mon91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at the caribe garden view bungalow for USD 158.- per night (breakfast and lunch or dinner included).

PRO
* very friendly staff
* greeeeaaat breakfast and very nice, romantic dinner restaurant
* great bar where you can play ping-pong and billiard
* you can paint some souvenirs

CONTRA
* Room 45B (second floor, bungalow roof) had everyday one piece of bird poo on the bed. After moving to 45A (ground floor) everything was fine.
* the hotel was recommended by a colleague, so we were supposed to get one night free but it didn't work as you have to mention it during the reservation!!
* bad exchange rates, change your money anywhere outside the hotel

OTHER
* prices of beverages ok (beer USD 3.- incl. tip, cocktails USD 5-8.-)
* free wifi (only accessible when you're close to the bar/lobby!)
* we booked a trip to cozumel via the hotel, they made us a good deal. But to swim with whalesharks i would recommend to book directly by the providers (e.g. whalesharkdaddy, VIP boat for 140 dollar, without transport to cancun, incl. beer/softdrinks and snorkel...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m_hofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I got married here at the end of August. We have nothing bad to say!! From the minute we got there, we were able to relax. The resort was beautiful!!! The staff was fantastic, friendly, very helpful and spoke great English. Sophia, the wedding coordinator, was so kind and helpful. After meeting her in person, I knew I could relax and enjoy the time with our 50 guests. The rooms were so clean and cute. Loved the hammocks and LOVED that there was no tv or phones. You could sit at the lobby or by the bar if you wanted wifi. The location was perfect. Just a few minute walk into town. Which was perfect for our guests who wanted to go out or shop! The food was great! Breakfast and lunch were our favorite. We switched our dinners to lunch a lot and went into town for dinner. Alberto was great. He was our server on the beach! Lastly, our wedding was beautiful. The staff did such a wonderful job setting up! Everything went so smoothly. Try a coco-loco!! They were the inspiration for my flowers :-) I would absolutely go back to mahekal!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethann112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,608 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#30 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £174 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing