We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Wonderful hotel. Beautiful lodge, gardens, pools & beach. Food was good, especially breakfasts. Above all, the staff could not have been more accommodating. I would highly recommend it to those who prefer smaller hotels but want some shopping and restaurants within walking distance. It's quieter than Cancun, but not as remote as hotels Tulum.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,710
    646
    166
    74
    53
See reviews for
752
1,308
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Had a great vacation. We didn't do ANY activities....just relaxed on the beach the whole time. It was a great location for doing NOTHING! Easy transportation from airport to resort. Resort clean and secure - guards pacing along beach 24/7 to keep locals away and protect bungalows at night. Had a nice massage. Loved the fruit basket on arrival and the coffee delivered to our hut. No tv or phone in room. Happy hour (2-for-1s) with pool tables and ping pong. No complaints. Pictures on website are accurate.

Room Tip: 4C - best on resort - attached (small) pool, cushion on porch, ON the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

A beautiful hotel right at the beach from Playa del Carmen.
We stayed at a small house (Caribe). Every house has 2 hammocks, 2 queen beds, the bathroom, cieling fan, safe, air conditioner and a hair dryer. There is no TV, no fridge, no internet (only at the bar and lobby). So perfect to rest and relax. The food in the hotel restaurant is excellent!! Fresh and really tasty. Morning and evening. The staff is always very friendly and helpful.
If you would like to have a relaxed and wonderful stay, this hotel is the best choice.

Room Tip: We love the single houses in Caribe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The hotel is towards the end of 5th Avenue so is nice and quiet but only a 5 minute walk to the lively part of town.

They offer a half board basis which is a shame. I think they do it to keep people on site. The food is mainly a buffet ok. It is ok food but that is all and it is a shame as there are some excellent restaurants in town; my favourites were El Peublo, Tierra Madre and Del Medio but there were plenty we didn't try.

The hotel grounds were kept in great order but think the rooms were in need of updating. The bathroom fittings were rusting and the furniture a bit dated. Very comfy though and the air con was very effecient. Staff were very nice although a bit slow in the restaurant.

No one seems to have mentioned the smell of drains (or may have been something else) that sometimes wafted over the resort.

An ok place in good location with a good bit of beach for use of the guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aragorn227132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Aragorn227132,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. Our guests feedback is always important to us. We are sorry our unique meal plan was unsatisfactory to you. We designed our two meal plan so our guests may enjoy one daily meal outside of the resort considering our excellent locationand how near we are to the famous 5th Avenue. Our meal options on property are designed so our guests may select from a diverse menu. Our traditional buffet breakfast has a splendid assortment of seasonal colorful fruits and an additional select menu from which to choose hot items. Our lunch a la carte menu is a favorite one amongst our loyal guests offering an assortment of fresh dishes designed for all tastes. Dinner is a mix of buffet and a la carte menu nights so our guests once again have a wide selection from which to choose from.

The sulfur smell you experienced is caused by a plant species called Mangrove. This region is very porous and has many underground caverns and openings called "cenotes". Much of the water in these cenotes eventually reaches the Caribbean Sea. In areas where mangroves thrive, the cenotes can fill with rain water and decomposed mangrove matter. This decomposed matter is what causes the odor you experienced. The presence of this odor is rare and most commonly occurs when there have been heavy rains and usually the odor only lasts a few days.

Our guests can take comfort knowing that we hire biological experts to periodically test the water to ensure there are no contaminants. The results of these enalyses have always demonstrated the water to be free of contamination. We regret this happened during your stay with us.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales and Marketing
Mahekal Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed in Mahekal 9 days,. We were very happy with the resort and the service.
The resort is right on the beautiful beach, surrounded by a nice garden.. The resort is only 5 minutes distance from the 5th avenue walking street. WIth Mahekal you get best of the both worlds: You are staying in the "tropical beach paradise" environment, but only within 5 minutes walking distance from Playa Del Carmen services. I Mahekal you stay in "bungalow village", bungalows are laid out in a big garden. It is much nicer, than staying in "concrete block" hotels, which are lining up the beach close to Play del Carmen city center. When you take a walk on the beach and review other hotels, you'll be happy if you selected Mahekal.
The service was excellent and friendly. Big plus is also the restaurant. Our package included breakfast and dinner. During the 9 days we got a big variety of different kind of food. Everyday the food was different and good ! We liked the extra effort Mahekal staff made to provide a good service. Overall, well managed place, you'll like it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks here. Its a very pretty resort set right on the beach at the quieter north end outskirts of the town, lovely and peaceful and a 5 minute walk to bars and restaurants although the livelier area starts beyond the pier which bisects the town at Avenue de Constituentes. The atmosphere is livelier here, more concentrated but the beaches are poor and narrow by comparison. The Mahekal is set on a great beach which gets progressively better the further north and further out of town you go.

Room furnishings are simple, no TV, phone, bath, modern frills but we knew this before we travelled. Shelf storage is also a problem, there is only one shelf and no drawers either. It would have been nice if a fridge was included in the room but you can have one for $6.66 per day but for this 'boutique' resort and prices, it should come as standard. Our son is only 17 months so a fridge was a big must so $6.66 for 14 days it had to be.

The verandahs of the rooms come complete with hammock for you to laze, read a book or whatever. Annoyingly the only place to get WIFI is at the bar and reception so if you are planning on doing some work, blogging, emailing or browsing a la patio or hammock forget it. The 1 bar at all times resembled an internet cafe for laptops, tablets and smartphones which ruined the atmosphere. WIFI at this type of hotel should be everywhere, rooms, beach, amenities! Give the guests a log in key and change it weekly or daily if you dont want casual surfers using your free WIFI. Or buy some more routers!

Sadly the food here is also well below par. We realized in the first few days it wasn't up to much so after 4 days of sub par offerings we planned onwards to only stay for breakfast (which passes, just) and to go out for lunch and dinner locally. Lunch is particularly dismal, an afterthought repeated daily serving bland offerings fixed to a hard board menu that lacks any imaginination, change or thought. The fajitas are precooked and reheated, then served on a cold skillet. We got ill one day as they had obviously not been properly reheated or had been hanging around. More care is lavished on dinner but the 1 restaurant at the back of the resort lacks any atmosphere whatsoever (very dated, badly lit and quite 70's cheesy), choice is limited generally to a poor salad buffet and entrees to start (a few bits centred on a huge centre table), then choice of 4 a la carte mains and one dessert of the day plus ice cream, and it doesnt open till 7 pm which screwed up our young childrens plan for eating. Why cant they open at 6pm like all the other restaurants in town?

Would have preferred to pay less for this resort and taken room only or B & B as opposed to breakfast/lunch or breakfast/dinner as although the resort is fine barring a few niggles they could easily fix, it's way overpriced for what you get and the biggest gripe is the food when saying for 2 weeks. We got rather well known at the Cuervo del Chango restaurant and El Criolla just up the road where the food was delicious, inventive, freshly cooked and inexpensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReeceClarke_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear ReeceClarke_12,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and that you enjoyed our beautiful beach, one of Playa's finest!

We pride ourselves on our "unplugged" status offering complimentary WiFi in select areas trusting our guests prefer to enjoy the quiet, peaceful ambience surrounded by lush gardens and magnificent pristine Caribbean sea inviting them to disconnect from their busy schedules and delight in true relaxation in a quiet, friendly and natural environment.

Our specially designed meal plan allows our guests to enjoy two daily meals in the resorts restaurants, wether it be a clear oceanview breakfast and lunch or an evening meal surrounding lush gardens, while also enjoying one of the many restaurant options available on the famous 5th Avenue located only steps away from the resort.

Our measl are made from wholesome, fresh and natural products and are designed to please all tastes. We offer a variety of options for our guests so as to have a wide selection throughout their stay at Mahekal.

We look forward to hosting you and your family in the future and again thank you for your comments.

Happy Holidays!

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales & Marketing
Mahekal Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My husband and I just got married at Mahekal on 12/1/12 and I don't even have words to describe how amazing it was!!! From the wedding coordinator (Sofia is awesome to work with!), to the food (Urs is the Food/Bev Mgr and is amazingl), to the venue, to the location, to the service (Rogelio, Manual, Jose...can't say enough about the great service we received every time), to the value.....absolute perfection! We were told about Mahekal initially by a coworker who got married there in 2010 (she had nothing but wonderful things to say about), so we took a trip down there last spring for a site visit and fell in love instantly. Originally we were going to do our welcome/rehearsal dinner off-grounds, but after working with Mahekal and experiencing the food and service firsthand, we knew we wanted to give them our business. On Friday night they set up a taco buffet welcome dinner for our guests on the sand volleyball courts - complete with tables, lanterns, lights, etc. Originally I expected just a standard taco buffet, nothing fancy, but I was even blown away by what they offered. Tons of meats, tortillas, vegetables, empanadas, guacamole, you name it they had it set up! And of course they never let our drinks get empty which we loved. Great way to kick off the weekend! On Saturday we had our ceremony on the beach (wonderful location!), then a cocktail hour around the pool, and dinner and dancing inside the Aventura Restaurant. Everything was done perfectly down to the last detail. Not only did we have the time of our lives, but all of our guests did too!! And on Sunday they gave us a semi-private brunch, which was wonderful for those of us who were strong enough to brave through our hangovers :) My advice if you're having your wedding here (we did all these things and couldn't be happier): do the rehearsal on grounds, if you're having an open bar then pay per person/per hour so you're not stressing about your bar tab because your guests WILL drink enough to make it more than worth your money, and get the ocean front room right off the ceremony location (Room 31P). All in all, there was absolutely nothing we would change about our experience with Mahekal! Our wedding was our second trip there and we plan on going back next year already. Whether you are considering Mahekal for your wedding or just for a vacation, DO IT! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear AdrienneB,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted we were truly able to make your wedding a magical and memorable memory for you to always cherish with your spouse. We have shared your comments with Sofia, Urs, Rogelio, Manuel, José and each and everyone of our staff for them to enjoy knowing we delivered a special moment for you.

Weddings are such special celebrations and we know how important they are for our brides and their guests, Sofia, our wedding coordinator, works diligently to transmit your wishes to all out staff so they can all be prepared and deliver an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Mahekal is an ideal location for weddings because of our quiet, unplugged nature and beautiful beach. Your words are a marvelous description of what can be delivered for a wedding ceremony.

We look foward to your third visit!

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales and Marketing
Mahekal Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,736 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
692 reviews
3.0 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing