We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - Second trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place - Second trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Two years ago a firend and I spent her birthday at Mahekal, so when I needed a much deserved break this was my first thought. Again, as before, the staff welcomed me as an old friend and for seven days my every need was met, my mind could de-stress. I had two massages and a facial, Spa personel are professional, great massages. Food is very good, I would like some of the soup reciepes. I'm already planning a return trip with my children. I have decided to share my "private" getaway with them!!

Room Tip: I have never had a beachfront room, but the rooms in Caribe section can still hear the ocean waves a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    628
    164
    73
    51
See reviews for
716
1,250
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

It's a lovely and charming little resort and a wonderful place and I have recommended it to friends and family who seek a low-key and easy vacation. We hope to return this winter, but I should mention our last visit (of a few) was in 2011.

The style of the resort is rustic, rather than luxurious - little huts connected by pathways, hence the mexican summer camp title. It is quite comfortable and truly feels like vacation - the rooms that we've stayed in have been very lovely and each has it's own outdoor space and hammocks.

Mahekal has so much going for it, which is why I'm happy to recommend it. The location is excellent, and on a pretty stretch of beach. It's a short and pleasant walk to 5th avenue, and in addition to the trendy tourists restaurants there are lots of "real" mexican restaurants in Playa del Carmen that are wonderful and inexpensive. The staff are genuinely accommodating and take care of things quickly. The little bar area is terrific, with 2 each ping pong & pool tables, and board games. Service on the beach is good, and it's true relaxation to lounge under a palapa and enjoy a drink. The other guests at the resort that we've met have been primarily well-traveled couples and small-families from the US and Europe.

There are a few minor negatives. The bed linens are scratchy and don't feel 100% cotton, which is not comfortable in hot and humid weather. The resort food is only ok. We now always opt for breakfast and lunch at the resort. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of fresh fruit and made-to-order egg dishes, and for lunch the food is fine. It's relaxing to eat at the resort though, and we are happy to enjoy the local options for dinner. The pool areas are clean but in need of some updating.

Room Tip: Even though the cheaper (aventura) area rooms are further from the beach, they are very private sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Mahekal Beach Resort.

The grounds for the resort were very impressive. There was lots of staff throughout the stay, all of them working very hard to maintain a very clean, and well kept property. We stayed in the Deluxe Penthouse. The room was comfortable and had a fantastic view. The palapa roof was a nice touch - until it rained hard. The smell of the roof drying out wasn't overly pleasant.

The staff were quite friendly and helpful. We had a misunderstanding relating to our transfers, but did not become an issue because I was expecting it would be a problem. They were very receptive to any requests for information or help.

The food and beverage staff were especially helpful and friendly.

My only complaint for the hotel would be their charging for water, juice, and pop. 25 pesos for a small bottle of water with dinner seems excessive when you pay $3300.00USD for a weeks stay. But all in all, it was only about $50.00USD at the end of the week, and hardly worth complaining about.

Room Tip: Deluxe Penthouse is a great location, with a great view. Not sure it is worth the extra $ unless fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamNJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Wonderful hotel. Beautiful lodge, gardens, pools & beach. Food was good, especially breakfasts. Above all, the staff could not have been more accommodating. I would highly recommend it to those who prefer smaller hotels but want some shopping and restaurants within walking distance. It's quieter than Cancun, but not as remote as hotels Tulum.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Had a great vacation. We didn't do ANY activities....just relaxed on the beach the whole time. It was a great location for doing NOTHING! Easy transportation from airport to resort. Resort clean and secure - guards pacing along beach 24/7 to keep locals away and protect bungalows at night. Had a nice massage. Loved the fruit basket on arrival and the coffee delivered to our hut. No tv or phone in room. Happy hour (2-for-1s) with pool tables and ping pong. No complaints. Pictures on website are accurate.

Room Tip: 4C - best on resort - attached (small) pool, cushion on porch, ON the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

A beautiful hotel right at the beach from Playa del Carmen.
We stayed at a small house (Caribe). Every house has 2 hammocks, 2 queen beds, the bathroom, cieling fan, safe, air conditioner and a hair dryer. There is no TV, no fridge, no internet (only at the bar and lobby). So perfect to rest and relax. The food in the hotel restaurant is excellent!! Fresh and really tasty. Morning and evening. The staff is always very friendly and helpful.
If you would like to have a relaxed and wonderful stay, this hotel is the best choice.

Room Tip: We love the single houses in Caribe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

The hotel is towards the end of 5th Avenue so is nice and quiet but only a 5 minute walk to the lively part of town.

They offer a half board basis which is a shame. I think they do it to keep people on site. The food is mainly a buffet ok. It is ok food but that is all and it is a shame as there are some excellent restaurants in town; my favourites were El Peublo, Tierra Madre and Del Medio but there were plenty we didn't try.

The hotel grounds were kept in great order but think the rooms were in need of updating. The bathroom fittings were rusting and the furniture a bit dated. Very comfy though and the air con was very effecient. Staff were very nice although a bit slow in the restaurant.

No one seems to have mentioned the smell of drains (or may have been something else) that sometimes wafted over the resort.

An ok place in good location with a good bit of beach for use of the guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aragorn227132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Aragorn227132,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. Our guests feedback is always important to us. We are sorry our unique meal plan was unsatisfactory to you. We designed our two meal plan so our guests may enjoy one daily meal outside of the resort considering our excellent locationand how near we are to the famous 5th Avenue. Our meal options on property are designed so our guests may select from a diverse menu. Our traditional buffet breakfast has a splendid assortment of seasonal colorful fruits and an additional select menu from which to choose hot items. Our lunch a la carte menu is a favorite one amongst our loyal guests offering an assortment of fresh dishes designed for all tastes. Dinner is a mix of buffet and a la carte menu nights so our guests once again have a wide selection from which to choose from.

The sulfur smell you experienced is caused by a plant species called Mangrove. This region is very porous and has many underground caverns and openings called "cenotes". Much of the water in these cenotes eventually reaches the Caribbean Sea. In areas where mangroves thrive, the cenotes can fill with rain water and decomposed mangrove matter. This decomposed matter is what causes the odor you experienced. The presence of this odor is rare and most commonly occurs when there have been heavy rains and usually the odor only lasts a few days.

Our guests can take comfort knowing that we hire biological experts to periodically test the water to ensure there are no contaminants. The results of these enalyses have always demonstrated the water to be free of contamination. We regret this happened during your stay with us.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales and Marketing
Mahekal Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing