We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahekal Staff are Warmer than the Mexican Sun...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Stoney Creek
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mahekal Staff are Warmer than the Mexican Sun...”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Our Home away from Home.....Mahekal is truly paradise....The staff at Mahekal are more like our family....they are truly warmer than the Sun :)
We have been spending our vacations at Mahekal for many years, back in the Shangrila Caribe Days. We are so happy that the most important facet to this resort has not changed...the people that work and make this home away from home the paradise it truly is. From the moment you arrive and are welcome back by Oswaldo with his wonderful, warm smile and genuine hospitality to Gabrial and Jose walking you down the little garden pathways leading to your cozy home for the duration of your vacation to the warm and welcome hug and giant smile from Boli with the true care to be sure everything is "just right" during your stay. The wonderful wait staff who manage to remember what room you were in last time you were with them for your last vacation, how you like your egg's and that you only want one coffee for my husband as I prefer the juice. Delightful attention to detail and genuine warmth....the beach is always such a delight not just because it is blissly beautiful, but our Amigo Manual is such a wonderful happy addition to our long warm sandy days in the sun.....we truly love his upbeat funloving attitude toward life and his appreciation for his job with the Mahekal family. The maids and gardeners do such a awsome job in keeping this paradise perfect in every aspect...truly beautiful everywhere you turn and spotlessly clean. The guards keep us feeling safe 24 hrs a day and also manage to welcome us back and recall our names and faces.....really, this place has the most amazing people.
Relaxing~Peaceful~Wonderful~
We are looking forward to our return to our Home in Mexico and our Family in Paradise
Adios till then
Dom and Tina Dionisi

Room Tip: All Great Rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMahekal, Public Relations Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
The Dionisi! So good to hear from you!

We also think of you as family, it was great to welcome you for one more year, and counting. Thanks for sharing your magical experience with other travelers. Little details make a difference, and guest preferences are the first thing we try to remember.

We will share your review with the rest of the team. Relaxing - Peaceful - Wonderful, we like that trilogy.

Hasta pronto amigos, thanks for that chat at Casa Club.

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,772
    658
    170
    76
    55
See reviews for
792
1,338
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was our 3rd year at Mahekal.

Pros:
1. Beautiful clean beach
2. Lunch is tastier than dinner (Cubana sandwich..yummy)
3. Clean rooms
4. Nicely furnished (We love no phone or TV)
5. Hammocks on balconies (Very Relaxing)
6. Beautifully kept grounds
7. Wildlife (Birds, Iguanas, Coti’s…the occasional cute stray cat)
8. Amazing Staff (Oswaldo, Claudia, Alberto, Jose, Vincente, Manuel..and so many more)
9. Boli (the concierge is so helpful, and responsive to your needs)
10. Wi-Fi in lobby (computer for public use)
11. Walking distance to Ave 5
12. Close proximity to great restaurants (Piola, Origenes)
13. Very reasonable drink prices (as they are not included in the meal plan)
14. Live music on selected nights in the bar. AWESOME!
15. Deli across the street sells water and snacks for a fraction of the price on the resort.

Cons: *I know these may be personal opinion and/or preference

1. Way too many kids…. and parents who aren’t winning any parent of the year awards any time soon.
2. Dinner menu-There was a menu of 10 items that was repeated almost every other day.
3. Increasing number of large loud wedding parties taking over the bar, pools, and restaurants. Not very relaxing.
4. Remodeling resort soon…not sure if this is good or bad.
5. AC in our room could not keep up with the heat.
6. Sheets very rough, pillows very lumpy, bed very hard.
7. Wish they had an adults only area- ie pool, bar.
8. Free bottled water in room tasted nasty.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms are a bit noisy (from surrounding beach clubs) but, get a great breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lf644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMahekal, Public Relations Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Greetings to San Diego,

Thanks for your opinion, liked your "easy to read" list. Thanks for all the compliments under the Pros. Boli and the staff are always a star on our reviews.

We appreciate the comments under the cons. We will pay special attention to all. And change or modify whatever is possible. Always trying to offer you a better service. About weddings, there's always a season when it gets busier. Don't hesitate to ask about, when planning your next visit, we will try our best to have the more updated information available.

We love to hear from repetitive guests, we hope you come back and let us welcome you again.

Gracias,

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

With the trend of eccentric South Beach glass and aluminum balconies and characterless resorts poping up everywhere, this magical resort holds onto the charm of Playa del Carmen's quaint fishing village era. Mahekal tries very hard to be a boutique hotel while holding on loosely to "Old Playa del Carmen."

The resort is very relaxing and quiet. Just what we wanted. We had room 46B, palapa set back away by the pool and swing bar. AC worked great. The food at the hotel is good but we did not find it super, but you won't be let down, the service is fun and friendly.

The palapa was spacious and relaxing. Old, colonial tiles in the bathroom. Cleaned very well daily. Lovely shutters give the room plenty of fresh air. Spacious balcony with 2 hammocks.
The beds were comfortable. Thatched roof was cool as you hear birds or whatever walking on top of it.

My only suggestions would be that the rooms could use some seating, a lounger of sorts to relax on. The only thing to sit is a desk chair or the beds. This hotel should just go "all inclusive" or at least offer that option. As signing for each drink and dinner purchase distracts from the vacation.


Enjoy Mahekal now, as the RUMOR was, while seeing owners and investors at the resort that the Las Palapas next door will be bought out by Mahekal. Making the resort twice as big. The resort will be shot down in the fall from September through December. And the swimming pool was rumored to be made into a new infiniti pool. (Much needed). This was the buzz while we spoke with other friendly guests.

Date of stay: May 4-11, 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boca-del-Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We just came back from our honeymoon at this resort and it couldn't have been more perfect. They treated us with a beautiful room decorated for our honeymoon and we felt like royalty. The food was amazing, the grounds are beautiful and it was only walking distance to the ocean and fifth avenue. The staff are so friendly and Boli is the man! I will be revisiting this place over and over again! This is a great place if you want to get away from being connected to the world and just enjoy the beauty of life.

Room Tip: The deluxe penthouse suite is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSG_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We felt totally relaxed staying here. Food choice was excellent. Breakfast was in a different location than our eve meal which we thought was good as could see the sea eating our breakfast. If you are looking for total relaxation and to switch off, then mahekal will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms but next time we visit we wouldnt stay on ground floor of bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMahekal, Public Relations Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Greetings to UK,

Our motto: relaxation among tropical gardens and a white sand beach. Great to read you got to enjoy it. We agree that breakfast view is the best, the perfect place to enjoy the colors of the sea while enjoying the varied buffet.

Please get in touch and let us know more about your room tip.

Thanks for visiting our Caribbean paradise.

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Mahekal is a cluster of charming thatched-roof huts, each with comfortable beds and painted ceramic details. It is unpretentious but meticulously maintained, with nicely landscaped grounds, excellent food and a professional, friendly staff. Right next to the ocean — and offering a number of lounge chairs with shade umbrellas, as well as bar service on the beach — it could hardly be more accommodating. Mahekal is also just a few blocks' walk from a strip of restaurants, souvenir and other shops, and plenty of people watching. This is a truly relaxing vacation spot.

It's a 40-minute drive from Cancun, with easy to procure shuttle or cab transportation. We found the cab to be cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key west
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This resort has it all. The accommodations are like something out of Tahiti with the thatch roofs
and hammocks. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. But, of course, being right on the beach was wonderful. This is the best location in Playa del Carmen; near shopping on the fun 5th avenue and also in the quiet end of the beach

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,987 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,470 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,849 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
409 reviews
3.0 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing