We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A great resort for people who would like to stay close to the beach and not looking for a party hotel. The surroundings are beautiful and the sea is clear blue. We forgot time and place and just enjoyed being "in the moment". We had a great vacation staying here while in Mexico.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank leivind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
You are right! Mahékal is perfect for those looking for an option to enjoy the beach and Playa del Carmen during the same vacation. The location of our Hotel allows you to move around downtown easily. Glad to read that during your ‘mahékal’ days you had the chance to disconnect and rest, that's our main goal.

Come back soon, Greetings from Mexico.

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    653
    168
    76
    55
See reviews for
775
1,329
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Excellent. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return in the future. The location can't be beat. Miles of beautiful beaches and a short walk to town and entertainment. The food was ok, we liked the lunch menu better then the dinner menu. The green juice at breakfast was both healthy and yummy. Say hi to Marco for us, he was our outstanding waiter.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali18030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed four days three nights in this beautiful hotel. It's a nice property that we were told used to be part of the Shangri-la chain. The place is big enough, without being overwhelming like so many other resorts in the area, and also without the crazy crowds of revelers that tend to populate most of the other resorts as well. For us it was a nice combination of family-friendly environment (we saw a few) and adults. We stayed in one of the garden area rooms, which are located like a two stories huts. When booking, we considered an ocean front room, way more expensive, but once in there, the room was just a few steps away (like everything else) from the beach, and the entire place was quite and pretty.
Special mention deserves the entire personnel of this hotel. People are absolutely friendly and helpful and they are ready to assist you. Waiters and waitresses at their restaurant were exceedingly nice, friendly without overbearing or annoying, and helpful to give tips about the region or plans to do. The food was good, some days with a buffet (that was always different) and some other days with menu, with meals of very good quality that were included in the bill (except for alcoholic beverages). It has a really nice beach (not all the hotels in this area does) and it's at the end of the famous 5th Avenida which could be too noisy and busy, so this was perfect as well.
Overall, it was a nice stay, with the exception that -even though the "concept" of the hotel is to get disconnected (no tv, or wi-fi available in the rooms... but nor they had a phone to even call to the front desk) so when the AC failed to work one night, when we were already in bed, we had to walk all the way to the reception area to inform the hotel of what was happening... and again, when the safe in our room didn't open, because of a small power outage, we had to do the same all over again. I mean, I understand the zero gadgets concept and I like it, but let's face it, in this time and age, you need this kind of amenities like wi-fi to check a map, the weather, or check-in your flight not to mention a phone at hand in your room in case you need to call reception.

Room Tip: If you are not in a ocean front cabaña, chose a second floor, so you won't listen to your "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Kamery7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Awesome resort. We paid the the oceanfront bungalow that was so worth it, expensive, but very private. Security guards made us feel very comfortable... they walked around all day. Dinner was awesome... had a Mexican theme one night and the food was out of this world. Pools were great, my 4-year old had a blast. My preference, I didn't like the iguana around the pool area... just never like them. If you want privacy, go for the oceanfront. Water was just okay, it's not like you can see your feet or snorkel. If I remember our room was P31... great room. Staff was great, very friendly. Go walk around, there's plenty of restaurants within 10 minute walk. Overall, we enjoyed our stay (May 26-29, 2013). Oh, don't book on the weekend, this is a public beach w/ public access and it's a mad house on the weekend at the beach!

Room Tip: Choose the oceanfront bungalow for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ftbagkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinión on Trip Advisor. It’s great to read that our guards at the beach made you feel safe. We will share with the rest of the team your good comments about our Mexican night.

About the iguana, it lives in the area around Aventura pool, since some years ago. Some people even like to take photos of it. We understand you might not like it, and apologize for any inconvenience caused by it. You can be sure she is harmless :)

Oceanfront rooms definitely offer the opportunity to enjoy the beauty of staying right at the beach. We are glad to read that in general, you had a great stay. We hope all your comments are useful to other travelers.

You are always welcome at Mahékal Beach Resort.

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A beautiful resort right on the best section of the beach! No TV, phone or Wi-fi in the room gave us time to reconnect and enjoy our vacation by "being here now". A laidback place with the highest quality of service! Thanks to Boli for arranging everything we wanted to do from restaurant reservations to fishing! It was a great anniversary trip and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: If you want to see the sun rise while lying in your bed, stay in 9P. It's close to the pool, bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JBLAKECHUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the resort with our 2 children (4 and 11). The staff was extremely accommodating. The breakfast is nice with something for everyone. We traded our dinner for lunch a the start of the trip and wish had eaten a few more dinners at the resort. 5th Ave is such an easy walk. We also enjoyed getting dinner there as well.

There are some negative reviews. The 3 negative we found to be true but completely over blown was the AC unit, public beach and bugs or ants in the rooms. Our AC was fine except for one night when it made a very loud sound all night. That is the day we did not turn it off when we left for the day. If the AC was turned off for a few hours during the day while at the beach it runs fine and is cold and quiet.

The beach is public. We thought this was great and so did our kids. We met very nice people and were never bothered to buy anything. Not sure why people see this as a negative.

Our room had a few ants each night after dinner. Not sure if they were even ants as they did not have pinchers. We squashed them in 30 seconds and that was the end. The grounds are so lush and natural I am not sure how they could keep them out.

The beach clubs down the beach does get a bit noisy at times. We however were not inconvenienced by this at all.

To sum it up, we will return to the resort next year at roughly the same time of year. The staff is just awesome, nice pools, beach is wide and soft, decent snorkeling off the beach, really fun but not a party scene, and NO Wifi, Phones or TV. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We started planning our 10 year wedding anniversary a long time ago, and on our wish list was to be able to see or hear the ocean from our room, be on a great beach, and a jungle/tropical grounds, dine in open air restaurants, and not have a huge property to walk 10 minutes to get to the beach. Mahekal is perfect! We used Canada Transfers for a private ride to the resort and they were waiting at the airport with our names on a card as soon as we walked out. We traveled carry-on only so we were out of the airport in a hot second. We arrived at Mahekal at 1330 and we pulled up to a beautiful open air lobby that was modern yet with Mexican vibe. We were allowed to see our room before we checked in which was an ocean view palapa 22B. It didn't have a great ocean view but a view nonetheless. 12B would be a better view but it was occupied. Many rooms are under renovation with general cosmetic updates. The construction noise did not bother us. The room was small but worked fine for us. It was a bit musty smelling but the AC worked fine. The hammocks were great to relax in during an afternoon of rain on Wednesday. They supply a hair dryer, natural mosquito spray, aloe vera shower gel, honey scented shampoo and conditioner, coconut lotion, and two types of bar soap. I didn't use the bar soap but the other toiletries were wonderful. They also give you two washcloths daily which was important to us because the last resort we stayed in we could not get them to give us "face cloths". The beds and pillows were much softer than I anticipated and we slept great. I have only had rock hard mattresses and pillows while in Mexico so this was great. On our third day we heard that Penthouse 6P had been open all week so we inquired about an upgrade. Alan at the front desk gave it to us for MUCH less than the advertised price-score! It's next to the public access with great ocean views, breeze, and people watching. The balcony was very large and included two chairs and a lounge bed all with padding. The penthouse was twice the size of a regular room, had double sinks, and the walk in shower with rainshower head had a ledge almost like a shallow bath tub. If you have kids you could plug the drain and use it like a tub. The ocean view room did not have the ledge. If I had a choice though I would try for penthouse 30p next time as it's on the far north side of the resort and a little quieter. We woke up 3 nights to hear people hollering and having a good time at 2am next to the beach access and on the beach. This was the only downside to the resort that I can think of. The breakfast was good with fresh squeezed orange juice, green juice and either watermelon or cantaloupe juice! We ate lunch 5 of the 7 days and it was very good! The mixed meat fajitas and tacos were amazing! La Romana restaurant was closed for renos so all dinners were at the beach restaurant which meant dinner by the pool and ocean which was awesome! The dinner includes buffet for appetizers, salads, and soups and order from the menu your main course. It was ok, but lunch was better. The atmosphere of ocean breezes, waves crashing, and uplit palm trees made it better! Also, if you like coconut, I recommend the ice cream. It was yummy! Free wifi is available in the lobby but you can pick it up at the casa club bar with swings. Happy hour is 5-6 with 2 for 1 pricing. We also picked up the wifi in our penthouse room-bonus! Bikes are available for rent for 40 pesos per hour. Umbrellas are available for use for free. Boli, Edith, Alan and many others were so kind and helpful and speak English very well for us folks that don't speak Spanish well. The pool by the beach was warm and it is 5ft 9 inches deep so you can swim, while the other part is shallower. There is also a hot tub in the middle and a separate small children's pool. I don't know if they are heated in the winter but they were nice and warm in October! Also-kudos to the front desk staff. When I upgraded for 5 of the 7 days, I was charged for 7 days. I know it was an accident and I didn't even pick up on it until Edith told us at check out that I had been charged for 7 days and I would be getting a refund. That speaks of their honesty. We will be back to this hotel and will be recommending it to others!
I want to make a special mention to the security and grounds keepers. Security was very diligent about their job and were not lounging around but always watching for people that didn't belong. Also, the grounds keepers do a great job-they rake between the shrubs and palapas where nobody would ever see, and even broom the sand between the palapas. In the US, you would be laughed at for suggesting someone care for landscaping and grounds to this detail. It was much appreciated by my husband who owns a small landscaping business.
Tips- I packed a $4 Target raft that I spent hours and hours floating on then left it with a Mexican family with kids that were at the beach. There really truly is no bad room location at this resort. Lastly, we walked north of the resort to just north of the Paradisus resort which is about a mile and found a natural cenote that creates a small, emerald green swimming hole then becomes a small river that flows into the ocean. It was beautiful and the water was crystal clear. There were locals swimming there as well. I heard it usually dries up in the winter though. It's easy to find if you are a long beach walker.
If you have any questions message me, I would be glad to answer them!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks so much for writing such a detailed review, we are glad to read we were the perfect choice for your tenth anniversary. Reading how much you enjoyed your Mahékal stay was very rewarding to us. We will pass on your good comments to the rest of the team.
Thank you again for letting us know how your stay went. We hope your review is helpful to other travelers thinking about where to stay in Playa del Carmen. We look forward to welcome you back to the property once renovation work is finished, to deliver an even better Caribbean experience.

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
Mahékal Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,359 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
721 reviews
3.0 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#7 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing