We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahekal Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$250
US$235
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$436
US$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$450
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$689
US$671
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$378
US$336
Melia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$865
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$414
US$344
Melia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)
US$195
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,109)
Filter reviews
3,109 results
Traveller rating
2,041
726
191
85
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,041
726
191
85
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshangri la caribehalf boardfuego restaurantpalapa stylegarden viewlas olasbreakfast and dinnerlas palapaspalapa roofocean frontping ponginfinity poolfifth avenuepalm treesthe wait staffcevichebug spray
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,537 - 1,542 of 3,109 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My daughter chose to have her wedding at the Mahekal Resort in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. What a wonderful decision it was! Thirty guests traveled down from Maine for the wedding.. Most of the guests have a hospitality background...and not one of us could find anything to complain about....now that is amazing!
Sophia the wedding planner was fantastic, she took care of every detail, so, as the mother of the bride, I was able to relax and enjoy the entire experience.
The food was very good and the service was always impeccable and very gracious. We cannot wait to go back!.

Room Tip: Section P is very nice, great oceans views and in front of the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank michelemoyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thanks so much for your review, and for choosing Mahékal to celebrate this special day. We are glad to read you were able to relax and enjoy your daughter’s wedding. Our wedding team always say: “Original, simple and unique that's how a wedding is at our Beach Resort”.

We believe that having a destination wedding is a great excuse to enjoy not only the wedding day, but the vacation around it, with all the special people that comes to join the newlyweds and their families. And we love to make it happen!

Thanks for all the good comments, will share with our team. Come back soon!

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our third visit to Mahekal and were blown away yet again! We were married here in 2012 and love going back.

Everything here is always perfect. From the rooms, the ambience, the beach, the food, and most importantly, the people - top notch!! The employees continue to provide superior service and make us feel at home every time. They really are an extended family to us.

We are sad to be back in Colorado, but are already talking about our fourth trip back! We HIGHLY recommend this resort to anyone traveling to the Riviera Maya. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Loved our stay at mahekal at the end of the November. Stayed in 12p penthouse overlooking the pool and it was sensational!! Staff were quick to address our needs. Despite other reviews construction noise did not hear or bothered by. Restaurants provided well priced food and pool and bar were perfect for relaxing. If I return to PDC will definitely book at mahekal again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thecraig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked here months ago but on arrival i was told i had to go to the 'other' reception. This turned out to be the reception of hotel las palapas next door.should have been told this when booking as i wouldn't have booked if id known i was being dumped elsewhere inferior hotel.don't make same mistake as me. To rub salt inthe wounds i have to pay for water with my included meals and my coffee afterwards.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Greetings to the UK,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Since some months ago, Hotel Las Palapas and Mahékal are undergoing a merging process, to at one point become the same Hotel.

Renovation works were done at both properties, to deliver a new beachfront experience in Playa del Carmen.

We understand your frustration, and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We hope you give us the chance to welcome you again sometime in the near future, to introduce you to the changes and updates done to the properties.

Hasta pronto,

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were under the impression this place was quiet beach get away we found construction noise from morning till night on both sides of the resort. There is a strong sewer smell all the time. The food was ok I would suggest breakfast and lunch for meals and going into town for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RMM169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Greetings from Playa! Yes, our motto is to offer relaxation, and a place to unwind and disconnect. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by our construction works, but we are working to offer a fully renovated 'mahekal' experience.

The construction you experienced, was done at some of our villas, that now have a similar layout but different interiors and decoration.

The smell you mention is harmless to humans, Although can be strong during certain season or time of the day. Scientists visit the Hotel regularly, to evaluate the quality of the water.

We really hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again, and deliver the magical experience that all our guests love.

Warm regards,

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews